Review: the Mossberg Brownie – a 4-barrel .22-caliber derringer

Review: the Mossberg Brownie – a 4-barrel .22-caliber derringer

Most are familiar with Mossberg as a shotgun manufacturer, but they produced a single handgun in their early days in the 1920s. The Mossberg Brownie is a 4-barrel derringer, somewhat similar in appearance to the COP derringer and Cobray Pocket Pal. It can shoot 22 short, 22lr, and 22 long rimfire cartridges. Around 33,000 were made, although far fewer exist today because of poor care by their owners. The guns were marketed towards hunters and trappers, so it is rare to find them in great shape. Despite being somewhat tough to find, they can be had cheaply and are a lot of fun to shoot. Be sure to never use high velocity ammo in them, as they were not designed for it and you can destroy the gun.

50 Comments

  1. GEORGE ZARIFIS on December 23, 2022 at 12:46 am

    Can this gun shoot 22 magnum?



  2. PureBloodHeretic on December 23, 2022 at 12:46 am

    Fudge Packer!!😂👍🍻



  3. Jeremiah Cherry on December 23, 2022 at 12:46 am

    The box part 😂
    Bro. That was great.



  4. Cianan Mortem on December 23, 2022 at 12:47 am

    Good vid. A Brownie is a type of supernatural small creature from Irish mythology, like a mini human a few inches high. That’s where these get the names. Still an interesting weapon overall.



  5. Steve Reynold on December 23, 2022 at 12:47 am

    Didn’t know 22 was obscure.
    It’s the number one choice for plinking………it’s at every Walmart too…..



  6. John Browning on December 23, 2022 at 12:47 am

    I handled one in San Diego at a friend’s house.  I thought it was weird compared to my Ruger Standard auto.



  7. Iowa599 on December 23, 2022 at 12:51 am

    Can you get a suppressor for that, or do need four?



  8. Paul Lytle on December 23, 2022 at 12:51 am

    Ian has video on the shaduc unique



  9. elektro3000 on December 23, 2022 at 12:51 am

    Why does this video look like it was shot on an 8mm film camera from the 60s? Somehow I now associate this (and the weird way it seems to "jump" as if you edited out a few frames here and there) with horror movies, makes this video kind of creepy.



  10. Tyler Andersen on December 23, 2022 at 12:51 am

    I’ve got one of these that my dad bought from a guy who won it in a card game what better story could you want with such a cool little handgun… I am also in search of the original grips for mine as well if anyone knows of someone with a parts gun let me know



  11. Striper Sniper on December 23, 2022 at 12:52 am

    Great Review.  Looks like your extractor is original.  Recommend you paint your snapcaps red for safety reasons.  I’d like to reintroduce this gun soon.
    Mr. Mossberg



  12. HogWilder on December 23, 2022 at 12:52 am

    Hahaha!



  13. Ron Sheryl Hoak on December 23, 2022 at 12:53 am

    Nice, interesting video, but missed on one important thing, How does it operate? I know, but many of your viewers might think it shoots all four barrels at once. It has a rotating firing pin that moves 1/4 a turn after each round is fired, thus aligning with the rim of each cartridge. quite innovative.



  14. BEvery Affraid on December 23, 2022 at 12:54 am

    How does it fire?



  15. maiv vwj on December 23, 2022 at 12:55 am

    Want sell it?



  16. Hello America! on December 23, 2022 at 12:59 am

    Haaaaa



  17. gerald dorrian on December 23, 2022 at 12:59 am

    the box was a joke right?



  18. fmj2379 on December 23, 2022 at 1:03 am

    Can you hit the gong? Hickok45 would hit the gong.



  19. The_Lenster_2.0 on December 23, 2022 at 1:04 am

    Mmm… Fudge…. 😛



  20. E L on December 23, 2022 at 1:04 am

    The original DS stylist



  21. Cosmas Bauer on December 23, 2022 at 1:07 am

    Nice little pistol! Great vid, too!



