Ruger American 6.5 Creedmoor Review | Budget Rifle Range Review

Ruger American 6.5 Creedmoor Review | Budget Rifle Range Review

Welcome back to Hunt Fish Shoot! Today we are back at the rifle range with our new Ruger American Predator 6.5 Creedmoor! This rifle may be one of the best values on the market right now. Come see what we think of this budget friendly rifle from Ruger!

The Ruger American Predator in 6.5 Creedmoor is arguably one of the best values in a rifle on the market. Accuracy and affordability make this rifle. Few rifles in this price range can compete if any and Ruger has done a great job.

The rifle sports a 22 inch carbon steel cold hammer forged barrel, 1/8 twist and threaded 5/8×24 barrel. It has 0 MOA picatinny rail for mounting optics and an adjustable trigger which breaks crisp and clean. Using a three lug design bolt and a v block bedding system makes it a solid shooter. We were able to achieve sub MOA accuracy out of a budget rifle using match grade ammunition. Hornady Precision Hunter and Match were used due to the ammo shortages and that is all we could get at the time. But we are impressed.

Mounted on the rifle is a Burris Signature HD 5-25×50 Scope in Nightforce Standard Duty rings. An awesome scope which is feature packed and right at home on this rifle! This set up as a whole came in at less that $1100 which is astonishing, with quality Glass and a budget rifle it would be hard to beat. The Ruger American lives up to its reputation and could outshoot rifles costing twice as much. Don’t just take our word for it and try one out yourself you will be surprised.

Thank you for watching and check us out next time as we are constantly putting out more content for you, our viewers to enjoy! Like, comment and subscribe so you can follow along with Hunt Fish Shoot!

ruger american 6.5 creedmoor review ruger 6.5 creedmoor review ruger predator 6.5 creedmoor review 6.5 creedmoor ruger american

#RugerAmerican #65Creedmoor #Ruger

50 Comments

  1. TheExtremeRace on January 24, 2023 at 1:33 am

    what song is that on the beginning

  2. Lee King on January 24, 2023 at 1:33 am

    I got those some weird diagonal groups out of my RAP too in 22-250 and can’t figure out why. I got home and dremeled the stock to make sure there’s sufficient barrel clearance and also sent my scope back to vortex. I haven’t got the scope back to test these theories. Did you figure out why you got those groups?

  3. Zach Call on January 24, 2023 at 1:34 am

    Could you drop a link to that muzzle break? Looking to get one.

  4. Richard Moore on January 24, 2023 at 1:35 am

    I got a 1/2" MOA out of mine using the Precision Hunter at 200 yards.

  5. Mr 30-30 ***** on January 24, 2023 at 1:36 am

    That’s a feature of the rifle so you don’t cock the gun and dry fire it lets you know your out , why the last time you dropped a round in and you were able to cock the gun I don’t know , I have the American ruger ranch 223/5.56 and it does the same thing

  6. ParkerPrecision on January 24, 2023 at 1:36 am

    great review, would like to see more on this rifle.

  7. Gunner on January 24, 2023 at 1:37 am

    Problem was very likely your muzzle device. Brakes change your barrel harmonics. Always test a factory rifle, as a factory rifle.

  8. Vance Gautieri on January 24, 2023 at 1:39 am

    How far were you shooting

  9. Harold Cale on January 24, 2023 at 1:40 am

    Just saying you should try .75 inch color coding labels and see if it works for you and others. Love the ruger american rifle good reliable rifle your choice of ammo…

  10. Pat Chitwood on January 24, 2023 at 1:41 am

    I have a RAR in 7mm-08. I got it for my son 3 years ago. Between the two of us, we have taken 9 whitetails with it. It shoots SUB-MOA with Hornady Full Boar ammo in 139 gr. GMX projectiles. It shoots well above its price point. I agree with you that it has a great trigger. I usually end up taking this rifle hunting when my son is not using it in lieu of my walnut and blue steel Remington 700 in .30-06. Thanks for the great content.

