Beretta 686 Silver Pigeon | 20 Gauge Over Under Shotgun Review

Beretta 686 Silver Pigeon | 20 Gauge Over Under Shotgun Review

Beretta 686 Silver Pigeon | 20 Gauge Over Under Shotgun Review: Welcome to my first ever review of an over-under shotgun! Today we’re looking at the Beretta 686 Silver Pigeon in 20 Gauge! If there is something you’d like to see done differently in the O/U reviews, let me know in the comments! There are many more to come – Enjoy!

GET MORE from the #TFL WEBSITE ๐Ÿ‘‡
โŒฒ How to Get a Free TFL Hat ๐Ÿงข https://targetfocused.link/tflhats
โŒฒ Favorite Products & Discount Codes ๐Ÿ”ฅhttps://targetfocused.link/favproducts

0:00 Intro
1:34 Specs
3:14 Ergonomics
5:37 Quality of Build
6:23 Recoil and Reliability
8:03 Breakdown
8:50 Speed Shooting
10:19 Conclusion

GET MORE from the #TFL WEBSITE ๐Ÿ‘‡
โŒฒ https://www.targetfocused.life/blog/686silverpigeon

๏ผข๏ผฏ๏ผฏ๏ผซ ๏ผณ๏ผด๏ผฅ๏ผถ๏ผฅ ๏ผฆ๏ผฏ๏ผฒ ๏ผน๏ผฏ๏ผต๏ผฒ ๏ผฎ๏ผฅ๏ผธ๏ผด ๏ผฅ๏ผถ๏ผฅ๏ผฎ๏ผด๏ผ
๐ŸŽค๐™Ž๐™‹๐™€๐˜ผ๐™†๐™„๐™‰๐™‚ & ๐Ÿ’ฅ ๐™๐™๐™‡ ๐™‡๐™„๐™‘๐™€ ๐™๐™๐™„๐˜พ๐™† ๐™Ž๐™ƒ๐™Š๐™Š๐™๐™„๐™‰๐™‚ ๐™„๐™‰๐™Œ๐™๐™„๐™๐™„๐™€๐™Ž
โŒฒ https://targetfocused.link/booking

๐™๐˜ผ๐™‘ ๐™Ž๐™ƒ๐™Š๐™Š๐™๐™„๐™‰๐™‚ ๐˜ผ๐˜พ๐˜พ๐™€๐™Ž๐™Ž๐™Š๐™๐™„๐™€๐™Ž
โŒฒ FalconStrike Recoil Reduction Pad: https://targetfocused.link/falconstrikepads
โŒฒ ESS Eye Pro ๐Ÿ˜Ž 35% off with โ€œESSTFL35โ€: https://targetfocused.link/esseyepro
โŒฒ Axil GS Extreme 2.0 ๐Ÿ™Œ Wireless Bluetooth Earbuds ๐Ÿ‘‰ https://targetfocused.link/gsextreme2
โŒฒ Axil Trackr Blu ๐ŸŽง All-In-One Bluetooth Ear Muffs ๐Ÿ‘‰ https://targetfocused.link/trackrblu

๐™๐˜ผ๐™‘ ๐™Ž๐™ƒ๐™Š๐™๐™‚๐™๐™‰ ๐˜ผ๐˜พ๐˜พ๐™€๐™Ž๐™Ž๐™Š๐™๐™„๐™€๐™Ž
โŒฒ Carlsonโ€™s Magazine Tube Extensions: 20% off with “targetfocused20” https://targetfocused.link/carlsonsmagtubes
โŒฒ Carlson’s Choke Tubes: 20% off with “targetfocused20” https://targetfocused.link/carlsonschokes

๐™๐˜ผ๐™‘ ๐™Ž๐™ƒ๐™Š๐™๐™‚๐™๐™‰ ๐˜พ๐™‡๐™€๐˜ผ๐™‰๐™„๐™‰๐™‚ ๐™‹๐™๐™Š๐˜ฟ๐™๐˜พ๐™๐™Ž
โŒฒStep 1: Spray it down – Shooter Choice MC-7 Extra Strength Bore Cleaner https://targetfocused.link/mc7borecleaner
โŒฒStep 2: Blow it out – Shooters Choice MC-7 Quick Scrub https://targetfocused.link/mc7quickscrub
โŒฒStep 3: Lube Internal Parts – Otis Dry Lube https://targetfocused.link/otisdrylube
โŒฒStep 4: Run Ripcord down the barrel https://targetfocused.link/ripcord
โŒฒStep 4: Wipe down Exterior – Otis 085 Wipes https://targetfocused.link/clpwipes
โŒฒOther Cleaning Products https://targetfocused.link/Otis

