Leupold VX6 1-6×24 Multigun Scope Full Review

Leupold VX6 1-6×24 Multigun Scope Full Review

In this full review of the 1-6 Leupold Multigun scope we discuss the pros and cons, price, glass, durability, competitive options, and every thing you will need to know about this high quality optic.

DONATE ONLINE


Here is a link to donate to a local shelter in Ames Iowa that could use your support

DONATE ONLINE


My Patreon Account
https://www.patreon.com/user?u=5593286
https://www.instagram.com/honestoutlawreviews/
#best

50 Comments

  1. Garry Hall on November 17, 2022 at 9:39 pm

    Purchased this same scope, and after shooting it twice, the illumination failed.  Called Leupold and they said to send it in for repair. What they failed to tell me, was that it takes 60-90 days for repair.  Ended up taking about 80 days.  Even though it does have good glass, I cannot recommend it.

  2. The Downtrodden on November 17, 2022 at 9:40 pm

    i was looking at the leupold vx hog 1-4 http://www.primaryarms.com/114933/p/114933/ primary has it for $198 was looking to use it for 100 – 200 yards do you think its enough also for my sig 716 i was looking at getting one of sigs new scopes i have seen a few on my friends who work for sig would you go 2-12 40mm or 3-18 44mm http://www.sigoptics.com/product/tango6/ the 1-6 is really really nice should i skip the the 200 dollar leupold and just drop the 800 on the 1-6 sig?

  3. Michael H on November 17, 2022 at 9:41 pm

    You can’t buy something on eBay used then blame the company. That’s what eBay is for. Unloading broken stuff. Also the turrets are the main thing we need to see in a review. Especially because the VXR turrets kinda stink. Good review otherwise!

  4. ADHL94 on November 17, 2022 at 9:41 pm

    I’m having such a hard time finding one of these, but it’s the best bang for your buck. Looking at the VX5 HD but this would be cheaper

  5. Fook-Jo By-Den on November 17, 2022 at 9:44 pm

    I’m curious about Shepard scopes rugged 1-8x/phantom 1-6x stack up to Trijicion & primary arms platinum line.

  6. convex on November 17, 2022 at 9:45 pm

    the acss reticle on the scope i just stated. has wind holds which you can also use for someone running. it also has designated holds for someone running at 100yds. has a feature where you can range of the height of someone. and range with the bdc like on a ACOG

  7. Ikes comments on November 17, 2022 at 9:45 pm

    With all the problems you experience with the Leupold VX 1-6 why would anyone pay $1,600 for this scope?

  8. convex on November 17, 2022 at 9:46 pm

    there is a link that details a reticle almost exactly like the 1-8x

  9. The Black Cock on November 17, 2022 at 9:47 pm

    I have a 1-4 from vortex they really let me down the dot no longer works

  10. LeeThomp2 on November 17, 2022 at 9:48 pm

    Don’t buy a high dollar scope from ebay

  11. James Testorff on November 17, 2022 at 9:49 pm

    and Leopold is a great company they should and probably will fix the illumination problem

  12. Bumptech on November 17, 2022 at 9:50 pm

    You should look into the IOR veldada 1-10 FFP

  13. SkinnySkinch on November 17, 2022 at 9:50 pm

    Did Leupold ever fix it? Also do you still have or did you end up selling it?

  14. Michael Mignone on November 17, 2022 at 9:51 pm

    The vx6 1-6 is def my fav scope out of anything I own. Shouldve bought a few when they were on sale when they discontinued them to launch the HD ones

  15. will B on November 17, 2022 at 9:51 pm

    ant expierience with zeiss v6 1-6….or steiner 1-4???

  16. Corey Hayes on November 17, 2022 at 9:56 pm

    For $800 on eBay, I assume the scope was used. Might that have had anything to do with the function of the illuminated reticle? Just a thought. I just ordered one today from Natchez (close out prices) so I hope your experience is an exception.

  17. Frank Butta on November 17, 2022 at 9:58 pm

    I bought this scope but without the illumination. From what you’ve reported, I’m glad I did! The scope gathers a ton of light, and I can see the reticle in some pretty low light. The distortion disappears when I turn the magnification up to 1.2-ish.

