"NEW Smith & Wesson M29 44 Magnum Co2 BB Revolver "Full Review" by Airgun Detectives

"NEW Smith & Wesson M29 44 Magnum Co2 BB Revolver "Full Review" by Airgun Detectives

Our “Co2 Summer” continues..This is a full and complete review of “NEW” Smith & Wesson Model 29 Co2 steel BB Revolver. This is the replica model of the famous 44 Magnum featured in the Dirty Harry movies. This replica has an 8″ barrel as opposed to the 6 1/2″ version promoted in the films. This model is licensed and produced by Umarex. We will show you the performance and let you decide if it will, “Make your Day!”
#staytunedforairgundetectives​​
“NEW” AGD Hats https://airgundetectives.com/product-category/hats-2/
Airgun Detectives https://airgundetectives.com/
Gen-2 Bipod Kit https://airgundetectives.com/product/gen-2-side-mounted-bi-pod-kit/
AGD T-Shirts https://airgundetectives.com/product-…
Firearm-Guard discount code “airgun” https://www.firearmguards.com/​​

(As an Amazon Associate AGD earn a small commission from qualifying purchases which helps support the channel, and cost you nothing, Thank You!)
Umarex 5.1 gr BB https://amzn.to/3rsbkHs
Umarex Co2 https://amzn.to/2W6D3ln
H&N Match Pellets https://amzn.to/3xUOU49
Lyman Trigger Gage https://amzn.to/3zxmzlP
Lyman Shooting Bag https://amzn.to/2TLJt8B
Lyman Match Bag and Jack https://amzn.to/3xuDGCO
Splatterburst Targetshttps://amzn.to/3riDCnJ

DISCLAIMER: This video is meant for educational & documentary purposes only. All work on airguns and airgun accessories should be carried out by a proficient licensed professional. Airgun Detectives Channel nor YouTube will be held liable for any injury or damage resulting from attempting to duplicate anything shown in this video. Airgun Detectives Channel is not a store. We do not sell airguns, airgun parts, or airgun equipment directly from this viewing channel. By viewing this video, you are acknowledging the contents of this disclaimer.

50 Comments

  1. Gary Smith on November 2, 2021 at 9:23 pm

    I’ve had the umarex Smith and wesson model 586 with the 8 inch barrel for years and been waiting for the model 29 all that time.



  2. Derick Page on November 2, 2021 at 9:24 pm

    Great gun great review, might have to add this to my collection if only for the diisplay case, very close copy. Takes me back to happier times in the UK before they banned guns in the late 90,s. Happy times with my 629 6inch smashing skittles and metal plates 👍🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, Best wishes from England, thank you for these videos.



  3. Bror Jordas on November 2, 2021 at 9:24 pm

    A truly decent looking airgun revolver. Performed way good.
    And yes – Dirty Harry is way familiar from movies watched as a kid.



  4. Luis Ferreira on November 2, 2021 at 9:26 pm

    Brilliant review, very nice gun will definitely add one to my collection 😁👍👍👍



  5. Astronaut Ninja on November 2, 2021 at 9:27 pm

    Very nice! My favorite gun of all time. Even before Clint’s movie. Black Lives Matter! ✊🏼



  6. Jose Glenn on November 2, 2021 at 9:27 pm

    Hi JC. I normaly stay away from Revolvers I have a Vigilante with a Custom 8 in. Barrel
    pushing 540 fps with RWS Hypermax Pellets. but man that M29 has the Power i’ve also noticed that the Umarex guns put out more co2. so I would’nt be Surprized if it
    Pushes past 550 fps. with the Hypermax Pellets.



  7. Michael Rosenfeld on November 2, 2021 at 9:28 pm

    See that Pyramid has pulled the 29 , Glock 17 pellet, and M3 grease gun from its new product announcements. Wonder if that means we won’t see them in. 2021 or at all



  8. Frankieboyguitar on November 2, 2021 at 9:29 pm

    I know what you’re thinking – have I watched this review six times or only five?? Ha – love it!



