Review: Marlin 336 (C) Lever Action – Is it worth buying in 2019/2020?

Review: Marlin 336 (C) Lever Action – Is it worth buying in 2019/2020?

In this video we take a look at the Marlin 336C and see if it is still worth buying in 2019 /2020 after the rocky start that Remington had with these rifles. Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/blackbearoutdoors

#levergun #marlinrifles #3030 #cowboyaction #Marlin #marlin336 #leveraction #3030winchester

Disclaimer: All shooting (in our videos) is done at a CFO approved range with safety protocols in place. The videos are for educational and entertainment purposes only. Do not attempt anything you see in this video at home. We (including YouTube) will not be held liable for any injury to yourself or damage to your firearms resulting from attempting anything shown in any our videos.

Fair Use: In the rare instance that we include third party footage or footage that we did not create ourselves, it is covered in Fair Use for Reviews, Documentary and Educational purposes with intention of driving commentary and allowing freedom of speech.

49 Comments

  1. Feather on November 21, 2022 at 9:50 pm

    My dad had the 336 C. It was given to him on his 14th birthday by his grandfather and I ended getting it in my 14th birthday as well so I’ll probably be passing it on to my child as well if I keep it well maintained

  2. herman58100 the german on November 21, 2022 at 9:51 pm

    I delivered newspapers to buy my first firearm in 1970. A 336c -30-30. It’s a tack driver at 100 yards, just dead on accurate.

  3. Clifford Bryant on November 21, 2022 at 9:52 pm

    I’m glad Ruger is bringing back marlin rifle’s I want to get a new Ruger made marlin

  4. Daniel Slater on November 21, 2022 at 9:54 pm

    My grandma gave me mine before she passed away, and mine is made in 1985

  5. Rack Man 🦌 on November 21, 2022 at 9:55 pm

    I love the 336 30-30 I have one from the first year 1949 and one from 1954

  6. Bruce Wayne on November 21, 2022 at 9:58 pm

    Can you please put bin Ladin picture as a target please a brotherly Request from a Iraq

  7. Mark Hansen on November 21, 2022 at 9:59 pm

    I am a Marlin lever rifle guy for sure. I really like them. The one huge advantage to the Marlin as opposedto Winchester lever rifles is the Marlin is simple to work on it. I have adjusted the trigger pull on all of my Marlins with ease but not so with the Winchester 94 I own. I can remove the bolt on marlin rifles in a couple of minutes…. the Marlin is a huge advantage over the Winchester imo. ty mh

  8. John Vetick on November 21, 2022 at 9:59 pm

    Best friggin brush rifle ever made. Accurate, and kept clean, awesome rifle.

  9. Brian Albrecht on November 21, 2022 at 10:00 pm

    What is a ball park price for a Marlin 30-30 as shown in this video…? Anybody have any idea…? Thanks

  10. Lloyd Clement on November 21, 2022 at 10:02 pm

    Had one of these all my life and shot my first deer with it a very long time ago. A tried and true rifle.

  11. jg7286 on November 21, 2022 at 10:03 pm

    Run my grandfathers 70s 336 for deer , it tosses 1-1.25 inch groups religiously at 100 killed plenty of deer for him and I it’s no competition winner but a more than adequate deer rifle sub 150 yards and probably even 200 just don’t hunt anywhere that shots like that are possible. I prefer a scope myself on it never was a fan of iron sites beyond 50 yards but that’s just personal preference

  12. Mark Lott on November 21, 2022 at 10:03 pm

    If you listen to enough bullshit, you eventually start to believe it.
    Take time and look into what you are hearing and see how it applies to you and how you live.
    Most politicians are self serving individuals who really don’t care about you and what you think.
    That applies to both parties.

    You know right from wrong and you have the ability to think responsibly.

    Try to be a part of the answer and not contribute more bullshit to the issues at hand.
    Guns aren’t going anywhere.
    Stop listening to that shit.
    Good people are not going around shooting people.
    Just make sure that you are not contributing to the criminal element that use firearms to harm others and wreak madness on good law abiding citizens.

    Vaccines are not a cure, but they do help.
    Not being vaccinated is a risky thing right now.
    Do it for yourself and others.
    Covid doesn’t discriminate.
    It has the potential to kill us all.

    God gives us the tools to help ourselves.

    Where do you stand?

    Use your heads.

  13. Lex10999 on November 21, 2022 at 10:04 pm

    Great video. Thanks 🙂

  14. m2gja m1 on November 21, 2022 at 10:04 pm

    I have a Marlin 444 for more than thirty years in really great condition. I’m glad I got it before Remington took over. I think Ruger will turn things around.

