1/3 MOA In Field: Mossberg MVP [Full Review]

1/3 MOA In Field: Mossberg MVP [Full Review]

Extraordinarily accurate, the Mossberg MVP achieved one of the highest accuracy results in the desert that we’d seen: 1/3 MOA repeatedly. Add in light weight, AR 15 magazine capability, threaded and fluted barrel, and good trigger. A Thunder Ranch and a Flex Stock version is reviewed here but the models will change over time. 7.62x51mm and 6.5 Creedmoor versions are now offered. A reliability quirk on the trigger is shown and discussed; strangely it went away. Value is high with included Picatinny rail, good barrel quality, and the fair price. We came away surprisingly impressed overall by the MVP.

Subscribe to TNP for more videos like this
Nutnfancy http://tinyurl.com/jaf8tz4
TheNutnfancyProject http://tinyurl.com/jg5cz6r
TNP stuff at: www.nutnfancy.bigcartel.com
TWITTER! www.twitter.com/nutnfancy

EMAIL THEM: guns@gunnies.com
Gunnies Store in Orem helped make this review possible. Buy from them and thank them for their support of TNP. Gunnies Great American Gun Store, Address: 396 State St, Orem, UT 84058 Hours: 10AM–8PM, Ph 801-226-7080 www.gunnies.com

50 Comments

  1. Bill S on September 22, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    Nutn,
    I’m curious if you fired any steel case through it, and what the results were/woulda been?

  2. Jerr Shobe on September 22, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    thanks for making this video

  3. CB 68 on September 22, 2022 at 8:34 pm

    I think in want one on 6.5 Creedmore! If it will run that well😁

  4. djjoseywalez on September 22, 2022 at 8:35 pm

    Gr8 review, sorry to hear Googoo is ruining YT by being Ebenezer Scrooge. Hang in there, where there’s a will, there’s a way. 👍

  5. Gear Know-How on September 22, 2022 at 8:36 pm

    Solid rifle!

  6. Chris Kane on September 22, 2022 at 8:37 pm

    It takes AR mags ?

  7. Zraupp10 on September 22, 2022 at 8:38 pm

    and Mossberg website is down :-/

  8. G14LLAMA on September 22, 2022 at 8:39 pm

    i’ve had mine for years and love mine i had to get the 308

  9. Gillan Laureth of Seles on September 22, 2022 at 8:39 pm

    I’d really like to see that take-down action on the Scout model. I’m looking at it for my next gun which is going to be my all-in-one gun. Hunting, truck, fun, survival, and potentially bug-out. More likely to be bug-out if they start offering the Scout with the Flex options. At the moment I have my SU-16 with my bug-out kit. I’m between the Mossberg MVP Scout and the Savage 11 Scout as the new gun in my collection. What makes me less enthusiastic about the Savage 11 Scout is the proprietary magazines that happen to be rather fragile and also unavailable. The MVP, so far, scratches every itch I have…now if only I could afford to get it right now.

  10. scrogginhood on September 22, 2022 at 8:41 pm

    I bought a new Ulti-mag 12ga. Heap of shit. Sent it back twice, still had jam problems. If you call mossberg in eagle pass, Tx. They have a woman that will say "i’m sorry sir" , 50 times. Doesnt fix a useless shooter. woundnt refund $$. Never buy any mossberg. No matter how cheap the price..

  11. 301steady on September 22, 2022 at 8:41 pm

    Are you going to watch the Eclipse out in the desert? and make a video?

  12. RetroCNY on September 22, 2022 at 8:43 pm

    I couldn’t help but notice the issues you had with the bolt while chambering a round. Looked pretty rough from time to time. The action also reminds me very much of a 700. In terms of it’s design. I still like the concept of the MVP. Most of my recent bolt gun purchases have been Savages. I wasn’t a fan of savage 10 or 15 years ago, but I am now.

    The MVP LR in 6.5 Creedmore is the one that’s got my interest piqued to be sure.

  13. Jonathan Schubert on September 22, 2022 at 8:43 pm

    Nice vid. Me and my buddy ran his a couple months ago, it was running 55 grain wolfs way better than federal 62 grain ss109s so check the twist rate, its everything. Also plan to make it a 500 yd gun, or you might as well run semi auto. Just my two cents. (be kind, I made this comment before you got to bullet loads in the vid)

  14. stephen foster on September 22, 2022 at 8:43 pm

    loved the review, ive been looking at this rifle for awhile.

  15. Unsightlygorgoroth on September 22, 2022 at 8:44 pm

    Great for us in Australia.

  16. Robert Culpepper on September 22, 2022 at 8:44 pm

    Looks like nutn is really having to concentrate to get that bolt to feed smoothly.

  17. Triggernometry on September 22, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    1/3-moa? You mean 2/3’s right..

  18. Doom Guy on September 22, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    been waiting for this for forever lol

  19. 59BigWalt on September 22, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    You usually have alternatives. Good review.

  20. Thomas Bradley on September 22, 2022 at 8:48 pm

    Thank you nutnfancy for taking the time and money to make this awesome video. You did a great job and covered all the bases. I just subscribed, but have watched for a couple years.

  21. MathTeacherMrK on September 22, 2022 at 8:51 pm

    I know that the aircraft in your watch is not a Heinkel He-111. I can’t quite tell what it is, possibly a Dornier Do-17 or Do-217. It is a sweet looking watch though! I know you are an aircraft guy, so I thought you would be interested to know. If you do happen to find out what it is, I’d be happy to hear about it in one of your videos!

