Daniel Defense DDM5V2 308 AR-10 Review

Daniel Defense DDM5V2 308 AR-10 Review

I do some shooting with the Daniel Defense 18” AR10, discuss its reliability, test its accuracy, go over its features and specs, and what I think of it overall.

Video with all the links: http://bit.ly/2FJlVIW

1776 United shirts: (use code 1776Mrgunsngear for 10% off):
http://bit.ly/2rCn5PW

Forged From Freedom Shirts: (code MRGUNS10 for 10% off):
Mr. GunsNGear Collection

www.facebook.com/mrgunsngear

My Amazon store:
https://www.amazon.com/shop/mrgunsngear

https://t.me/Mrgunsngear

https://parler.com/profile/Mrgunsngear

Instagram.com/seniorgunsngear

www.twitter.com/mrgunsngear

Music by Machinima & Epidemic Sound

Disclaimer: These videos are strictly for educational and entertainment purposes only. Imitation or the use of anything demonstrated in my videos is done AT YOUR OWN RISK. All work on firearms should be carried out by a licensed individual and all state and federal rules apply to such. We (including YouTube) will not be held liable for any injury to yourself or damage to your firearms resulting from attempting anything shown in any our videos. I do not endorse any specific product and this video is not an attempt  to sell you a good or service. I am not a gun shop and DO NOT sell or deal in Firearms. Such a practice is heavily regulated and subject to applicable laws. I DO NOT sell parts, magazines, or firearms. These videos are free to watch and if anyone attempts to charge for this video notify us immediately. By viewing or flagging this video you are acknowledging the above.

Fair Use: In the rare instance I include someone else’s footage it is covered in Fair Use for Documentary and Educational purposes with intention of driving commentary and allowing freedom of speech.

50 Comments

  1. Joseph Raigosa on November 20, 2022 at 9:38 pm

    What bipod are you running here?

  2. Douglas Milburn on November 20, 2022 at 9:38 pm

    Is the charging handle as gritty and nasty feeling as the one that comes with their 556 rifles? Have a ddm4v7s. Love it with no major complaints and ot grows on me every day. But wow was that charging handle trash lol

  3. Just a Regular Guy on November 20, 2022 at 9:38 pm

    So what do you prefer the armalite pattern (ar10) or the dpms pattern (LR-308) large AR rifles i like the dpms since theres more that ive seen around and there everywhere

  4. Ken Smith on November 20, 2022 at 9:40 pm

    This is a great 308, it fires anything you throw at it. it is expensive but worth the price. Don’t be cheap on this. Shoots better than a POF and cycles ammo better. Love this gun.

  5. Russ Ream on November 20, 2022 at 9:41 pm

    Looks good

  6. Shawn Knox on November 20, 2022 at 9:43 pm

    Should’ve done your groups on those geese. Lol

  7. arborist460 on November 20, 2022 at 9:45 pm

    Just got one unfired for 22 out the door…shoulder seems a tad sore today for some reason…gonna try some 130gr@3000

  8. Justin Gulbronson on November 20, 2022 at 9:45 pm

    How does the recoil of an AR-10 compare to something like a 12 gauge or a 30-06 Remington 700? (Using what I know as a frame of reference). Local shop has some deals left over from stuff that panic buyers didn’t pick up.

  9. Ryan Wooden on November 20, 2022 at 9:47 pm

    It’s very accurate. I’m craving to get one.

  10. EAS B Reid on November 20, 2022 at 9:47 pm

    Can we get an update of "if I could only keep 5 of my guns" episode

  11. matthew schaffer on November 20, 2022 at 9:47 pm

    I seen one for 2,500$ in Minnesota a few days ago

  12. AFreeThinkingDAWG09 on November 20, 2022 at 9:49 pm

    There’s no reason why DD charges 3k+ for a 308 when their 556 are 1500 hundred. They’re not double the material so why gouge us? 2k maybe, and I have 3 DD already. They are incredible rifles. But not worth the3k price tag IMO

  13. Ernesto Powers on November 20, 2022 at 9:49 pm

    All ar10s seem to be picky with ammo. Had good luck with the 168gr amax. But been trying to find a soft point hunting round that shoots. No luck so far. Seems like less money you spend the more accuracy you get. Lmt, dd, lwrc all seem to shoot over moa and all the fan boys like to say they are military accurate. It’s a battle rifle. People in battle don’t need to hit the target I guess.