  15. mcdouche2 on November 21, 2022 at 10:05 pm

    Great Video, I like the vignettes and the sepia toning, it adds to the experience.

  16. Jim Landreth on November 21, 2022 at 10:05 pm

    Everyone needs a Marlin 336 30-30 !

  17. Ampuero24 on November 21, 2022 at 10:06 pm

    what is the price of this gun ??

  18. DL on November 21, 2022 at 10:06 pm

    Taken the most deer ?
    Yeah….303 and 308 would like a word with you out in the parking lot….

  19. Ryan Norman on November 21, 2022 at 10:07 pm

    Oh man I forgot to grab a cowboy hat 🤠

  20. bob mencel on November 21, 2022 at 10:07 pm

    I have one of those, but not fired it yet. Thanks for the review .

  21. Adam Shaw on November 21, 2022 at 10:07 pm

    The only issue I have with this rifle is the safety. It just really ruins the traditional look of a lever gun.

  22. Lots of stuff on November 21, 2022 at 10:07 pm

    My 336 seemed so nice but, for some reason, misfires constantly with light hammer strikes. I’ve watched a bunch of videos and nothing fixes it. Kind of put me off Marlins.

  23. Kenneth Huff on November 21, 2022 at 10:08 pm

    Great video thanks, love my Marlin 30-30.

  24. bushed274 on November 21, 2022 at 10:08 pm

    … had some good offers for my 336SS (30-30 Win) since Remlin went belly up

  25. Chuck Howard on November 21, 2022 at 10:09 pm

    I bought one around 2015. With the Remlin (any firearm you buy for that matter), you need to look it over real well; on some the fit and finish was better than others, but you need to consider the price point. I have heard of front sights being drilled off center and other such horror stories from Remington; what can I say, some people just need help. Why would anyone buy a rifle with a front sight like that? As is, the rifle does just what it was made to do back in 1936 and they work just fine. As per Marlin 336 vs. Winchester 94 old and new: they both suck in their own way due to what a lever rifle is, and is not. I have shot and hunted with most all manufactures of lever rifles in different calibers. They are rugged, reliable and the mechanical make-up of them are damn near jam proof – they just work.

    As per the 30/30 cartridge – it is everywhere in America and has been for ever. It shoots a banana like a .22 LR or a .45 long Colt; most people will be able to pick one up and hunt with it without much practice. Scoping a 30/30 is for people who don’t have eyes for open sights, the cartridge does not require a scope. The 1/2 Buckhorn rear style sight is great for general all-around purpose sight for both wooded and open ground range lands out to about 200 yards with a lever rifle in all calibers. The best up-grade to one of these rifles is a Marble 1/2 or Full Buckhorn rear sight with the white diamond. Peep sights on a lever rifle are as worthless as a scope on one; buy something else if that is what you need to shoot with. A Full Buckhorn Sight is a peep sight for the open range for longer shots if needs be.

    Note: sights affixed onto a barrel – once set, are as pure as you can get and don’t move; scopes or peep sights attached to the receiver or tang require adjustment always.

  26. John Shields on November 21, 2022 at 10:12 pm

    I pursued high powered 30 caliber rifles for years then bought a 1972 Marlin 336 in 35 Remington by chance at a small gun show in 2000. I used heavy cast bullets for plinking on stumps, and target shooting. The joy of working a lever action is something that gets in your blood, and the kids/women too love the ‘action’ of using a lever action too (with the reduced loads). I carry hunting level 200 grs loads for camping in more bear frequent areas. The Marlin rifles are just a plain joy to shoot, and a very affective hunting rifle.

  27. Michael Whalen on November 21, 2022 at 10:13 pm

    Love my Marlin 30-30. Like a ’68 Mustang 289 with four on the floor…

  28. River River’s on November 21, 2022 at 10:14 pm

    I got a marlin 30a,,, 3030,.. badass rifle man and yes i agree lever guns are meant to be used without a scope!

  29. Marshall Lanier on November 21, 2022 at 10:15 pm

    "It’s not accurate over 100 yards", was used by a lot of guys simply as an excuse to go buy a 270, 308, 7mag or 30-06.
    Nothing at all wrong with any of those calibers,, I own one of each, but get real. Why not just tell your wife the truth, that you want a new rifle.
    The 30-30 is just as deadly now as it was 100 years ago.

  30. Bob Hartman on November 21, 2022 at 10:15 pm

    Excellent! Thank you.