  11. Wayne Castleman on January 24, 2023 at 1:42 am

    Man I’ll tell this is how to put a video together, no rush . Great rifle for the price and many times I’ve see sub price rifles match if not out perform higher priced rifles, that’s the world we live in. So how do you really like Burris scopes ? I’m setting up my Hells Canyon 6.5 and I’m at a crossroad as to whether use my Vortex Crossfire II or doing for a Razor tactical , just researching and checking my options are many. I do like Tally 1 piece with anti can’t ring.

  12. Brad W on January 24, 2023 at 1:43 am

    Great review! I also have the Ruger American predator in 6.5 Creedmoor. I installed a Leupold 4.5 -14×40 CDS scope. I absolutely love the gun. I’m very happy with the weight and how it handles and shoots. It’s been shooting excellent groups at 300 yards. Most of my hunting doesn’t require long range shooting but I would be comfortable going out further. Have been using Hornady ammunition entirely. The Hornady Match 140 grain ELD and the Hornady Precision Hunter 143 grain ELD-X are very accurate in my rifle. My rifle originally came with one four round magazine. I’m not sure of the brand but it didn’t seem to feed very well. I went on Ruger’s website and purchased four magazines from them and they work a lot better. They are the Ruger 308 multi caliber magazine and I haven’t had any issues with them at all. I also installed a Banish 30 suppressor from Silencer Central. I’m very happy with this setup and how it performs! 🦌

  13. Dayne Asplin on January 24, 2023 at 1:43 am

    I know this video is a bit older but I just picked one up. It’s the newer style with AI mags. Did you ever shoot the gun without the muzzle break? I’m contemplating getting one knowing my son will be hunting soon. Any noticeable difference with it off or on?

  14. Garry Talley on January 24, 2023 at 1:45 am

    You could have put a Harris bipod on it. They go on the stud mounts and even have another stud off the bottom to attach a sling to the bipod itself. Of course, if you want the other stock and think it is for you go for it. The negative on that stock is you can’t take your bolt out with a high cheek piece. Nice video. I do think that the rifle shot better being better fouled. Fouled barrels shoot tighter groups than clean ones.

  15. Dan Schwent on January 24, 2023 at 1:45 am

    Just got mine today..or I should say I paid for it today and will have a California pick up day..great info and some of the previous comments are useful also..now waiting on my order of ammo..at 2.50 a round breaking in this one won’t be cheap… I can’t wait 😜😜

  16. C. Welch on January 24, 2023 at 1:50 am

    So my plans got changed. I went to the shop to get the Ruger American and the clerk behind the counter who I’ve bought from before asks me if I minded spending a little more… loaded question. His buddy stopped him from what he was going to show me and said, “No, get him the good one…”
    Next think you know I’m shouldering a Tikka T3x in 6.5. Bastards!
    I could not put it down. Everything was perfect on it. The trigger pull is unreal. What really sold me was the feel and the action. Perfect length of pull, ergos and action. Gorgeous. So once again. I walked into a shop with something in mind and left with something else. Was going to get a composite Ruger and got a walnut Tikka. But man is it gorgeous. Shooting it Tues.

  17. Im_Nixex on January 24, 2023 at 1:50 am

    Wanted to know your opinion I’m 14 tall pretty big do u think the recoil should be manageable on the 6.5 creedmor

  18. WDTA UT on January 24, 2023 at 1:51 am

    Same rifle with a Nikon Monarch. First box of American Whitetail 129 gr., not so good results. Loaded some 123 gr. ELD-M over 8208 XBR. Well under 1 MOA. Started another box of Whitetail to get more brass (and range time), and that went just about 1 MOA. Maybe the different lots of ammo made a difference, more likely it was me.
    I bought this for deer and pronghorn. I have full confidence in this rifle. Just have to decide which ammo to use.
    Agree completely on the mags.

  19. Tonia Carter on January 24, 2023 at 1:51 am

    you can rebuild the trigger and make it MUCH better , you can do away with that safety release on the trigger and work down the trigger sear and get a great crisp let off , lite pull on the trigger , even below a pound ,

  20. Steve Dalton on January 24, 2023 at 1:53 am

    The T/C venture is probably the most accurate budget rifle ever made..I’ve had the privilege of sighting in a lot of rifles each year and between the Ruger American and the TC venture …the venture hands down smokes it..I think the 5r rifling of the venture is the contributing factor for that….if you want a budget rifle that shoots a lot of 1/2 moa groups more so than not..look no further..

