.410 Revolvers Don't Suck (S&W Governor/Taurus Judge) – Opinion and Ballistic Tests!

.410 Revolvers Don't Suck (S&W Governor/Taurus Judge) – Opinion and Ballistic Tests!

Giving my opinion on the S&W Governor, and the Taurus Judge style of revolvers in general. I don’t think they are garbage, stupid or useless like a lot of people say. I give sound reasons and do a ballistic gel test as well as some practical accuracy tests. Always appreciative of any channel help 🙂 https://www.patreon.com/user?u=5828221

50 Comments

  1. TheReindeer TheRabbitTheBat on August 24, 2022 at 8:10 pm

    Great video, thanks. I like your appreciation for what works in the gun vs some else who is only gonna focus on what doesn’t work.



  2. Clayton Gross on August 24, 2022 at 8:10 pm

    At 10 yards OR less the judge is absolutely DEVASTATING to tissue, muscle and bone. A 410 within 2 feet correctly placed the target will not survive.



  3. Supremacy962 on August 24, 2022 at 8:11 pm

    I would buy a Governor if there was a variant with adjustable sights. Also if they made a stainless steel tier III .45 LC capable variant that would be awesome (even if they had to reduce the capacity to 5).



  4. Jarrett Moore on August 24, 2022 at 8:15 pm

    Your right about the accuracy freeborore don’t mean anything very accurate with 45lc. That would be like saying 5.56 is less accurate than .223 because of freebore.



  5. Gun Sam _Revolver Aficionado_ on August 24, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    I wanted to add some information to how I was saying that you don’t lose much velocity in this S&W Governor with .45 Colt by listing some results I got in the past. Here are some velocity ratings and real world velocities I got:

    1. Buffalo Bore 225 gr SWCHP rated at 983 FPS from a 4" S&W Mountain Gun, in the 2.75" Governor I got 999 FPS average.
    2. Buffalo Bore 225 gr hard cast wadcutter rated at 951 FPS from a 4" S&W Mountain Gun, in the 2.75" Governor I got 977 FPS average.
    3. Buffalo Bore 200 gr JHP rated at 1,015 FPS from a 4" S&W Mountain Gun, in the 2.75" Governor I got 970 FPS average.
    4. Underwood Maximum Expansion 220 gr rated at 900 FPS from unknown test gun, in the 2.75" Governor I got 870 FPS average.
    5. Hornady Critical Defense 185 gr FTX rated at 920 FPS from a 3" V barrel, in the 2.75" Governor I got 933 FPS average.

    The oddball round was the Barnes VOR-TX lead free 200 gr XPB. It was rated at 1,025 FPS from a 6" barrel and I got only 773 FPS average. There was a distinct drop of pressure sound with this ammo which the rest of the .45 Colt ammo I tested did not have. Considering most of the other .45 Colt ammo I ran through it exceeded 4" velocity ratings, I will have to assume quality control is at fault with that particular ammo.

    The main takeaway I see with the velocities I got, is that most of what people tell me is incorrect. Exceeding rated velocity from a 4" barrel with 3 of 6 rounds and dropping only 30-45 FPS VS test barrels with 2 of 6 rounds would not indicate powder blow-by, cylinder gap loss, chamber jump and all of that. What my numbers tell me is that the powder is burning in the cylinder throat as if it’s a barrel and propelling the bullets pretty well.



  6. Sam Williams on August 24, 2022 at 8:17 pm

    The Raging Judge is rated for 454 Casull. That is more than 44 magnum.
    I have seen 45ACP on the shelves 45 Colt not so much. Tarus doesn’t fire ACP



  7. Alex S on August 24, 2022 at 8:18 pm

    It does kinda suck, it’s a range toy and it doesn’t compare to other guns out there that beat it. Like Glock, Beretta or Smith & Wesson. Give me an AR-15 or a 12 gauge pump action over a novelty.



  8. the single trucker on August 24, 2022 at 8:20 pm

    I’ve put .45 acp onto 2 liters (orange, because) at 65 ft. from my Governor. Best sights on a pistol out of the bag. They were Winchester 230 grain FMJ and no toy slide gun ever feels as good as when I wrap my meat hooks around this revolver. Chambers like to be kept clean for best fps out of a rifled 2.75" barrel.



  9. Jeff Paul on August 24, 2022 at 8:21 pm

    i use mine with 410 number 6 shot. i have rattle snakes on property and when i’m out working its easier to hit them with the shot.



  10. LouisianaJesse on August 24, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    I bought a Governor May 1, 2022 and was sending it back to S&W May 2, 2022. Had an average of 1 misfire per cylinder fired due to light primer strike. They replaced the firing pin and got it back to me a month later. The .410 shells lock up the cylinder and ejecting them is damn near impossible. Save your money.