๐Ÿ†ƒ๐Ÿ…ต๐Ÿ…ป ๐Ÿ†‚๐Ÿ…พ๐Ÿ…ฒ๐Ÿ…ธ๐Ÿ…ฐ๐Ÿ…ป ๐Ÿ…ผ๐Ÿ…ด๐Ÿ…ณ๐Ÿ…ธ๐Ÿ…ฐ
Instagram ๐Ÿ‘‰ http://targetfocused.link/insta
Facebook ๐Ÿ‘‰ http://targetfocused.link/facebook
TikTok ๐Ÿ‘‰ http://targetfocused.link/tiktok

๐™๐˜ผ๐™‘ ๐™€๐™‘๐™€๐™๐™”๐˜ฟ๐˜ผ๐™” ๐™‹๐™๐™Š๐˜ฟ๐™๐˜พ๐™๐™Ž
โŒฒ MTN OPS Energy and Nutrition Supplements: https://targetfocused.link/mntops

PRODUCTS TO LIVE ๐ŸŽฏTARGET FOCUSED
โŒฒ The Bible App: https://targetfocused.link/youversion
Thank you for watching and being part of the Target Focused Life movement.

Keep Living Target Focused,

Steve Gould

50 Comments

  1. Jonathan Howard on August 23, 2022 at 7:46 pm

    Pump shotguns cost just as much to finish and fit the stock to the receiver. Yet they come in at a much lower price point. So with no moving parts on an over and under, along with the ability to machine the pieces that make up these fine shotguns with incredibly tight tolerances due to modern manufacturing, could Beretta and Benelli both give us nicer wood on shotguns at this price point. As it stands, the wood on the shotguns doesn’t even reach the mah level. Just one man’s opinion on what you get for a $2,000 shotgun. Love your content



  2. Alan T on August 23, 2022 at 7:48 pm

    I would absolutely HATE the auto-safetyโ€ฆ because right when you need the gunโ€ฆ you know the safety is going to be ON. Ughโ€ฆ
    Hopefully there is a way of turning the auto-safety feature off and you can turn the safety on/off when you want to.
    And as far as break action shotguns being tightโ€ฆ I have had some that are SUPER TIGHT when new and and they will eventually break-in.



  3. Nick Allen on August 23, 2022 at 7:50 pm

    Easy to disconnect the auto safety, most people do, the sporting version comes standard with a selective safety.



  4. Stephen Upham III on August 23, 2022 at 7:50 pm

    Thank you for the review! I am in the market for a new O/U so this proved helpful in my decision process. I would be interested in seeing a similar review of the Benelli 828U.



  5. Alton Cahoon on August 23, 2022 at 7:51 pm

    Thanks for the review. I own one in a 30 inch variant and really like it. I’m not fond of the length of pull though, and like you have problems with the stiff safety. All in all I’m happy with my SP1. Thanks for giving the over and unders some run.



  6. Eric Batchelder on August 23, 2022 at 7:52 pm

    I owned 2 Beretta 686’s, a 12 & 20 bores and both had 26" barrels. The guns were very reliable, but never fit me particularly well. As a result my shooting with them was about 18-19 out of 25 on skeet, while I normally shot much better with other my SBE2. I sold the 686’s about a year ago and moved into a much better fitting SxS. This is no inditement on the 686, very much to the contrary…they were (and still are) the best bang for the buck in the SxS world and have an action that can go 10,000 rounds of game loads before needing a tune up. You will not go wrong investing in one of these.



  7. Tim Marshall on August 23, 2022 at 7:52 pm

    I have one,sporter doesnโ€™t have auto safety ,great gun for the money.



  8. Slednecks on August 23, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    Could you review a browning citori cxt



  9. Humayoon Khan Wassan on August 23, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    Plz review Remington cti 105 -II



  10. Daniel Holt on August 23, 2022 at 7:56 pm

    Review a DT11, and Zoli



  11. Cody Mcmahan on August 23, 2022 at 7:56 pm

    Benelli 828u and retay mausi



  12. John Taylor on August 23, 2022 at 7:57 pm

    Do the triggers have enersia reset? Which is faster? Mechanical or enersia?