  22. Jeff Adkins on December 23, 2022 at 1:07 am

    Is there any chance you could post a video showing the firing pin? I have one that is broken, and I am trying to see how the rotating striker looks from the front when it is open to load. I think mine is missing some type of insert that helps center the firing pin. A view from the front looking at the firing pin would be helpful.



  23. Ryan Brown on December 23, 2022 at 1:10 am

    #17066



  24. wagnerj01 on December 23, 2022 at 1:10 am

    Years later, the trigger pull on that looks like 12 lbs.



  25. Janus Kristensen on December 23, 2022 at 1:11 am

    Gun mix



  26. Kike Gaytan on December 23, 2022 at 1:11 am

    can anybody tell me why my firing pin isn’t popping all four bullet’s were can I find part’s



  27. gunner guy on December 23, 2022 at 1:11 am

    So glad I still have my grandads brownie



  28. Justin Prather on December 23, 2022 at 1:12 am

    Mossberg should make these again, looks like they can be produced on the cheap and improved upon.



  29. Jack Frost on December 23, 2022 at 1:15 am

    Yep, I finally got to shoot one that my mom had and on the first shot, it crumbled in my hand.  It was apparently not designed for .22LR as this says in the narrative.



  30. justindearing on December 23, 2022 at 1:17 am

    I love your videos and the background info that comes with them. Its cool being able to see guns that I will most likely never see in person. Keep up the good work. 🙂



  31. Wallace Dunn on December 23, 2022 at 1:17 am

    Yeah, they just came out with a brand new 9mm pistol.



  32. Joshua Bessire on December 23, 2022 at 1:17 am

    It’s called a brownie but the grips look like a zinger. Great, now I’m hungry for a TT-33.



  33. Will Foster on December 23, 2022 at 1:18 am

    I need a inner spring for my 4shot 22 brownie where can i find one



  34. Faizu Faizu on December 23, 2022 at 1:21 am

    Jis bhai ko Lena Ho sampark Karen 7027401263



  35. BOOMER MUSIC on December 23, 2022 at 1:22 am

    This idiot did not show the gunshots or nothing i will unsub now he just show us a pack of cookies and give a big shitty lecture 😡



  36. mweagley96 on December 23, 2022 at 1:25 am

    my grandpa has a little French .22 short 4 barrel derringer that he got while he was stationed there in the airforce.  Fun little gun.



  37. End My Suffering on December 23, 2022 at 1:25 am

    Quality camera, not quite as good mic.



  38. Влад Цепеш on December 23, 2022 at 1:27 am

    Пистолет последнего шанса



  39. Chankunluvs on December 23, 2022 at 1:28 am

    I love this video I just bought one today and you’re the only informational video on it



  40. fudj12 on December 23, 2022 at 1:30 am

    You’ve never heard of the Cleveland Brownie??? It’s the old school mascot of the Cleveland Browns Football team. He looks just like your reference picture. Just thought I’d mention it.



  41. eevelyhh on December 23, 2022 at 1:30 am

    0 m



  42. norm broshous on December 23, 2022 at 1:31 am

    6p# y



  43. King Masterlord on December 23, 2022 at 1:32 am

    4:33 yes please do that’s exactly what happens that’s how they get lost.



  44. MeatLoaf on December 23, 2022 at 1:33 am

    Does it come in double chocolate chunk



  45. Philipp Kuhlmeyer on December 23, 2022 at 1:35 am

    Hmmm 😋 brownies



  46. Nexfero on December 23, 2022 at 1:37 am

    you know you can use drywall anchors instead of spent bass for snapcaps, the plastic actually helps to get the crude off the firing pin ive found



  47. 357lockdown on December 23, 2022 at 1:39 am

    not at once, one with each pull of the trigger.



  48. Tom Mac 🪬EXPANSION2 ON TELEGRAM🪬 on December 23, 2022 at 1:42 am

    The name above ⬆️ ⬆️⬆️my comment is a real dealer guyz get your guns 🔫from him



  49. zooblestyx on December 23, 2022 at 1:43 am

    It’s the littlest Lancaster <3



  50. xddd on December 23, 2022 at 1:45 am

    That the gun haha haha i like it อย๊ากได๊ อยากได้