  11. gabriel moreno on August 24, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    I regret selling my public defender



  12. Xavier Breath on August 24, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    Can you moonclip the .410 shells?



  13. Tom File on August 24, 2022 at 8:29 pm

    I’ll never own one.



  14. Don Wilson on August 24, 2022 at 8:29 pm

    You know I don’t know how anybody could say that gun is junk when it is probably one of the best revolvers on the market due to the fact that you can shoot different type ammunition out of it besides the judge I don’t think there’s any other gun that can do this so how could it be junk that’s just stupid talk



  15. Andrew Colglazier on August 24, 2022 at 8:29 pm

    I own 2 judges and one governor. I have the public defender version of the the judge and also a 6 and a 1/2 inch. Both of them have 2 and a 1/2 inch chambers.. I’ve carried the public defender many times in an inside the waistband holster carried at the appendix position and it was very comfortable. I’ve also carried the judge in that same position, and while it was a bit larger and bulkier than the public defender, it was also quite carryable. Like you, I have many times heard otherwise knowledgeable gun people talk badly about this type of firearm. It was very clear to me though, after I acquired mine and had shot them quite a bit, that they had never actually spent any time with the guns. A great deal of bad press was generated around these guns when they 1st came out because there was no good, well developed handgun ammunition for them. People shot them mostly using 410 cartridges designed for long barrel shotguns, which perform poorly as far as accuracy in these handguns. However, when using proper ammo for them, meaning 410 ammo which has been designed for handguns, they can perform quite well. Using proper 410 defensive ammo, you can get surprisingly tight groups with these out to 25 to 30 yd. I have been able to easily hit a 10" plate at 50 yd using 45 Colt loadings with these guns.



  16. Senior P on August 24, 2022 at 8:30 pm

    It’s blowing my mind that you still can’t buy.410 ammo anywhere. I was just at bass pro and a local gun shop. Tons of ammo every caliber you can think of. 41 mag, yup. .32 auto, sure. All kinds of wildcat hunting rounds, check. But .410, forget about it!



  17. Oplefire M on August 24, 2022 at 8:30 pm

    Buddy and I shot an old rusted bucket from about 30 feet and its Swiss now, I’d say 410 is good at limited range



  18. Robert cook on August 24, 2022 at 8:33 pm

    I’d use 410 slug instead



  19. Gregory Mccarley on August 24, 2022 at 8:33 pm

    I like the 45acp aspect point plank it meets it’s criteria for HD



  20. mark broad on August 24, 2022 at 8:37 pm

    no it’s not practical, It’s BAD ASS.



  21. Party Robbins on August 24, 2022 at 8:39 pm

    I think the .454 casull version would make an excellent survival gun. You are use .410 for small game and .454 for predator protection.



  22. Proud ammosexual on August 24, 2022 at 8:39 pm

    The Judge makes a great mountain gun… First two loads are with birdshot for popping grouse to 15-20 yards, next two are buckshot, last one is 45 colt…



  23. Nikolai Semenoff on August 24, 2022 at 8:41 pm

    Outstanding review



  24. Rod Mueller on August 24, 2022 at 8:42 pm

    My question is can you fire a 454 C in the Governor or should that be left to the Raging Judge?



  25. Bryan Fikes on August 24, 2022 at 8:43 pm

    Have one. On my little 9 acre farm I load 2 bird shot, 2 buck shot, 2 colts. Progressive lethality. And, they are just fun too. Super Redhawks comes out at 44mag, ruger gp 357, but honestly my comfort gun is glock 21. Enjoyed your video sir! Shit, all them toys are fun.



  26. Robert Cook on August 24, 2022 at 8:44 pm

    Lmao come on dude this is just straight fuddery. You can just like a gun without having to justify why it’s somehow a better choice than an objectively better gun for a use case. I like the Judge/Governor too, I think they are cool, but they are not the best choice for a self defense or home defense use case. The same with a pump action shotgun vs an AR or other semi auto rifle with an intermediate chambering.



  27. john carlson on August 24, 2022 at 8:44 pm

    Damage? How bout your carjacker is now cut in half and dead. A most effective population control device



  28. Justin Ebding on August 24, 2022 at 8:48 pm

    I have a judge public defender and I’m able to put all four buck shots on a Target size of a dinner plate 7 yd I like it for home defense in a house 🏠



  29. Senior P on August 24, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    The carjacking use case for the .410 revolver that I heard is that a load of .410 birdshot in the face at point blank distance will blind and disable attacker without killing him. That leaves victim free to drive off and get away. I don’t subscribe to this argument but that is the way I heard it.



  30. Johan Runfeldt on August 24, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    10:34 You need more pellets, go to bird-shot.
    On a more serious note, it was news to me that a Governor will hold up to 45ACP pressures.