  13. troy holmes on August 23, 2022 at 7:59 pm

    Please review the Winchester 101 field 12 gauge. Interested in buying the o/u but would love to see you review it 1st.



  14. Engraved Outdoors on August 23, 2022 at 8:00 pm

    Stoeger over and under please



  15. Individual 1 on August 23, 2022 at 8:00 pm

    Weatherby Orion would be a great review!



  16. Eike Peters on August 23, 2022 at 8:02 pm

    My Beretta 686 has no auto-safety. That was weird to watch. But I live in Germany, could be because of that.
    Anyway, great Video!



  17. Jeffrey Locke on August 23, 2022 at 8:02 pm

    Do a review of a Browning 725 Feather with 26 inch barrels. I bought one in 12 gauge weighing just 6 pounds and 7 ounces. Has an aluminum receiver with a steel piece in the breech face and a full width steel hinge pin. Mechanical triggers and more. I use Tru-Lock extended blackened ported stainless steel chokes in improved cylinder and improved modified in mine.



  18. Ethan Wheeler on August 23, 2022 at 8:04 pm

    I love your videos! Keep up the good work! Is there any way that you could do a review on a Browning Citori? Preferably a Feather Lightning.



  19. Hammy H on August 23, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    I just picked up a well used 04 model 20ga sporter , it’s a fantastic walked up game gun and great for some clays too.
    It’ll be getting a good workout this season, way better to carry about than my 12ga Blaser F3.



  20. Mississippi Woodlands Outdoors on August 23, 2022 at 8:09 pm

    Can you do the retay Gordion



  21. Avid Waterfowler on August 23, 2022 at 8:12 pm

    I bought a silver pigeon sporting last year. Itโ€™s in. 20ga with 30โ€ barrels. Because itโ€™s a sporting, it has a big palm swell and nice cast off for me. The sporting comes with optima hp choke system as well. I absolutely love it.



  22. Jesse Collins on August 23, 2022 at 8:13 pm

    Good review, thanks. The auto safety can be changed to manual.



  23. Jeff Welsh on August 23, 2022 at 8:14 pm

    You’ve hit a gold mine my friend! The gun reviews are always informative and entertaining. Being a trap shooter I can’t wait for the continued O/U reviews. Hope to see some high rib/monte carlo dedicated trap reviews. We’re a dedicated and obsessed group of shooters. Thank you TFL for all the hard work, and I wish you guys continued success!



  24. Calembo on August 23, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    Best gun channel out there!



  25. Matt Ritter on August 23, 2022 at 8:20 pm

    I really appreciate these reviews. Good, fair, and consistent for all guns. I’d like to see a CZ O/U or SxS review. 12 or 20. Franchi O/U would be cool too



  26. Luis Castro on August 23, 2022 at 8:20 pm

    I’m just starting to clay shoot, what would you recommend as a starter shot gun. my budget is around $2200.



  27. Rudy Elizondo on August 23, 2022 at 8:20 pm

    I really love my 686 o/u 20 ga shotgun, Iโ€™ve been shooting mine for over 20 years and it works flawlessly. Iโ€™ve shot clays, skeet, and hunted ducks, quail, and doves with it and have gotten really great with it. The best shotgun on the mkt, Iโ€™m 70 years old and went down from my 12 to this 20 and there is no recoil with my Berettas. The new barrels are fantastic – stellium, and back bored longer with the new barrels for smoother recoil. I also have shot fast especially hunting and have had many game dinners. My 20 ga is my go to gun for everything and it was fitted to me perfectly by Brileyโ€™s. Good luck with yours and have fun ๐Ÿคฉ



  28. Jose Sandoval on August 23, 2022 at 8:22 pm

    Thinking of buying a silver pigeon. Trying to decide between a 12 or 20 ga. Would like to be able to take it turkey hunting. Nice review!



  29. Cobraaexpress 17 on August 23, 2022 at 8:22 pm

    Hey I have a suggestion how about a video with what leads you should use when shooting with different choke tubes? I think it will be a great content for the channel! Blessings my friend!