  14. Christoph Zmiev on November 20, 2022 at 9:49 pm

    Where can I purchase an extended clip for this rifle and the prop hand grip or firing stand?

  15. Julian Urschalitz on November 20, 2022 at 9:50 pm

    I bought my DD5V1 almost a year ago. 600 rounds with no issues. Shooting sub MOA all day with Vortex DiamondbackHP and Federal XM80. Put a Strike Industries KingComp on it and cut the recoil by half.

  16. Karl Bach on November 20, 2022 at 9:52 pm

    You have info on this thing I cant find anywhere else and I am so grateful

  17. BringItHard on November 20, 2022 at 9:54 pm

    Here in CA owning that will lead to you assaulting someone, some how… we need freedom lovers to invade the state not run from it ! please! Im being eating by blue hair’ed people aahhhh

  18. Lux Balthazar on November 20, 2022 at 9:54 pm

    Just traded for one nib in Va. Gave a sw1911, hk45ct, mossberg shockwave, and a voodoo cut g17 slide for it. No regrets.

  19. darrin ray on November 20, 2022 at 9:55 pm

    Wow… Not impressed with the accuracy… Surprising.

  20. Jay Ross on November 20, 2022 at 9:55 pm

    Great video, a lot of useful info. I have been doing some research the last couple days and I am having a hard time figuring out which version is better. You would think the later versions would be better as a natural manufacturing process but in this case, it does not seem so. One thing off top, it looks like they downgraded the trigger in V3-V5, not really sure if their triggers are so bad but I would feel safe to say I’d prefer to go with the Geissele. The BCG also looks like it has a different coating, though not really educated enough to distinguish which is better. One online store has the older model V1, and a couple others have the V3 +. I would definitely like to pick this up but having some trouble figuring out which version to go with. Any insight would greatly be appreciated. Thanks.

  21. Jared Daniel on November 20, 2022 at 9:58 pm

    The DD5V5 is a tack driver. I know this was a review of the 308win but the new 20” 6.5 creedmoor from Daniel Defense is amazing. I shot multiple factory loads and as long as you stay above 130gr it gives me consistent 1/2” groups. I shot 100 rounds right out of the box with no malfunctions and no point of impact shift.

  22. 808 on November 20, 2022 at 10:00 pm

    Weird. I’m subscribed, but said I wasn’t. Re subscribed ☺

  23. Brian Schaible on November 20, 2022 at 10:02 pm

    If you like standing in line for Daniel Defense and shipping your rifle 2-3 times over six months just to get it cycling properly. They couldn’t figure our that it was a problem with the buffer spring. I figured it out myself. Aftermarket buffer spring and it runs fine. And I only use the DD magazines. Magpul mags suck. I don’t feel like I made a good purchase. The rifle should have been cherry out of the box.

  24. Manitou on November 20, 2022 at 10:04 pm

    sorry but 3k for that is a bit of a joke. Just not sure who is laughing

    1200 more than a PWS? 400 less than a PredatOBR? Huh? Really hoping that price is nowhere near street price. Although could be like them trying to sell the Delta 5 for incredibly optimistic amounts, with local dealers now offering them over half off. Shrug

    Im sure its a great rifle, their stuff pretty much always is, but the competition in that price bracket is far too stiff for them imo

  25. Shimmerscale on November 20, 2022 at 10:07 pm

    I have both DDM5V2 and M4A1 from DD, and there were 2 things I didn’t like in M5

    1. Charging handle. That ball locking system is hard to use. However I put some teflon grease on the ball pin in pair with Browning oil and it works fine. However i"m not impressed. If i could I would interchange it with BCM gunfighter extended charging handle.
    2. I have had a problem with gas key, as it came loose however DD was very fast to respond and helped me with it.
    No other problems with it, and I have it since 2017.

    There was one thing I have changed in it, and it was a Flashhider. I have chaged it to Precision Armament M4-72 Severe Duty Muzzle Brake. And gosh what a difference in recoil. It’s almost as smooth as M4a1 without a break on.

  26. Overkill Bliss on November 20, 2022 at 10:08 pm

    Hmm…I paid $1800 for mine DD5V2 with the green finish. No rebate.

  27. William Graham on November 20, 2022 at 10:08 pm

    What optic are you running?

