31 Comments

  1. Dennis Koyle on November 21, 2022 at 9:46 pm

    Mine fired once when I operated the decock. I don’t trust it now, but I haven’t been able to get it to do it when I was ready for it.

  2. Camilo Sesto on November 21, 2022 at 9:57 pm

    B S

  3. Redcoat‘s Return on November 21, 2022 at 9:58 pm

    Excellent review! So I subscribed!

  4. Jim Woodward on November 21, 2022 at 9:59 pm

    Did you take the grips off and remove the disconnect? this is asking for trouble.

  5. MG-70 on November 21, 2022 at 9:59 pm

    Fantastic pistol, perhaps the best traditional DA/SA .380acp made, and in the hand feels considerably better, at least for me, than the Model 84, which is thicker. Additionally, the single-stack magazine should give it an edge in reliability, as compared to a double-stack. I would’ve preferred the rounded trigger guard and their older blued finish, but recognize that the epoxy-like finish on the slide is harder wearing and perhaps more water resistant. The CZ83 is a close runner-up, but lacks the decocker and isn’t machined to as high a tolerance as the Beretta (ironically, it fits my grip just fine). Note, the word ambidextrous only has one "i" and is pronounced just like it is spelled. Cheers

  6. Richard Johnson on November 21, 2022 at 10:00 pm

    Thank you for pointing out that these guns are not "just a smaller version of the 92" as so many U-tubers seem to think they are. They might look like one, but that’s about it. I’ve got an 84F and a Tisas Fatih 13 clone. Love ’em. A couple of my favorite guns.

  7. Joseph Esquivel on November 21, 2022 at 10:01 pm

    This was pretty good info. I just got me one this past weekend, mine also is marked with R Guns Carpentersville IL mark on the other side from yours and star FAT 88 on it.

  8. Tomb Raver on November 21, 2022 at 10:06 pm

    Nice job on the generic cat sound effect dude, like really lmao Nice review!

  9. Dave Bowrin on November 21, 2022 at 10:07 pm

    Can’t wait to pick up my 85bb out of lay away.

  10. BrowncoatNerd on November 21, 2022 at 10:07 pm
  11. GunCollector007 on November 21, 2022 at 10:11 pm

    Great gun. Just got one

  12. Jeff Bilbo on November 21, 2022 at 10:14 pm

    Is the frame steel or alloy ?

  13. TRu-Florida 44 on November 21, 2022 at 10:14 pm

    Great vid… great pistol.

  14. B O B on November 21, 2022 at 10:18 pm

    F trigger guard and you have a parkarized finish the b and BB are blued the FS has a decocker

    The finished looked alot different between 85bb and 85f… yours looks better but mine will stand the test if time

  15. Barber Edward scissorhands 916 on November 21, 2022 at 10:18 pm

    My hammer stays down is there a reason why? Even when the magazine is in.

  16. Andrew on November 21, 2022 at 10:18 pm

    That kitty’s got claws

  17. Iamaze621 on November 21, 2022 at 10:19 pm

    The 84B doesn’t have a decocker. That’s a big difference in the models. FYI… nice vid

  18. huckleberry602 on November 21, 2022 at 10:20 pm

    Nice cheetah effect there fellow brown coat.😄👍🏻

  19. Gary Milstead on November 21, 2022 at 10:21 pm

    My same exact gun from Classic was best up☹️

  20. Toolness1 on November 21, 2022 at 10:22 pm

    Nice!

  21. JohnRabe33 on November 21, 2022 at 10:24 pm

    I appreciate all the information. Thanks

  22. Maxx Doberman on November 21, 2022 at 10:26 pm

    The Cheetah 84 is my favorite of all the "cat line" pistols.

  23. Ferpo63 on November 21, 2022 at 10:28 pm

    Great vid. I have the 84 and LOVE it. Very accurate and kind of sexy too. (Don’t get carried away)

  24. Peter Gradilone on November 21, 2022 at 10:28 pm

    Just some clarification. the 85F ships from the factory with a magazine disconnect installed. If you read the directions you can remove it, or re-install it in less than five minutes. I noticed a lot a reviews don’t seem to know about this feature, unfairly criticizing the model. This makes it even a more versatile gun. Most other magazine disconnect firearms don’t give you an option like Beretta does.

  25. Dave Bowrin on November 21, 2022 at 10:32 pm

    It seems like the 80 series pistols are becoming more popular lately. The reps from Berreta were at my range Elite Shooting Sports Manassas va said berreta has made a few upgrades on the new 1’s along with the 90 series pistols. GREAT news for fans of the the brand including new shooters

  26. sunrisesurfbum on November 21, 2022 at 10:32 pm

    I just ordered a new 85FS in black, can’t wait!

  27. lol omg on November 21, 2022 at 10:32 pm

    When you squeezed the trigger ( 12:19 ) it dried fire as if an empty magazine was in. Isn’t the magazine disconnect suppose to prevent this from happening . My 85f does absolutely nothing when mag is not in. .

  28. Burkhold St. Rudderberg on November 21, 2022 at 10:33 pm

    FS= Finger Step. You now have a place to put a finger on the front of the trigger guard. The 85BB had a rounded trigger guard.

  29. Jon McClane on November 21, 2022 at 10:33 pm

    I have been carrying mine a lot lately, great pistol

  30. Mike Goldstein on November 21, 2022 at 10:42 pm

    I also have this pistol.

    It does not like Winchester White box flat nosed FMJs nor Speer Gold Dot JHPs. (Failure to Feed)

    The pistol has no problems with standard round nosed FMJs or Hornady XTP JHPs.

    I contacted Beretta technical support and they concurred that the 85s may not like some of the larger hollow point JHPs.

    Beretta technical support did recommend the XTP JHPs.

    I’m going to try the 16 lb. extra power recoil spring from Wolff to see if it will coax the larger mouth Gold Dot into the chamber.

    I’ll let you know how that turns out.

    I’m editing this a couple of days after the initial post: The 16 lb. spring from Wolff, designated for a Model 86, was too small in diameter. Maybe later versions of the 85 had slimmer guide rods, or the 86s did. But no go for the 85F.

  31. Peter Gradilone on November 21, 2022 at 10:43 pm

    Hi, My first guess (guess, mind you) is that military/police contract firearms shipped without the magazine disconnect. You want the piece to work in case of magazine loss in the field. In 30 years I’ve never had a mag drop free issue, even with recent Beretta magazine replacements. It’s hard to say how the magazine disconnect was first taken off or never installed in the first place. It’s really easy to remove it. The 85f is aesthetically beautiful, and extremely robust. It has a chromium lined barrel, which is usually only seen in automatic weapons. You can also enjoy the exclusivity factor. My friends like to admire it and shoot it, as opposed to my Glock 42. The 85f is a gem that your grandchildren will appreciate.

Leave a Comment