  9. Teutonic424 on November 2, 2021 at 9:29 pm

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE UMAREX……..DO A BROWNING HI POWER blow back……..PLEEEEEEEASE !!



  10. Richard Johnson on November 2, 2021 at 9:29 pm

    Good review. I’m a "Smith and Wesson guy." I don’t know how many (The real things) I’ve owned over the years but it’s been a bunch of them. If they made one of these with a 4" barrel, I’d order it today. I’ve never cared for any barrel longer than 5" and prefer them in the 4" range. Heck. I might make an exception for this one.



  11. JarppaGuru on November 2, 2021 at 9:30 pm

    4:36 and they are same goes winchester. they could say it. i would buy colt saa shells for winchester too LOL becoz 10x pack was out LOL. bad business. well i have anyway shell but 6x pack propably cost more LOL LOL
    i have peacemaker and winchester both shells look same with same stamp so they are same. havent try yet 99.9% they same. they could add it description LOL



  12. Karl Sarpolis on November 2, 2021 at 9:31 pm

    Hello, Can you tell me where to buy one of these in .177 caliber? I just purchased one through eBay an did arrive but in the 6 mm size. I checked with Umarex, and they said they do not know when it will be available in the .177 caliber. I want to buy one in .177 so I can use the cartridges from my other Umarex air guns.



  13. Ed Musick on November 2, 2021 at 9:31 pm

    Hi JC, I’m lucky enough to own the real M29 and really like this replica. Can I use pellets in the shells that come with the gun or do I need to buy extra ones for pellets? And if so can you recommend which ones? Great video and review as usual!



  14. C47inBurma on November 2, 2021 at 9:31 pm

    Right now on Umarex Germany website under products they sell the M29 3", 6 1/2" & 8 3/8" barreled version. Umarex also has the Classic 5" & 6.5" Bull barrel version. My question to Umarex is why aren’t these available here in the U.S. market? By the way how about a 4.75 Colt single action. If you can make the "Ace" version, a 4.75 is possible. Get off your duff Umarex (U.S. & Germany).



  15. Ben Van Wade on November 2, 2021 at 9:32 pm

    Hi J.C I have been waiting for one of these what a beautiful revolver I all will wait until the pellet version comes out add it to my Dan Weston, hope all it well your way 👌



  16. JarppaGuru on November 2, 2021 at 9:32 pm

    7:26 what fps after 30 shot. air tank get empty. averige is lower.



  17. nostalgiatrip1 on November 2, 2021 at 9:34 pm

    Still upset the US is not get the 6 1/2 barrel.



  18. Matthew Whiting on November 2, 2021 at 9:35 pm

    ACAB



  19. Jakub Grochowski on November 2, 2021 at 9:37 pm

    Hi. I’m looking for an airgun revolver and I found that I like two models. First one is Smith & Wesson 629 Classic 4,5 mm 6,5 inch barrel and second one is Dan Wesson 715 6 inch barrel shooting diabolo pellets. I know that you have not reviewed S&W 629 but M29 is from the same line and it is probably similar in quality. Could you tell me which one would you choose? I`m looking for the realest experience of real firearm so revolver should be rigid and sturdy. Is the round magazine loose, as in the Umarex Colt Python (in this revolver the magazine behaves like a rattle) or something isn’t crackling? Dan Wesson has rifled barrel unfortunately not at the full length but also S&W is a bit heavier which I like. How is the barrel attached to the rest of the body? Are they made of stainless steel and I don’t have to worry that they will rust from just lying in the box? I know that there are a lot of questions but I would be very pleased If you could respond to me. Thanks.



  20. Morris Zachrisson on November 2, 2021 at 9:38 pm

    It’s a Travis gun, not Dirty Harry.
    But what I wonder is is the right grip removable like the left one? Can you remove it without breaking it? I am just planning to modify original vintage wood grips for it.