  31. William Cornelison on November 21, 2022 at 10:16 pm

    I’m 74 yrs old now and when I turned 23 yrs old I got a Marlin 336C for my Birthday. Rifle Deer Season starts this coming Saturday 10-12-2022. I am going to refinish the stock next spring just for fun…

  32. Tim Riffle on November 21, 2022 at 10:18 pm

    I’ve owned a revalation ,marlin an a winchester 3030 killed a deer with all of them.but loved the marlin the best of all.

  33. William Cornelison on November 21, 2022 at 10:18 pm

    Shot a whole lot better with a scope of course…..

  34. Diogenes on November 21, 2022 at 10:21 pm

    Where have all the trigger guard plate screws for the 336’s gone? Does anyone out there know where to find ONE?

  35. No so Yo no on November 21, 2022 at 10:21 pm

    Yes but no no because you can’t get fiend 30/30 rounds nobody sells them or has them in stock. Best to go with 45 caliber

  36. Bryant Gill on November 21, 2022 at 10:23 pm

    I like Marlin & Winchester rifles,, i own both,, but i won’t buy one that has that ugly cross bolt safety on it….

  37. Larry on November 21, 2022 at 10:24 pm

    Any marlin lever gun is worth buying. Period!

  38. murfdog221 on November 21, 2022 at 10:25 pm

    For the people that don’t like iron sights just slap on a reflex or a red dot sight.

  39. Mutmutt on November 21, 2022 at 10:28 pm

    Here in 2022 put a over under site with a scope it is accurate at 100 yards and the scope at 250.

  40. Kevin Rollman on November 21, 2022 at 10:29 pm

    Of course!! This firearm is worth buying!! The Remington made Marlin lever guns made 2016 and after were some of the finest Marlin lever guns ever produced. I am not going to explain the whole back story about after Remington acquired Marlin Company and were given a bum deal by JM Marlin in Connecticut. Remington is one of the finest rifle manufacturer that has ever existed!! This 2019-2020 Remington made 336 chambered in 30-30; is an excellent lever gun in all categories. Don’t be fooled by the new Ruger made Marlins that cost almost twice for the same model Remington made just a few years ago. This 336 is an excellent lever gun you will not be dis-satsified!! I know someone that purchased a 2016 1895 CB 45-70 Remington made, smooth lever action, fit, function both excellent!! I would not hesitate to purchase any Remington made Marlin lever guns. My friends 1895 was bullseye accurate out of the box.

  41. Jesse on November 21, 2022 at 10:30 pm

    How much would one cost me with shipping to Hawaii

  42. Ron p on November 21, 2022 at 10:31 pm

    Is the 336c blued or is it that mat finish? Great vid man!

  43. fireball1322 on November 21, 2022 at 10:32 pm

    Compared to a JM Marlin ,the wood to metal fit is totally unacceptable. Look at the metal to wood fit on a genuine JM stamped Marlin

  44. Repomex01 on November 21, 2022 at 10:35 pm

    I have a 1996 Model

  45. Maverick Paladin on November 21, 2022 at 10:38 pm

    Can’t wait til Ruger starts producing this one. What’s your experience with the Hornady Leverevolution ammo? I’ve been impressed with it in my Winchesters.

    South Africa? Perhaps Dutch or German? Interesting accent.

  46. Marty Neff on November 21, 2022 at 10:38 pm

    I have one from 1980 and it functions as advertised, it’s not smooth does not load easily. It was my first rifle and it’s nothing I would rave about. It loads and shoots but it’s rough and not comfortable.
    I’m not even comfortable to sell it because it’s just not good. 2 gunsmiths have massaged it over the years and changed the lever assembly twice. It’s better, but I wouldn’t take any Marlin as a gift

  47. Steven DeAtley on November 21, 2022 at 10:42 pm

    The old 336 in 30-30 and 35 Remington,is still a great. Rifle for hunting,whitetail deer and black bear.the 30-30 is much easier to find brass for .I remember being laughed at because I asked a clerk in a gun store if they had any 30-30 ammo .I hunt in the forest deep in the Appalachian mountains .a scope is handy,but really not nesseary.i had a friend who always killed a huge buck each year .by just sitting on a deer trail in a huge larual thicket .in a big holler across the creek in the south of round mountain.i don’t think he ever shot a deer beyond 40 yards .you don’t need a rifle really .last year I only used a handgun .my single action 44 Magnum .was all I used .it’s the perfect firearm for hunting .

  48. Jimmy McClure on November 21, 2022 at 10:44 pm

    I have a 336 30-30 from the late seventies early eighties that is very nice. When I hunted it was a great deer rifle. I don’t shoot it much because I no longer hunt but it is a great gun.

  49. Robby Ramirez on November 21, 2022 at 10:47 pm

    Great gun it’s still one of my favorite to shoot

Leave a Comment