  30. The Poorman on August 23, 2022 at 8:22 pm

    The safety is just something you get used to and is good when teach people gun safety. Itโ€™s light accurate easy to clean and maintain. Iโ€™ve had one for many years , love it. Double barrels donโ€™t get much lighter than this so if Iโ€™m taking my mum shooting or my partner who is under 5foot5 they use the single barrel bolt action 410, everyone loves that gun, so much fun and everyone can shot it all day without getting to tired and start throwing the gun up at clays.



  31. Matt Balomenos on August 23, 2022 at 8:23 pm

    I just love shotguns…



  32. Giacomo Wilson on August 23, 2022 at 8:23 pm

    Would love to see some reviews on the franchi and benelli over unders!



  33. Tim H on August 23, 2022 at 8:23 pm

    Any lefties have experience with the Silver Pigeon field models? It’s at the top of my list, but I have been getting very inconsistent info if it is a neutral comb or not.



  34. Joshua Rowinski on August 23, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    benelli super sport please



  35. Ethan S on August 23, 2022 at 8:25 pm

    You should review the silver pigeon 20/28 gauge o/u itโ€™s very interesting and I would love a review. Great video



  36. Kevin Young on August 23, 2022 at 8:26 pm

    I own a 686 Silver Pigeon Sporting 1 in 12 guage and I love it! If you get a Sporting model the safe stays wherever you select it, no automatic reset back to safe! Thank you for the review Steve, I appreciate your time and content!



  37. Miguel Henriques on August 23, 2022 at 8:30 pm

    Can u do a review on the beretta dt11?๐Ÿ˜



  38. Fru on August 23, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    Great review.



  39. tommy anderson on August 23, 2022 at 8:32 pm

    Love that you plan on doing more with double barrels!



  40. Justin Massey on August 23, 2022 at 8:32 pm

    Can you review the Retay masai Mara 20 or 12. Thank you for all the reviews you take all the work out when looking to get a new shot gun!



  41. Anthony Russomanno on August 23, 2022 at 8:34 pm

    Not a big fan of Beretta you should review the Browning 725 feather



  42. Brian Heikes on August 23, 2022 at 8:34 pm

    Lots of videos on how to deactivate the auto safety.



  43. Joe O on August 23, 2022 at 8:34 pm

    Bought mine in 12 ga. Kicks like a mule. Just added a Falconstrike pad. We’ll see.



  44. Dylan Musgrave on August 23, 2022 at 8:35 pm

    Hope you have a stevens 555e 20 gauge in the works, bought one last year and would be cool to see how you like it



  45. L H on August 23, 2022 at 8:38 pm

    Great video. Would love to see some Browning Cynergy, Citori & 725 over/unders. Also some CZ side by sides would be cool especially the 30โ€ Hammer Classic & the Bobwhite. Hey why not throw in some Winchester 101 over/unders too please.



  46. Ras Yuy on August 23, 2022 at 8:39 pm

    เธซเธ‡เธชเนŒเธŸเน‰เธฒ.



  47. Kurt Hansma on August 23, 2022 at 8:40 pm

    I have a 20 ga. 686 Silver Pigeon sporting model with 30" barrels. Lots of rounds through it with no problem. As others have noted the target guns do not have the automatic safety, but if the gun has one, it can be easily be disconnected. I also have two 687s (a little fancier) that have seen a lot of hunting with no problems. They have the auto safety and I kind of like it in the field, but not on the target range. I have a 682 sporting clays gun with over 70,000 rounds through it and no problems. Berettas just work.

    Berettas can have a stiff safety. I always ask to see all of the ones they have in stock and choose the best one. All of mine are quite smooth. Your’s will smooth out some over time, but if someone is in there disconnecting the auto safety, the can smooth out the safety also.



  48. WhiskeyDivin on August 23, 2022 at 8:42 pm

    Love the reviews dude!



  49. Mike Blast on August 23, 2022 at 8:42 pm

    I have the same gun in 12 gauge. If the safety bothers you, just turn it off when you reload, then you won’t have to worry about it. The sport model has a manual safety. Either way, this is a very comfortable, smooth gun. I prefer it over my wife’s 725 sporter, and it’s pretty close to my Ceasar Guerini Sporter (The main difference is, I prefer the CG’s 30" barrel over the beretta’s 28", this is something to think about when you buy a gun to begin with). Overall, I love my Beretta, which is literally half the price of my CG, and a grand less than the 725 sporter.



  50. C Day on August 23, 2022 at 8:44 pm

    Browning Cynergy