  21. Derick Page on November 2, 2021 at 9:40 pm

    If Umarex are making replicas of classics, perhaps Crocketts Smith & Wesson 645 from Miami Vice days 👍



  22. Ken Fan on November 2, 2021 at 9:41 pm

    Hey JC, as always another excellent video.

    I’ve been watching your videos for a little over a year with my kids. You’re one of our favorite channels.

    I’d like to make a request.

    Add a public service announcement to your videos warning people that if they go out with an airgun they should be very careful because these easily look like the real thing.

    Every so often I hear about some kid getting killed by an officer because the officer mistook the kid’s toy gun for the real thing. It breaks my heart when I hear about something like that cause I have little kids too.

    In all my years pesting, I’ve had cops called on me twice.

    Luckily, my first time I had been following the law and I was on my own property ratting. I even made sure that I was shooting from an elevated position towards the ground, I had put out food bait in a specific area that was away from possible pedestrian traffic, and I had informed both some of my neighbors and the desk sergeant of the local police district.

    Unfortunately, I didn’t inform all my neighbors. The cops were called, and there was a bit of a hassle untill they got confirmation from the desk sergeant. Luckily I had the desk sergeants name. As soon as the cops had arrived, I immediately knew they must have been there for me, so I immediately identified myself and followed their orders.

    The second time I had the cops called on me, I had four friends with me and they were all restaurant owners and we were ratting in the alley behind their restaurant. One of the guys forgot to notify the desk sergeant and we got the local beat cop in trouble.

    Luckily it wasn’t serious and no one was hurt.

    Cops these days have so much more stress to deal with than when I was a kid.

    We played with replica guns all the time and we never had to inform cops before we went out into the woods or in the alleys ratting. We probably even broke some laws by taking squirrels or rabbits out of season.

    Today cops have to deal with rampant gang violence. Terrorists. School shootings. Etc. etc. etc.

    Anyway, it’s just a suggestion.

    Thanks again.

    Stay Safe, Be Well, God Bless.



  23. Revolver Lynx on November 2, 2021 at 9:47 pm

    Man you deserve way more views, this is probably the best air gun channel on youtube. You give pretty much all the info needed for the guns that you are rewieving, keep up the good work!



  24. CoRudickuNic on November 2, 2021 at 9:48 pm

    Wow this is suprisingly good accuracy 10 meters range for bb. But was it exact 10? You measuerd it ofc?



  25. Michael Rosenfeld on November 2, 2021 at 9:48 pm

    Hope Umarex has the decency to not sell this beautiful revolver in a finger slicing blister pack



  26. Smoking Uncle Frank on November 2, 2021 at 9:49 pm

    Hay bro I just purchased the S&W M29 you said the silver Cartrage will shoot pellets which number or model cartrage do I need to look for love your videos keep em coming



  27. Ann Remski on November 2, 2021 at 9:49 pm

    What a gorgeous gun!!!
    Great review🔥…youve gained another subscriber🙌🙌🙌



  28. IKCA Kenpoman on November 2, 2021 at 9:56 pm

    Damn, it reminds me of magnum force



  29. Michael Rosenfeld on November 2, 2021 at 9:57 pm

    I have one on preorder, but would have preferred the 6 1/2 barrel version, and so would most movie fans. Umarex seems to be somewhat tone deaf to the US market. They still haven’t offered a 4 3/4 barrel Peacemaker. A big Duh?



  30. Richard Gonzales on November 2, 2021 at 9:57 pm

    Reminds ( in a way ) of the old school Crosman 357 pellet pistols of My youth. Awesome review. I will buy one as soon as I find one in stock



  31. B. C. on November 2, 2021 at 9:58 pm

    You made my day! Thanks.



