1996 Chevy Beretta Z26 Review – The Car That Got GM Sued!

1996 Chevy Beretta Z26 Review – The Car That Got GM Sued!

My thoughts on the 1996 Chevy Beretta Z26 with the 3.1L V6 and 4 speed automatic transmission!

Merch & Blog: https://www.ZackPradel.com

Special Thanks To Pasquale!

Contact me!
Email: PradelReviews@Gmail.com
Phone: (331) 462-0706
Instagram: @Shooting_Cars

BFB Test Pass/Fail Spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1q9-iZ7GiIpvtJT1U1o1IvA67GtMNOIcEuKctIlVfZWM/edit?usp=sharing

Intro animation by: https://www.instagram.com/snail_r8/

Intro/outro music by: https://www.fiverr.com/matiasfuma

FIXD BLUTOOTH OBD2 SENSOR!
https://fixd-automotive.myshopify.com/?rfsn=5367624.148968

What a FIXD sensor is: https://youtu.be/wXn7e1LgGi0

DISCLAIMER!

The thoughts, feelings, and opinions expressed in this video are the sole thoughts of Zack and no one else. The purpose of this video is to provide entertainment with the hope that you will take what you see and formulate your own opinions. I highly recommend consuming other reviews of this vehicle before making any form of financial decision.

#Chevy #Beretta #Z26

Timecodes:
0:00 – Intro
1:10 – Engine / Transmission
2:53 – Interior
4:07 – BFB Test
4:19 – Interior
5:54 – Back Seats
6:29 – Trunk / Cargo Space
7:02 – Exterior
7:47 – Final Thoughts
11:34 – Outro

50 Comments

  1. Vriesvak on November 18, 2022 at 9:41 pm

    I own a 2.2 4 cylinder model from ’91 (Because gas is god damn expensive in The Netherlands. Driving around the block with a V6 is almost a month worth of salary so to speak.) But damn I love that car! It’s very rare over here too. I have only seen one of them, ever (besides my own). It’s so comfortable, long drives are a pleasure. It’s just an awesome car, love it!

  2. Dom Wick on November 18, 2022 at 9:42 pm

    thanks for this comprehensive and thanks for being a sizable guy to give that perspective

  3. Craig D on November 18, 2022 at 9:43 pm

    I always loved the headlight/wiper situation on this and the Corsica.

  4. Mintygreen on November 18, 2022 at 9:44 pm

    My first driving instructor had one waaaay back in the late 90s also I had a coworker who had a jet black one he didn’t like the fact it got super hot inside even at night with tinted windows.

  5. New Edge Designs on November 18, 2022 at 9:46 pm

    The Italians got the GTU edition, pretty fitting I suppose…The cavalier Z24 came with a 2.8 or 3.1 v6…They didn’t become 4cyl until much later in their production…

  6. Cliff Baxter on November 18, 2022 at 9:48 pm

    Although I was selling Chevys at the time, I don’t recall ever driving a Z26. We had the GTU and GTZ Berettas.

    Good info, great video.

    My demo at the time was a Lumina Z34…. Interesting car if you ever come across one.

  7. Preston Cheap BT headphones test guy on November 18, 2022 at 9:52 pm

    This guy is always, “ super excited!” 🫤

  8. Adam Won Chaeol Choi Su Hyundai Muhammad M Salaam on November 18, 2022 at 9:54 pm

    Shooting Stars. In the true internet and TV of what is already run timed and broadcasted to the world and regulated FCC to the majority of the people, during 1987 to 1997 of what is Irrevocable historic of this varient Chevrolet Baretta was a success meaning how and why we had at GM sport compact small car status. Yeah the Baretta was short duration but it was at the market time one of the best small sport and was reliable. The article actually says why I had so much volume and success with what is Corsica and Baretta. The Cruze will be phased out for what is in articles for Corsica Chevrolet Corsica. Think about it Chevrolet Cruze was nearly retail three to four years ago and I matched sales retail not fleet of the Civic and Carolla with only a recall for oil filters that needed to be tightened though the recall articles had advertising written inaccurately that was overly exaggerated. There won’t be SS for super sport instead RS Z24 Corsica and what the articles say in information release auto press privacy rights Chevrolet Corsica will not be only a four door but that of a two door where as the Cobalt had Super Sport the high performance will be RS Z24. Given the fact that they had a lot of success they had time that was 5 to 4 years and for a small sedan and two door during 1987 to 1997 they were specials for the market. The same won’t be for the coming soon on that time individuality Chevrolet Corsica as will be higher quantity though not focused on bloated retail inventory. It’s strange nowadays because they say Chinese suppliers but that was when discontinued Ali Baba was around and mainland China has life stock of cows water life and other of what is mixed synthetics to natural. Either way don’t believe what you hear about naysayers that the current Cruze was Chinese because it’s actually Korean American developed that had a lot of retail success where only one recall happened that was oil filters that needed to be tightened that was exaggerated in articles that was advertising publicity extortion that was easily won in other non disclosed concerns. Either way you have it Z24 Baretta was a rare small sport two door and four door during the years of 1993 to 1997.