  18. David Trumpy on November 17, 2022 at 9:59 pm

    I’m not happy to hear about the issues. was thinking this was gonna be my choice as I’ve been wanting the razor HD 1-6 but it is SO heavy. leupold should just switch to a dial illumination…this button stuff seems to be a FAIL

  19. Der Freund deiner Freundin Der Fraind deiner Oiten on November 17, 2022 at 10:00 pm

    how is the eybox forgiveness compared to the acupoint?

  20. el pistola on November 17, 2022 at 10:03 pm

    I recently bought a BCM recce16 ,and currently have an aimpoint PRO on it ,but have been wanting a short to medium range variable power scope ,but don’t have the budget right now for an expensive scope, been looking at vortex and primary arms but I like the ACSS reticle better so I’m probably going with that for now ,gets excellent reviews too, it comes in 1-6 for $269 and 1-8 for $369

  21. Mike on November 17, 2022 at 10:03 pm

    considering the accupoint 1×6 myself but am concerned about the illumination brightness if you choose a reticle other than the triangle, which i hate. still thinking about it though.

  22. Shadow on November 17, 2022 at 10:04 pm

    Would you look into the Vortex Razor Gen II 1-6 with JM BDC ofc? Or is that a well enough established for you to not look at?
    Also maybe a Sig if you like one of their reticle offerings.

  23. Jinx Cole on November 17, 2022 at 10:04 pm

    Woot, I’m number 10,000.

  24. el pistola on November 17, 2022 at 10:06 pm

    some day I’ll drop a G note on a scope and get a1-6 swfa or a U.S.O

  25. Frank M on November 17, 2022 at 10:06 pm

    Great video! I would love to see what you think of the Eotech Vudu 1X6 and Primary Arms Platinum 1X8. Keep up the awesome videos.

  26. Terry McCann on November 17, 2022 at 10:07 pm

    I just picked up a Mark 6 1-6×20 FFP with the CRM-W 5.56 reticle. It’s excellent. A lot more expensive, but I think it’s worth it! The push button illumination on some of leupolds optics are slow and inefficient to quickly change, probably not a big deal as it’s not designed for as “duty” scope. The Mark 6 is a dial illumination which is much better in my opinion. The Mark 6 is built like a tank too without a ton of weight. It’s also an actually true 1x! You should really try one out!!

  27. jimmy gammons on November 17, 2022 at 10:08 pm

    Vortex strike eagle 1-6/1-8.

  28. Pew Meister on November 17, 2022 at 10:08 pm

    Great video man. I’m stuck between this scope, an Accupower 1-4, and an accupoint 1-6.

  29. James Franco on November 17, 2022 at 10:09 pm

    "Loop hold" you know how I know? Because I live in Beaverton and my cousin works there.

  30. djsity on November 17, 2022 at 10:11 pm

    I actually had the same scope and also had issues with the illumination. It would flicker on/off during recoil sometimes on my 5.56 AR. Besides that I loved it because unlike a lot of the low power variable scopes, the illumination was truly daylight bright. Hopefully they’ll get these issues worked out. Thanks for the review…

  31. Dangerous Freedom on November 17, 2022 at 10:12 pm

    How’s it holding up?

  32. hold 'er Newt, shes rearin' ? on November 17, 2022 at 10:14 pm

    ive had my Primary Arms 1-8x ACSS sfp model for 2 yrs and 5,000 rds now and LOVE it !
    its been 100% trouble free and excellent in use. it does everything ive asked of it and does it well.
    from CQB on 1x with illumination on high, functioning as a red dot, to running and gunning on 3x or 4x, to firing sub 1/16 MOA groups at 25 yds and sub 3/8 MOA groups at 100 yds to precision and rapid shots out to 550 yds, it has flat out gotten it done and surprised me with its competence in all respects.

    mainly out of curiosity, i just bought the PA platinum 1-8x ACSS ffp model and have done a back to back comparison.

    the platinum is awesome! a really, really good scope with really, really good glass, very good turrets, the awesome ACSS ffp reticle and truly outstanding illumination.
    its HEAVY however at 26.45 oz as per the specs in the manual.
    it doesnt feel that heavy though.
    its also about 1/2" longer than the sfp model which weighs about 17 oz.