  31. Hillbilly Musings on August 24, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    Excellent video. You made some points that I’ve been arguing for years on the forums.



  32. FRANK FITZ on August 24, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    Thank you sir for a positive video on this weapon, I have two different kinds of judge’s. I truly believe in it, five trigger pulls will net 20 holes.



  33. Chris A. on August 24, 2022 at 8:50 pm

    There is nothing wrong with the concept of a revolver that shoots .410/45ACP/45LC. I just don’t like it that most of them happen to be made by Taurus. Which is why if I were to buy one it would be a S&W Governor, except that those have the internal lock which I also refuse to buy, which is why I don’t have a .410/45ACP/45LC revolver.



  34. waptek2 on August 24, 2022 at 8:51 pm

    5:52 = TLDR = lol!



  35. Greg Borror on August 24, 2022 at 8:51 pm

    After I stupidly had an accidental discharge with my 9mm pistol in my travel trailer, I learned how many layers of camper walls a 9mm will penetrate. God intervened, and the round went thru a wall at 45 degrees and then tore out the bathroom wiring, went through the outer wall and lodged in the steel awning strut arm after tearing a big hole in one side, was stopped by the other. Had it not been stopped by the awning strut, I’m sure it would have hit occupied million dollar class a unit next to me. I use the Judge for only one purpose. Camper defense when in a crowded campground. Knowing I have no safe background, lighter penetrating .410 shells keep my neighbors safer. I hope.



  36. MrLaughingcorpse on August 24, 2022 at 8:51 pm

    It’s my home defense gun and yard gun. Killed a squirrel with some bigger size bird shot.



  37. John Webb on August 24, 2022 at 8:52 pm

    On a camping trip it is a great selection. With Hornady Critical Defense 45LC it is personal defense at its finest. Carry some no. 7 birdshot also and you have more versatility. Also carry buckshot loads and that is all you need. In a vertical shoulder holster it carries as well as any hand gun. It don’t get much better. I do this with a 3 inch Magnum Judge stainless.



  38. Unoi on August 24, 2022 at 8:52 pm

    At 11:00 he shot 6 times with a 5 shooter!!?



  39. Nathan Coohon on August 24, 2022 at 8:52 pm

    2A❤️🇺🇸❤️ I love my S&W ! Let’s go Brandon FJB 🖕



  40. Pontus von Geijer on August 24, 2022 at 8:54 pm

    You kinda look like a fart. 🙂



  41. blantant on August 24, 2022 at 8:56 pm

    Very interesting. These are not allowed by California law but always been intrigued by the concept.



  42. DJ Freeze on August 24, 2022 at 8:57 pm

    I carry the raging judge magnum 513 model subnose in the winter time. Self defense purposes 1st shot 00buck for 20ft purpose. Next shots are Underwood 45lc



  43. Daniel Neufield on August 24, 2022 at 8:57 pm

    seems like it would a great surival gun. your lost in the bush all you see is rabbit or ducks. hey prest you are eating that night. spot a deer go up a caliber. if you got a raging judge that shoots 454 casul defend against a bear



  44. elprocustoms on August 24, 2022 at 9:00 pm

    This my fishing gun



  45. Mike andrews on August 24, 2022 at 9:04 pm

    Why would it be junk? Any gun that shoots is awesome in my book



  46. Texasmongoose1 on August 24, 2022 at 9:04 pm

    One of the first times the travel distance before rifling is a help is said to be a positive and the tests seem to support. I have shot one and I always think how you can add 410 for woods and hiking for snakes the weight is not much worse then the full frame steel 38 revolver but the cost and options of shot shells makes it nice and the spread of 410 vs 38 shot shell but I saw what the 45 colt did and the 410 handgun load and I tell you it’s going to be very effective and I’m accurate enough many times it’s us not the gun when they put even the taurus in rest the accuracy was as good within an inch at reasonable defense ranges. Those 45 colts in that gun as it is exactly treated as 45 colt revolver people were taking down all threats in the early days the 45 colt is very effective for mostly everything.



  47. Richard Rivard on August 24, 2022 at 9:05 pm

    Thank you for this



  48. Kyle Winters on August 24, 2022 at 9:06 pm

    I love my judge 6 inch, mainly shoot 45 lc through it. Sometimes shoot clays close up because of the spin of the rifling. Would love to purchase a snub nose .357 but have seen a lot of videos on loss of 200 fps velocity from 2 inch barrel. Would love to see a montage of ballistics being shot from .22 up to 30-06. With velocities listed.



  49. Andrew Disney on August 24, 2022 at 9:07 pm

    Bullets do the DEED! The gun is pretty much irrelevant! Learn to use what you have and let the bullets do the work! LGBFJB!



  50. Shelby Walker on August 24, 2022 at 9:07 pm

    I carry mine all the time concealed and have for about a year and a half