  9. Dom Wick on November 18, 2022 at 9:56 pm

    6:56 Put that Mercedes First Aide Kit back i say!!! 😄

  10. Black Son Goku on November 18, 2022 at 9:57 pm

    This review really hit home! My pawpaw had an ’88 model in GT form in Dark Grey with the 2.8 v6. It was a staple of my childhood until the remanufactured motor croaked. I was supposed to inherit it as my first car in high school & fix it up but….pawpaw sold it for scrap while I was at school… Can’t find these Berettas anymore and still want one to this day

  11. Andrew S on November 18, 2022 at 9:57 pm

    I’d totally forgot about the Pontiac Tempest that they sold in Canada back in the day. Had to Google it and instantly got flooded with memories because those were EVERYWHERE in southern Ontario back in the day. I remember the weird windmill looking wheels o on some of them. Of course, the salt and snow in the winter ate them all up.

  12. Jack Schissler on November 18, 2022 at 9:58 pm

    I always loved this Z26 Beretta. Love these wheels.

  13. Jonathan González on November 18, 2022 at 9:59 pm

    Impressive style for the Compact Beretta

  14. New York 419 on November 18, 2022 at 10:01 pm

    Awesome video. I grew up in the 90’s and these cars were everywhere. I remember being a kid and seeing Z26’s and Z34’s and wondering why Chevy would give these cars just as many Z’s as the Z28 lol

  15. ohio player1177 on November 18, 2022 at 10:02 pm

    i knew a hot girl that drove one of these. she was hot..

  16. John Cole on November 18, 2022 at 10:03 pm

    I always loved the styling of the Beretta. I had a ’91 GT with a manual and a ’94 base model with the manual. My ’94 sported the Black rose paint — great look!

  17. J V on November 18, 2022 at 10:05 pm

    No interesting features in the trunk? How about a Jeep floor mat and a Mercedes first-aid kit?

  18. David Frischknecht on November 18, 2022 at 10:05 pm

    My first car was a 1994 Corsica, this car’s big brother.

  19. SBTV on November 18, 2022 at 10:05 pm

    Off topic but something about Alfa Romero. Taking small v6 engines back in the day. And putting them on a fiber glass body frame. 200hp down to a dog leg shift. Just makes my day hearing them go.

  20. Erick G on November 18, 2022 at 10:06 pm

    Remembering the cavalier z24

  21. ramkidd123 on November 18, 2022 at 10:07 pm

    i had a new 93 white gt 5 speed 3.1 v6. it was a lemon. name a part, it broke. even the dealership couldnt get parts. only got 50k out of it in 9 yrs. liked the stick with a flowmaster.

  22. 04dram04 on November 18, 2022 at 10:08 pm

    Those wheels look awesome.

  23. Dom Wick on November 18, 2022 at 10:09 pm

    those wheels are unique and do look good.

  24. CarsFitnessMusic on November 18, 2022 at 10:09 pm

    I owned one in red!! Not a 3.1, a 3100 some had roller rockers, as well.

  25. M B on November 18, 2022 at 10:10 pm

    The shifter knob (4:40) looks like my stock Gen 3 Camaro one.

  26. Don KiksBiscuits on November 18, 2022 at 10:10 pm

    those wheel patterns would look great in 3pc 😎

  27. Videobob Moseley on November 18, 2022 at 10:14 pm

    I’m going to try to give you some big brother style advice that I hope you will ingest and not get so offended that you just disregard it as trolling, because I see a lot of you in myself when I was your age. Your look needs help. I used to do the same thing. I am 47 now but when I see pictures of myself when I was your age I want to hide.
    Don’t try to grow a scraggly beard to look older. It has the opposite effect. Shave. Until you can grow a full beard in your later 20’s.
    Never wear white. Just don’t. Wear black and dark colors. Your hairy belly is hanging out in some shots.
    So look for long shirts, I wear Wrangler Work Wear XLT shirts, these are longer, tuck them into your pants.
    Never wear shorts. Just don’t.
    I am known for wearing suspenders, but this happened because no matter what I did my pants would just fall down and show ass crack.
    Don’t wear blue jeans or tan pants, get black jeans.
    Fat guys should only wear black in my opinion.
    Get a short haircut, or at least a styled one. Plan to go bald because you probably will.
    I have been shaving my head for a long time and I don’t regret it.
    If you wear button up shirts, get good ones that are tailored, otherwise skip them. Polo’s suck.
    A good look is a nice t-shirt with a button up over it, halfway unbuttoned, I do this a lot.
    It took me well into my late 30’s to start dressing better and honestly, my later 40’s.
    You would be surprised how effective even a cheap sport coat or blazer will make you look like a real man.
    I am not a fashion icon by any means, but I think I have a good look, I clean up nice.
    Don’t get pissed at me, just trust me on this one. It will change your life.
    I only wish someone had told me this shit when I was young.
    Good luck.