    but as great as the platinum is, instead of being totally blown away with its glass clarity and overall quality, i must confess, it really just made me more impressed with my $389 sfp model!

    the platinum glass is better, but by a very small margin, about 3-5% or so.
    the sfp model just has really, really good, clear glass !
    the platinums glass is just a tad clearer, crisper, cleaner, sharper, more vivid. but its actually not a kick in the pants difference.its quite hard to discern especially inside 200 yds or so.
    it really doesnt become very noticeable until about 600 yds and further.
    its there, and its obvious if you swap back and forth, but its not a huge difference.
    the bottom line is the sfp glass is plenty good enough!

    the platinums sight picture is a bit larger of course thanks to its 34 mm tube, a bit sharper focused and clearer but the main noticeable difference is how flat the image is. theres none of the very slight spherical abberation (fisheye) noticeable with the sfp model.
    both have great edge to edge clarity but the platinum edges out the win there too.

    both have excellent, true color rendition and very good contrast.
    and the platinum is the closest to true 1x that ive ever seen. its practically dead on 1x/0 mag.
    the sfp model is close enough to true 1x to easily perform just as well in most respects however.
    both allow rapid and precise 2 eyes open CQB shooting.
    the platinum is slightly faster, slightly easier, slightly better.

    the sfp has a slightly larger FOV at all mag settings, and it has a slightly better, more accomodating eye box imo.
    both are very good from 1x to 6x but get tight above 6x with the platinum seeming slightly less forgiving.
    both are easy to adapt to however.
    and both are perfectly serviceable.

    the platinum does seem to have less parallax at 1x. in fact it seems to have none while the sfp model has some.

    eye relief is plenty on both but the platinums huge 4"+ wins out. it almost seems too much though having been so accustomed to my sfp with about 3.25" on average.

    the platinum easily wins out the illumination battle. its superb and easily daylight bright. the off positions between settings are excellent as is the 2 night vision settings.

    the sfp illumination is very good but does get overpowered in direct sunlight.
    both have excellent etched reticles though and operate just fine without illumination.

    overall BOTH are EXCELLENT and worthy of anyones consideration.
    if you need or want ffp or need or want the absolute best glass possible or target turrets, go platinum.

    but if your weight conscience or on a budget, the less expensive sfp model will do everything you could possibly ask of a 1-8x optic and does it very, very well.
    and it does it for 1/3rd the cost of the platinum!

    if you want my recommendation, buy either one, or BOTH like i did !
    i dont think.you can find a better 1-8x than either one.
    they are easily the most capable, most versatile and most effective combat oriented LPVOs in the industry imo.

    and you just cant go wrong with either one !

  33. sixgunsound on November 17, 2022 at 10:14 pm

    I bought a brand new Leupold slug gun scope that didn’t work (clicks were 3/4”@50 yards). It was a couple days before gun season so they overnighted me a new one. Well, the first one was better. The second one straight up wouldn’t hold zero. I sent them both back. They tested both on a 308 bolt gun, said there fine, and sent BOTH back with the test targets. Because a 308 has similar recoil to a 12 gauge. Anyway I was stuck with them so I sold them. Felt bad, but maybe they’d work with someone else. At first they were going to swap me for a handgun scope which would’ve been perfect. Then they said no. So they lost me. And another thing. I own one of the “heavy hitter” firearms instruction companies in my area. Students love to ask about gear, and I love to share my experiences with manufacturers, good or bad. People have a hard time swallowing that Leupold can’t make a decent scope. I tell them I had a hard time firing over 20 boxes of hornady sst sabot slugs through a scope that would track or hold. Too bad.

  34. Jonny Yuma on November 17, 2022 at 10:15 pm

    If illumination isn’t super important try the Nikon M223 1.5-6. The glass is awesome. I grabbed one on eBay for around $300. They do have an illuminated version but I haven’t tried that one. Thanks for all your reviews.

  35. Chris Davis on November 17, 2022 at 10:16 pm

    Good and fair review. I have that scope and the illumination has not given my any problems in 1k rounds or so on a 5.56 so I’m wondering if they are having QC issues with these. Mine has even been dropped and knocked off my desk while attached to the upper by my son. I agree that the glass seems a bit better than the Trijicon and the FOV is good. I do not like how the rubber gaskets under the turret caps are easy to lose if you are not paying attention. The motion sensor has worked perfectly so far but I wonder if that or a bad connection in the power/brightness button is not what is going on the blink (so to speak) for those of you who have had problems. And my chances of hitting anything at 800 yards with this scope or a 5.56 carbine are close to zero, hash mark or not.