  28. MilitantDOAR Achilles on November 20, 2022 at 10:10 pm

    great rifle… i would NOT want to get hit by a 308 period.

  29. Patrick Wilson on November 20, 2022 at 10:12 pm

    My first 15 rounds I had 9 failure to cycle and 2 failure to feeds. I was shooting American Eagle 13 of those rounds and Mag Tech for two. Super disappointed and sending it back. Hopefully DD can fix it. For the amount the rifle cost, I should be able to feed it anything after pulling it out of a damn swamp.

  30. Billy Bathgate on November 20, 2022 at 10:13 pm

    Excellent review. Just picked 2 DD up.

  31. EPD on November 20, 2022 at 10:13 pm

    I just got mine in. The mag release button broke on my 2nd clip at the range (13 shots fired). Sent it back just got a phone call they said mag over-inserted? I didn’t enjoy the feeling I got from the conversation. Almost that big company it’s your fault kinda thing. I made sure to tell the guy that I also owned 2 other rifles of theirs and had never had a problem putting the mags in them lol?! When you buy a "Lamborghini" from a company a sorry this happened Mr. Davis would have been a better approach I feel. I am a little let down to be honest. I will update when I get it back and take it to the range….

  32. chad haire on November 20, 2022 at 10:15 pm

    Why are you calling an extractor an ejector? And TWO ejectors on top of that?

  33. G5 on November 20, 2022 at 10:21 pm

    2:26 you can see bolt bounce. No biggie in semi auto.

  34. clandfaf on November 20, 2022 at 10:22 pm

    Hey Brother one of your youtube subs here. I’m looking at picking up a built Sabre Defense AR with a chrome lined barrel. Finding vids on these rifles are few and far between. You have and knowledge on these rifles?

  35. Cole on November 20, 2022 at 10:24 pm

    2019 October picked one up for $1800 brand new in the box

  36. Michael Fuentes on November 20, 2022 at 10:25 pm

    3k? Hmmm that’s LMT money. I’d prefer proven track record of the MWS at that price range

  37. Dan The Man 247 on November 20, 2022 at 10:25 pm

    Great review on a beautiful rifle…

  38. Gregory Hamilton on November 20, 2022 at 10:25 pm

    When will they do ambi controls on there 556?🤯🔫💣

  39. jamie oleary on November 20, 2022 at 10:26 pm

    i see a lot of bolt bounce

  40. PUBLICnoose on November 20, 2022 at 10:27 pm

    Never noticed your unc-c hat

  41. gearsloverguy1 on November 20, 2022 at 10:27 pm

    After all that gun yappin u made up for with some good quality shooting.. love it!!

  42. bronzeguy on November 20, 2022 at 10:29 pm

    4:40 Yeah, I hate it when my mag is too big and doesn’t fit. Adjusting so it does fit certainly helps. 😂

  43. Nathan on November 20, 2022 at 10:29 pm

    I’m curious the gun is a 7.62×51 NATO and you’re using a 308 round. I know a 7.62×51 can run a 308 but doesn’t it run a little hot? Do you have any concerns there? Maybe a reason for the malfunctions as well?

  44. Robert Goodrich on November 20, 2022 at 10:30 pm

    How come nobody bitches about the price of this DI gun? It is just a couple hundred shy of a SCAR 17, which is the constant recipient of price crying in the net. For you he little bit difference in price I have a piston gun. As I run a SureFure 7.62 suppressor, the piston keeps the SCAR nice and clean.

  45. James Martineau on November 20, 2022 at 10:30 pm

    Brotherman i want a DD AR V5 can you do a video on that it is the newest gun yes

  46. Tyler White on November 20, 2022 at 10:34 pm

    Lol you really do mean let the dogs take a look at it. 😂

  47. Christoph Zmiev on November 20, 2022 at 10:35 pm

    Please help me purchase accessories for this rifle i i just purchased it last week. Can you list the name of a decent but not as costly as the rifle items i can purchase that wont break the bank

  48. Lucas on November 20, 2022 at 10:36 pm

    Good video. Thank you for posting.

  49. El Capitan GC on November 20, 2022 at 10:37 pm

    I’m a big fan off DD but wondering what you think of the Falkor Alpha 308?

  50. Dam Main on November 20, 2022 at 10:38 pm

    I heard straight from DD themselves that the DD5V1 and DD5V2 are discontinued. I emailed them and asked. Anyone know why?

Leave a Comment