  28. Jason Sobol on November 18, 2022 at 10:14 pm

    In the 80s, the F-body cars had the power window switches in the center console

  29. Robert Younger on November 18, 2022 at 10:16 pm

    The plastic on the back broke so easily. I had an 89 Chevy Beretta w/ 2.8 engine. Ended up stealing parts from it to put on a 1990 Chevy Lumina w/ 3.1

  30. Lou Aliberti on November 18, 2022 at 10:19 pm

    Oh I use to Love those … back in the day !!

  31. Chet McGraw on November 18, 2022 at 10:20 pm

    The DNR on the radio actually stands for Dynamic Noise Reduction. It’s not a Dolby branded product. It’s from National Semiconductor.

  32. Mr Danny Lane on November 18, 2022 at 10:21 pm

    I feel like the beretta spirit lived on through the Saturn and Oldsmobile platform and then was lost in history. Big engine fwd was a hard thing to make for gm without an automatic transmission. A manual would have boosted its reputation as bulletproof fun. And an awd turbo variant would have quickly reached gnx or gmc cyclone status.

  33. Rusty Gribble on November 18, 2022 at 10:22 pm

    You realize that the Beretta , Lumina , Monte Carlo , Corsica , and Cavalier (93-94) were basically the same car just differed in size a little bit.
    All were FWD , and had kinda the same body , and kinda looked alike too.

  34. Charles Groover on November 18, 2022 at 10:23 pm

    I really good review of a really ugly GM dog lol 😂

  35. weasel884 on November 18, 2022 at 10:23 pm

    The guns probabaly got put in a vault to protect them in case sombody goes on a rampage and tried to use them for malicious intent. As for that 3.1 as long as the intake gaskets held up they were a decent motor. They about my sucked to figure out the pushrod pattern and to put thermostats in though.

  36. H Baldwintucker on November 18, 2022 at 10:24 pm

    I have 2 Beretta’s A 93 GT Mint Condition and a 96 Retta Love These Cars ( Both Are Identical in Looks Color ETC )

  37. Greg Baumbach on November 18, 2022 at 10:25 pm

    The Beretta Z26 you want to drive was the 5 speed Getrag with the quad 4 engine. That was a beast.

  38. Ryan Gallager on November 18, 2022 at 10:27 pm

    I’m so glad people beyond myself have a soft spot for 90s GM FWD cars!

  39. Roger Doger on November 18, 2022 at 10:29 pm

    This is why American "sporty" coupes just failed compared to the Japanese and Euro competition. Looks good, awful engines. Idc what you say, a big V6 making little to no power, a smaller 4 cylinder dohc that are rev happy would’ve helped.

  40. you got to win sometime on November 18, 2022 at 10:30 pm

    I miss these cars

  41. lokisgodhi on November 18, 2022 at 10:31 pm

    The Berretta with the automatic was a dog. If you liked driving, you went for the 5sp manual and the 180hp Quad Four.

  42. SBTV on November 18, 2022 at 10:31 pm

    It’s basically I baby irocz

  43. natplayz 81 on November 18, 2022 at 10:32 pm

    I like how nobody mentions that the name of this car is also the name of a handgun

  44. Sean Nocera on November 18, 2022 at 10:34 pm

    Made me chuckle around the 35 second mark, since not only do I own a 1996 Z26, but I also own a Cadillac Cimarron as well.

  45. John Doe on November 18, 2022 at 10:34 pm

    Cobolt predecessor?

  46. Nicholas Field on November 18, 2022 at 10:34 pm

    Those 3100s are known for the head and intake gaskets going. Multiple times

  47. Vic P on November 18, 2022 at 10:35 pm

    Gm of these days got me to look at Honda.

  48. GTA Ashwagandha Man on November 18, 2022 at 10:36 pm

    A very nice example! I actually purchased one of these a 94 model in Black Rose Metallic Purple! Gave it a dual 409 stainless steel exhaust in the middle of restoring it! Now my 1993 Cavalier Z24 is a restored gem with the original drivetrain at 231,000 miles on the old 3.1 mpfi engine and I got it running like wet ice against wet ice! you should review that!🤝😉

  49. Chris Christoferson on November 18, 2022 at 10:37 pm

    I had a white & red interior 96 Beretta. That was 2nd car I ever owned. LOVED this car. I seem to recall the stock speakers kicked ass.

  50. Joseph D on November 18, 2022 at 10:37 pm

    I have a 94 beretta with 20,000 original miles on it if you are in Illinois

Leave a Comment