  32. Congac Bodean on November 2, 2021 at 9:59 pm

    You are the most comprehensive air gun reviewer on the tube. Was thinking of buying the 29 (read all the hype and saw a couple promo vids), but seeing it now…meh. Looks a little cartoonish with that 8 inch barrel. And I didn’t like the cylinder wobble at 4:59…looks toyish. Thanks for saving me around $200.



  33. Dustin h on November 2, 2021 at 10:01 pm

    150 is steep. Is it a german gun or commie Chinese made?



  34. Jon Symmonds on November 2, 2021 at 10:02 pm

    New subscriber. Nice review!



  35. George Loveless on November 2, 2021 at 10:02 pm

    I’ve been looking everyday for this pistol to be released…I cant wait to get it.
    Great review.
    I’m new to your channel, but your reviews are thorough and entertaining.
    Thanks for your work, its appreciated!!



  36. Michael Rosenfeld on November 2, 2021 at 10:06 pm

    Early review on Hard Air Magazine had velocities of low to mid 300 fps for bb and 7 gr lead pellets. Wonder if they were testing emasculated European version. Using same shells as Peacemakers, lower than 5 1/2 barrel Peacemakers



  37. Pauly Walnuts on November 2, 2021 at 10:07 pm

    What packaging does it come in?



  38. amy smith on November 2, 2021 at 10:07 pm

    im



  39. Ross Bertram on November 2, 2021 at 10:09 pm

    That is a very nice airgun keep up the awesome videos air gun detectives.🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸



  40. michael balazki on November 2, 2021 at 10:10 pm

    This is very cool, JC. I grew up in Marin County where Dirty Harry was a religion, TO ME. The last scene in DIRTY HARRY was the rock quarry in San Rafael, CA. Edit : Wow JC, your law enforcement history sure shows in your groupings !!!! Those are incredible !!!



  41. D1Philly on November 2, 2021 at 10:10 pm

    The review I was looking for! You provided all the information I needed and actually answered every question I had about the replica. Excellent channel, I subscribed.



  42. James Bond Props Channel on November 2, 2021 at 10:12 pm

    Im from the UK and have been a big fan of the Dirty Harry movies since I first saw Magnum Force on TV back in the late 80s. Recently discovered the replica was available on preorder. So have placed an order for the 3 and 6.5 inch barrel versions. Wasn’t sure about the dark chrome finish at first. But after seeing this review, I can’t wait to get it. It’s a truly beautiful piece



  43. Michael Rosenfeld on November 2, 2021 at 10:14 pm

    They will probably go the same route as the Peacemaker, bb first then pellet version and other barrel lengths. The big mistakes in the Peacemakers were not using a bright blue finish and chemical case colored frame , and the big mistake no 4 3/4 barrel. In the 29 I would have offered the 6 1/2 barrel first. If Umarex wants to be bold and daring, they should now do a 4 and 6 model 19. Who dares, wins



  44. Anderson Pondelick on November 2, 2021 at 10:15 pm

    I have been upgrading my dpms thank you for showing how valuable it was



  45. Michael Rosenfeld on November 2, 2021 at 10:16 pm

    Single action pull is heavy, and not typical for a da revolver. Should be 3 lbs ,



  46. Dave Lawton on November 2, 2021 at 10:17 pm

    Great review on a superb looking pistol. I’ll be the first in the queue to own it when it does come out in the UK. You have earned my subscription my friend. Many thanks.



  47. Sniffles on November 2, 2021 at 10:18 pm

    They put a rifled barrel in and I’m sold



  48. Congac Bodean on November 2, 2021 at 10:18 pm

    What do you think of the Barra No 3. Schofield. I’d really like your counsel. Thanks



  49. FC's The Meme on November 2, 2021 at 10:20 pm

    Is it backyard-friendly?



  50. chris kid on November 2, 2021 at 10:21 pm

    was wondering what air gun would be best practice for my glock 9mil, 17? glock 19 air gun to little to light, i think. thx. thinking non blow back.