  21. Gabe Conant on January 24, 2023 at 1:53 am

    All I had to watch was the intro to hit that red sub button I’m glad to join the crew 👍

  22. James Eroh on January 24, 2023 at 1:53 am

    I bought several low recoil rifles. For training my grandkids about target and long range shooting. I did buy a Magpul Hunter stock before I have even fired the rifle. I do agree that for the money, Ruger firearms are hard to beat.

  23. nreyes1100 on January 24, 2023 at 1:54 am

    Have a few Ruger Americans ( 300 BO Ranch, 556 ranch, 223 compact, 243 compact and the 6.5 predator) all tack drivers. Haven’t stretched the predator out to far but overall pretty happy with all of them. Would really like a 6.8 western and if Ruger American made one, I’d be all over it. Just have to get an x bolt I suppose 😂

  24. scott vines on January 24, 2023 at 1:55 am

    Great review. Just bought this rifle for my son and very pleased.

  25. EastTexan on January 24, 2023 at 1:56 am

    the difference in the groups in my humble opinion, is the barrel is starting to foul and a fouled barrel is more accurate than a barrel scrubbed clean. Do not scrub your barrels clean after each session. Not necessary. I usually just run a boresnake through mine after each session and that works well. However at some point the fouling will be too much and a good cleaning will be needed and then the process will start over again. This has been my experience throughout my shooting life and I’m 75 now.

  26. C. Welch on January 24, 2023 at 1:56 am

    This almost went home with me the other day. If it is in the store the next time I go, it might just. I just have to scope it really. Good to go.

  27. Alvin Streicker on January 24, 2023 at 1:59 am

    Another great video. Thankyou

  28. Tuddle on January 24, 2023 at 2:03 am

    Did you just demand that I subscribe?

  29. Daniel Guajardo on January 24, 2023 at 2:07 am

    I love there 270 ammo is pretty on the button

  30. Chef Matt on January 24, 2023 at 2:08 am

    cross shopping this with the CVA Cascade. Any thoughts?

  31. jason mcbride on January 24, 2023 at 2:08 am

    My biggest issue is the aftermarket mags tend to bind when loading a round. The original mag that comes with the rifle is fine. That said, both mags are cheap and I and i am disappointed in that. Being left handed, I would like a 3 stage safety so I don’t mess with the bolt while shoulder carrying. That is my ONLY issue. That said, the rifle is ACCURATE, and the recoil is butter. The trigger is very nice once calibrated. I did polish the bolt to eliminate the zipping sound. Good rifle for the money otherwise.

  32. Dale on January 24, 2023 at 2:11 am

    I have several Ruger Americans and one in each configuration. My Hunter in .308 is my favorite, it shoots beautifully, second favorite is my daughter’s 6.5 Creedmoor in the Go Wild version, it shoots great too. My .270 is in the standard configuration and it does great, however I have a Predator in .223 and it is ammo picky. I struggle to shoot well with it.

  33. Doug Moran on January 24, 2023 at 2:12 am

    Watch your video, most times you shoot you shut your shooting eye at trigger pull……….dunno if that is causing you some problems.

  34. Hunt Fish Shoot on January 24, 2023 at 2:12 am

    We’ve just switched over to AXIL for hearing protection, and I wish I would’ve sooner! Click here to see what I’m wearing and use code HFS15 to save yourself some bread: https://bit.ly/3rSPAoH

    We’re also wearing the latest eye protection from Gatorz, check them out here: http://gatorz.com/huntfishshoot

  35. Ed Smercina on January 24, 2023 at 2:12 am

    The Magpul hunter stock is the way to go I love mine

  36. 1rukie on January 24, 2023 at 2:13 am

    I have that same rifle shoots incredible very accurate shoots sub moa . Paid $325 for mine

  37. afdcomposer on January 24, 2023 at 2:14 am

    I don’t want to hit the thumbs up because it’s sitting on “308” which just seems too good to mess with

  38. Brandon Rupp on January 24, 2023 at 2:16 am

    Watch that factory scope base mine worked loose in the first 100 rounds.