  22. Thomas Bradley on September 22, 2022 at 8:51 pm

    And Cool watch dude! Luftwaffe!

  23. Just Shoot on September 22, 2022 at 8:51 pm

    @nutnfancy the recoil pad on the flex can be changed for different thickness LOP and/or Caliber. Part of the Flex model.

  24. Briggs1700 on September 22, 2022 at 8:54 pm

    Nutnfancy have you had the chance to try a winchester xpr? Been looking at bolt actions. Sako 85 and tikka t3x shortlisted. Looking for submao. Still debating wether 308 or 300wm. Interchangeabke rifke like fn ballista is way too expensive.

  25. Squid Master on September 22, 2022 at 8:56 pm

    About bolt action reliability: I had the damn bolt handle break right off my remington 700 PRE freedom group. My parents had drove 4 hours to visit me and a half hour into our range trip my damn new to me rifle decides to fall apart on me.

  26. Briggs1700 on September 22, 2022 at 8:58 pm

    Wonder abt the new ruger bolt action. First going to set up my savage 10. If I dont get the results I want i’m gonna replace it with a sako 85 black wolf or maybe go flat out for the trg22 (308).

  27. Phillip Tweedy on September 22, 2022 at 9:01 pm

    Just signed up to support the project on Patreon. #helpkeepthechambersfed

  28. Bryan Singler on September 22, 2022 at 9:02 pm

    yep, bolt problem is from action screws. My screw was to long, i guess from over tightening. any way just shorten it some and it works fine. The bolt feed lip spring came out and I made a new one from a guitar string.

  29. DJ Corner on September 22, 2022 at 9:02 pm

    Thanks for doin’ this rifle. I’ve had my eyes on one ever since the PDR of New York restricted my beloved ARs. Watching the video, it looked like the bolt is wrestling with a gorilla, unlike the smooth, short motion on something like the SMLE. Am I seeing this correctly, or is it just hard to tell in the vids? Thanks again.

  30. Nathan Explosion on September 22, 2022 at 9:08 pm

    fart at 28:12

  31. Alex on September 22, 2022 at 9:09 pm

    I bought my MVP patrol in 308/762nato a few months ago, used. Its still in good condition shoots smooth. Really good looking and versatile rifle.

  32. Bryce Harrington on September 22, 2022 at 9:09 pm

    I really wish they would do this in 7.62×39, and take AK mags.

  33. Michael Cerda on September 22, 2022 at 9:10 pm

    Diggin

  34. justus005 H on September 22, 2022 at 9:11 pm

    Really wish they would release some lefty versions of this.

  35. FoxBro on September 22, 2022 at 9:13 pm

    So funny the MVP owns the Ruger Precision Rifle in the accuracy department. Smoked it! Ruger must hate your guts, Nutn….

  36. gnarshread on September 22, 2022 at 9:13 pm

    I know I’ve watched this about 4 times already but what about the 308 variants?

  37. roger rice on September 22, 2022 at 9:15 pm

    Just a quick observation: Seems some difficulty in re-chambering with the bolt throw. First thought is was the sticks, but the same was seen in the bench rest. Maybe the translucent mag?

  38. Redline870 on September 22, 2022 at 9:17 pm

    Gets the Nutn seal of approval and the Clint Smith/Thunder Ranch approval, it’s gotta be a good gun!

  39. David Greener on September 22, 2022 at 9:17 pm

    WILL IT TAKE AR 15 MAGS IN 5.56?

  40. CB 68 on September 22, 2022 at 9:19 pm

    Good info. Thanks

  41. speedfrk73z on September 22, 2022 at 9:22 pm

    I’m impressed by the MVP. Good review Nutn!

  42. Ethan Roberts on September 22, 2022 at 9:23 pm

    This reminds me; I’ve been looking at the Ruger Enhanced Precision Rifle or Precision Rifle G2 for some time. Available in several calibers. It seems, on the surface, to be an affordable high performance 6.5 creedmoor option. Thought you may find that interesting.

  43. Michael Shapiro on September 22, 2022 at 9:24 pm

    WHY is EVERY shooter in this video WORKING SO HARD to push the bolt forward & chamber the next round? Something WEIRD with 5.56 in a bolt gun? Wrong bolt in the rifle? WHAT? LOOKS AWFUL; SOUNDS NOISY. I AIN’T BUY NO "CAN’T CHAMBER" BOLT GUN. Leaving at 5:44, but read the "long screw" answer in comments below. Hope Mossberg will soon stop screwing themselves out of my business & more business.

  44. Lou Diggs on September 22, 2022 at 9:25 pm

    Any chance of bringing in the 308 version to the project?

  45. Eric T on September 22, 2022 at 9:25 pm

    Thunder Ranch model has a painted wood stock.

  46. Michael Scott Howard on September 22, 2022 at 9:26 pm

    Looks like a good 5.56/.223 candidate bolt action… Want a target rife in that caliber –add to my iron site only Mil Serps collection.

  47. Tim Blizzard on September 22, 2022 at 9:27 pm

    Perfect WROL rifle for Australia. Limited to 10 round mags but ar mags are cheap.

  48. unkledunkle on September 22, 2022 at 9:29 pm

    28:10 that fart

  49. Luciano suárez on September 22, 2022 at 9:29 pm

    Nice toy guys ….

  50. Del Kienholz on September 22, 2022 at 9:30 pm

    Ref. the cool watch. looks like a BF-110 vs He-111. Advise?

Leave a Comment