  36. Houdinii1212 on November 17, 2022 at 10:20 pm

    was lookin into this scope considering its price 850-1000 ish vs the tr25 1100-1300but the issues with the button concerned me. let us know what the turnaround time for warranty is.

  37. Raymond Kuk on November 17, 2022 at 10:21 pm

    Is the reticle daylight bright?

  38. Red pilled patriot on November 17, 2022 at 10:21 pm

    If your speaking in low light terms and you bought that knowing it’s going to be used often in low light situations than the crapped out illuminated reticle would actually definitely be a deal breaker… I love my Trijicon accupower 1-4..

  39. Ikes comments on November 17, 2022 at 10:21 pm

    Thank you . Great review. I was going to buy this scope. Not now after listening to you video.

  40. stunts22 on November 17, 2022 at 10:25 pm

    In your original review u said the illumination flickered , are you sure it wasnt the leveling feature? If turned on it will blink the reticle is you cant the rifle more than 15 degrees off center . Its top help you know your truly level when shooting at distance. I didnt know this at first and thought the same but once I turned that feature off it works perfect . I have 2 of these in both available reticles and I do like the firedot better but like both . The firedot I have found to be daylight bright 98% of the time unless it’s super bright out but even then it’s ok. I have alot of glass but I think for the $950 price you can find this and comes with scope caps and a throw lever is a good value , glass is super clear . Up there with my night force , trijicon, Swarovski

  41. STEPHEN CHRISTIAN on November 17, 2022 at 10:25 pm

    u almost lost me at 40 seconds when you said leupold was ‘pretty’ good? THE BEST THEeeEE BEST IVE HAD 7 DIFFERENT SCOPES, FOLKS JUST GET A LEUPOLD PAY THE $$ & REALLY LIVE GO TO OPTICS WORLD & GET THE 6 VX, warranty, massive military testing, glass amazing ,clarity, it has it ALL

  42. Bumptech on November 17, 2022 at 10:26 pm

    I own the Ior recon and it’s a very durable optic

  43. James Testorff on November 17, 2022 at 10:27 pm

    so this scope would be great on my remington 700 .300 ultra mag?

  44. Destro on November 17, 2022 at 10:27 pm

    I’d say try the Primary Arms 1-8x ACSS SFP.

  45. Shadow on November 17, 2022 at 10:28 pm

    Just found possibly a cheap option for a 1-6x. It’s a Russian 1.2-6x with stupid click adjustment values but it has a simple reticle. Scope: http://kalinkaoptics.com/rifle-scopes/standard/variable/pv-1-2-6×24-pilade-w-focus-sfp-illuminated-ld-reticle.html

  46. anthony Landino on November 17, 2022 at 10:29 pm

    It’s not "Leo…Pold". It’s "Lew…Pold".

  47. Squib308 on November 17, 2022 at 10:31 pm

    excellent footage and content. much appreciate your perspective especially since you base it on experience! please keep making videos. thx bro.

  48. lakerlifter on November 17, 2022 at 10:34 pm

    Midway had them (maybe still does?) for $805 this past week. I just got mine delivered today, with the BDC Firedot reticle (it’s a green dot). I was most nervous about the illumination. It’s a hit or miss based on reviews I’ve seen, more on the miss side. But mine as I checked it after putting in the battery is great! – A huge relief. Much better than the red dot illumination on the 1.25-4x VX-R I just replaced.

  49. john L on November 17, 2022 at 10:34 pm

    So you say you bought a used scope for half price and then you’re surprised that you’re having problems with it I guess you get what you pay for and you’re going to put the company down and say it didn’t work out the box but you didn’t get it out of the Box you bought it on eBay.

  50. Jason Fox on November 17, 2022 at 10:34 pm

    I have all Vortex optics Strikefire 1, Sparc 2, Viper 6-24x and one you should look at Strike eagle 1-6x

Leave a Comment