  39. jack jill on January 24, 2023 at 2:18 am

    When a shooter can not say… The bad groups are me. LOL!!!!

    Still falls on you!!!

  40. Richard Waid on January 24, 2023 at 2:18 am

    My friend came to my house (farm) yesterday with his Masterpiece Arms 6.5 BA rifle ($3500) and a $4000 scope. Made groups at 100yds of 1.25” consistently. Couldn’t get sub MOA. The ammo was hand loads Lapua brass and 140 gr BT competition projectiles loaded by a hard core long range competition shooter. Perfect conditions, no wind 75 degrees. Shot 30+ rds.
    I’m thinking Ruger American 6.5 creedmoor with a 6x by 24x Arken SH4 gen2 Scope $900 for both + tax, shipping and ffl. &1030 all in. And challenge him to a shootout. Oh yeah, his trigger was set at .75 lbs. if I even stay close it’s gonna be ugly at 1/7 the cost!

  41. Ian Currie on January 24, 2023 at 2:18 am

    Easily impressed with a substandard product.

  42. joe smith on January 24, 2023 at 2:19 am

    0 moa rail vs 20 ? can you explain please

  43. War’s A Racket on January 24, 2023 at 2:20 am

    Is there a chance the action screws didn’t get torqued back to spec after having the barreled action out of the stock for trigger adjustment?

  44. Angling&Aquatics on January 24, 2023 at 2:20 am

    Rifle got dirty and shot better lol

  45. Richard Waid on January 24, 2023 at 2:22 am

    I shot my new 6.5 predator today using my friends hand loads (small primer pocket lapua brass, 140 grain hornady Eld match bullets, 42.5 grains hodgdon 4350 powder). I made a sub moa 3/4” once and a couple 1” to 1.25. To make sub moa groups a lighter trigger is a must. I’ve ordered an OLDBEAVERGUNSMITH spring that takes the pull ranges down to 1.3 to 2 lbs. from 3-4.5. Available on eBay for $9. Install appears to be pretty simple. Can’t wait to get my reloading supplies and the spring and work up my own loads. There’s brass, bullets and powder out there but they’re keeping the primers with the unicorns. I believe your groups would tighten up big time with a lighter trigger

  46. Bernard Coppolelli on January 24, 2023 at 2:23 am

    maybe because your rifle was new U had TOOLING MARKS IN YOUR BARREL and once you shot them out your accuracy improved ?

  47. Tanner Laster on January 24, 2023 at 2:25 am

    Did any one else see that bullet shell land at 15:00

  48. Dennis Burkhammer on January 24, 2023 at 2:30 am

    i have the ruger predator in 6.5cm and i love it.i up graded to a boyds laminated spike camp stock,added a tank no.3 muzzle brake, and shoot sierra 120 gr. pro hunter bullets with 38.4 grains of imr4350.can cover a 5 shot group at 100yrs with a nickol.mine shoots best with a dirty barrel.

  49. Ken Andrews on January 24, 2023 at 2:30 am

    Well done review… New Subscriber
    I own a Ruger American Rifle Predator in 6.5 Creedmoor with just a Hawke 3x9x40 mil dot scope. I may upgrade the scope but, so far it has served me well hunting Whitetail over farm/ranch land bordered by wind-break tree lines. Zeroed in at 200 yards with 1-MOA group using Winchester 125g Deer Season ammunition.

  50. Jaysun Kreuze on January 24, 2023 at 2:30 am

    Any t8me you see string8ng with quality ammo, you have a harmonics issue. I have the same rifle with the factory camo stock, cerakoted barrel, and muzzle brake…factory! I had the same issues you have. So I removed the stock and clearance it for better free float, bedded the forestock with metal putty, and added a 3/4 ID stainless shaft collar right behind the muzzle brake. I shot 2 shot groups and moved the shaft collar rearward 1/16 inch between groups until they reached max accuracy of 5 touching on paper at 100 yards. Problem solved, and the shaft collar I’m sure would aid in grouping other ammo as well. It’s all about harmonics and I’m shooting 3 inch groups at 600 yards.

Leave a Comment