Review: the Walther Olympia Jaeger 22lr pistol (Norinco TT-Olympia)

Review: the Walther Olympia Jaeger 22lr pistol (Norinco TT-Olympia)

The Walther Olympia is my second favorite 22lr plinking pistol (my #1 is my Colt pre-Woodsman). It’s comfortable and accurate, and exotic enough to keep me interested.

The Norinco TT-Olympia is a copy of this gun, so my review probably applies in many ways to those cheaper clones.

27 Comments

  1. Mitchell Cox on August 18, 2022 at 8:02 pm

    thanks! please keep makig the vids, they are very intresting.



  2. Thomas A Helfrich on August 18, 2022 at 8:02 pm

    I have the Walther Olympia Jaeger 22lr and neither I or my Navy Seal friend can figure out how to disassemble it for cleaning. Can anyone help? Thank You, Tom



  3. SimonSaysTrain on August 18, 2022 at 8:03 pm

    Nice pistol,it has classical good looks.I would have assumed that a European pistol of that era would have a heel position magizine release.Do you only have one magizine for it? Good luck in the search for a long barrel version.



  4. 1957Shep on August 18, 2022 at 8:07 pm

    The Norinco copy isn`t bad considering the price. The fit and machining are pretty good. The finish is so-so. Kind of dull finish and the metal could have been polished a bit better before the finish. The grips are made of some kind of soft, very blond wood. The safety is a little stiff. The trigger is a little heavy for a target gun, but I`ve seen a lot worse ones. Think of a Ruger Mark II. It shoots well and is accurate.
    For a cheap made in China knock off, it`s really a decent little pistol.



  5. Ryan Margate on August 18, 2022 at 8:11 pm

    I got one for 100$… No magazine.



  6. claus2427 on August 18, 2022 at 8:12 pm

    Because it isn’t as easy to get a pistol (legally) in Denmark, where i live (or actully it, but it sometimes takes 4-6months before you get the papers back on the pistol) so I would be sure that it is a good price before buying.



  7. Ignacio Vizcaíno on August 18, 2022 at 8:13 pm

    What is your opinion on another old 22lr: The Colt Woodsman? Are those as good in quality?



  8. Donnie Brookins on August 18, 2022 at 8:15 pm

    I was given a norinco version. Good shape. Took down and cleaned barrel and magazine. Does not fire. Firing pin doesn’t seem to come out far enough. Any ideas?



  9. William Hemric on August 18, 2022 at 8:15 pm

    WAHOO! my great grand father has a jaeger in great condition, and he’s leaving it to me. Not that I want him to pass, but a nice pistol might soften the blow. Not really I love my ggf!



  10. Hughes Enterprises on August 18, 2022 at 8:21 pm

    Wall-thhh-errr not walter.

    Or if you want to pronounce it perfectly in German, change the W to a V.



  11. iamtheoceaniamthesea on August 18, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    6:30 Do I hear a Windows Phone?



  12. Ignacio Vizcaíno on August 18, 2022 at 8:28 pm

    What is your opinion on another old 22lr: The Colt Woodsman? Are those as good in quality?



  13. Shane Singleton on August 18, 2022 at 8:30 pm

    If you find anymore of those $200 Norinco copies at your local gun store shoot me a message. I’d like to get a hold of one but i’ve never seen one in person at any of the local stores so I take it they’re very hard to find as well. I’ve started to become a fan of the .22lr so i’ve picked up a few pistols. I’ve got a Hi-Standard M101 and an old Ruger Mk1 from 1966. Can’t afford $1000 for a Walther though 😉



  14. Garand Thumb on August 18, 2022 at 8:36 pm

    Ended up snagging a TT Olympia for around 200. Excellent shooter – more accurate than me.



  15. evgeny knyazev on August 18, 2022 at 8:38 pm

    Great review. Thanks!



  16. chapiit08 on August 18, 2022 at 8:43 pm

    You can make a loader out of square piece of acrylic about 2 x 1.5 x 1/4 in thick.The hole in the shape of a keyhole needs to follow the sectional contour of the magazine more closely in order to catch the follower button. And all you need is a hand drill and bits and a couple of files.



  17. John S on August 18, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    Tactical solutions 22 loading tool may help you, though its expensive



  18. claus2427 on August 18, 2022 at 8:48 pm

    Hey, is 149$ a okay price for a walther olympia in good condition?



  19. Nohar Singh on August 18, 2022 at 8:48 pm

    Could you show how to fieldstrip this gun please



  20. Derrick Green on August 18, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    where can I find a clip



  21. claus2427 on August 18, 2022 at 8:50 pm

    No no it is my fault not to write it 🙂
    In Denmark we have alot of old guns from all over the world, and because there are so few gun owners that want old guns, we can get all types of old firearms for more or less nothing.
    For example, a Sjøgren (ö) shotgun normally goes for 150-500$.

    But back to the Walther, then i most buy it, thanks for you help 🙂



  22. Greydon Stautzenberger on August 18, 2022 at 8:55 pm

    Keep it up



  23. axWoundsurprise on August 18, 2022 at 8:55 pm

    My grandfather brought one of these back from Germany during WWII… First gun I ever shot, as well as, the first and last time I got slide bite! No weights on his, but awesome guns!



  24. Speedy Gonzalez on August 18, 2022 at 8:55 pm

    20 yrs ago I purchased a norinco olympia for a 100$ BN. by that time I’ve already shot just about every american made 22 pistol ever made so I was able to give it a fair evaluation. I still feel nothing can compare with the S&W 41, but the norinco can certainly hold its own with the run of the mill popular brand pistols. I still have it, and yes I think the trigger is better than the rugger….



  25. crrrock on August 18, 2022 at 8:56 pm

    I just got a Norinco TT, second hand with no mag. Where did you get your Norinco mag from? I need one.



  26. John S on August 18, 2022 at 8:58 pm

    Having watched the move "decision before dawn" I was intent on reading the book its based on. After reading "Call it Treason" I now know the main character (who really existed – its a true story) was armed with a Walther Olympia. Didn’t know this firearm until then, thanks for the review



  27. LifeInSpace on August 18, 2022 at 9:00 pm

    Eagle N is 1941-1945