Ruger Gunsite Scout Rifle Review

Ruger Gunsite Scout Rifle Review

The Ruger Gunsite Scout was designed to follow Col. Jeff Cooper’s Scout Rifle concept. Lightweight, compact, manoeuvrable and accurate, Ruger say that if you only have one rifle in your armoury, this should be it. Let’s take a closer look at one of the most highly regarded rifles for a generation

To watch more exciting hunting episodes visit My Outdoor TV – https://www.myoutdoortv.com

49 Comments

  1. Randall Kelnhofer on July 20, 2022 at 7:30 pm

    Well done,



  2. Cal Sorrows on July 20, 2022 at 7:30 pm

    I hear the other viewer’s comments about the long eye relief, but this still fits in the overall ethos of the Cooper scout concept. It’s a handsome looking thing as well. I was lucky enough to meet Mr Cooper on a rare visit to Bisley, and I think he would have approved. Great review, makes me seriously consider renewing my very lapsed FAC. I surrendered mine when I left the industry after Mr Hurd did his evil work, and have missed shooting immensely.



  3. David Pogge on July 20, 2022 at 7:30 pm

    Got one for my daughter. She used it to take a black bear on her high school graduation hunting trip. One shot. DRT.



  4. Joshohoho on July 20, 2022 at 7:31 pm

    this video help me decide between the tactical version and scout version but damn stay still in your video lol. just kidding, great video.



  5. David Pallin on July 20, 2022 at 7:31 pm

    I can’t make up my mind between the Gunsite Scout or the Ruger Hawkeye compact. Please, someone help me out here.



  6. Andrew Yi on July 20, 2022 at 7:33 pm

    What’s the best scope for this rifle?



  7. Edgar Alvarez on July 20, 2022 at 7:35 pm

    excelente demostración de entrenamiento de armas .al futuro .una enseñanza.



  8. William B on July 20, 2022 at 7:40 pm

    I’m glad that there are still Europeans who value firearms, hunting, and the right to both.



  9. Sy Lucas on July 20, 2022 at 7:41 pm

    Great review! Thanks!



  10. J J on July 20, 2022 at 7:41 pm

    Bought mine a couple of months ago. Given that SHTF has already started, it seemed like a good piece to have around.



  11. ColdWarWarriors on July 20, 2022 at 7:42 pm

    Looks good, thanks for the review.



  12. RichieV on July 20, 2022 at 7:42 pm

    Yer I love it especially with a MDT stock



  13. Bryn Bushey on July 20, 2022 at 7:43 pm

    Good review but it would be nice to see you shoot it some more, and especially see how it groups, maybe even shoot a steel plate at 450 yards with it and put that in your review!



  14. IntertubeTr0ll on July 20, 2022 at 7:43 pm

    lol, Great Wall sponsorship? Has it fallen apart yet?



  15. Jack Dillon on July 20, 2022 at 7:45 pm

    sounds like a plan.. i will see you there.



  16. CoGhostRider on July 20, 2022 at 7:47 pm

    Got tired just from watching you walk in and out lol jk



  17. Xxx xxX on July 20, 2022 at 7:48 pm

    Is this a European who doesn’t think guns are the spawn of Satan?



  18. SeAk Adventurer on July 20, 2022 at 7:49 pm

    Why review a rifle if you aren’t going to set it up how it is designed/intended? Might as well just slap a scope on an m77 compact….



  19. Mr McDonald on July 20, 2022 at 7:50 pm

    Man your deer are the size of dogs there lol



  20. Wes Lesley on July 20, 2022 at 7:51 pm

    take a shot whenever he starts a sentence with ‘so’. RIP liver.



  21. James Amescua on July 20, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    New gun to my wish list.



  22. Weencie Rants on July 20, 2022 at 7:54 pm

    If I lived in the UK Id use this as home defense…. But since I live in the US I’ll gladly stick with my AR 😉



  23. raptor5908 on July 20, 2022 at 7:56 pm

    This is the export version – for the rest of the world, except the US – , in my eyes a silly export regulaton of the US State department. Why shoudn`t we here in Europe get the version with the flash hider? Nevertheless I will buy one of these rifles – I simply love it – and will move back the front sight (bead sight) a little bit, just enough to get the necessary place for a .308 flash hider.

    Great video, grat rifle – well done and greetings from Austria / Europe.



  24. Team Wild TV on July 20, 2022 at 7:56 pm

    Come and see us on the Team Wild booth at the British Shooting Show in February. We have both a new and pre-owned Ruger Gunsite Scout. I’m sure we can do you a deal on a complete package if you’re interested?



  25. Bluestem on July 20, 2022 at 7:57 pm

    Stripper clip guides would have made this rifle perfect.



  26. Tim Jackson on July 20, 2022 at 7:59 pm

    love your vids. nice overview of the ruger gss



  27. Delta Zulu on July 20, 2022 at 7:59 pm

    26 seconds of bull to get to the video. Trim that down guys.



  28. Snipified on July 20, 2022 at 8:00 pm

    You should stop walking at the beginning of every god damn scene.



  29. iknowsstuff on July 20, 2022 at 8:02 pm

    Brits with guns and Chinese made made 4×4 whats next



  30. Dan Scott on July 20, 2022 at 8:03 pm

    Who cares if it is empty? (@ 1:03) Plus he didn’t even look in the chamber. If you are going to push the illusion of safety; do your drills properly! Dismissed.



  31. Team Wild TV on July 20, 2022 at 8:04 pm

    True, but I couldn’t get my hands on one I’m afraid, but will be picking one up at the SHOT Show in January



  32. Robert Schill on July 20, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    O.k. this is driving me nuts. I see review after review where they are mounting their scopes over the chamber. If you aren’t going to use a long eye relief scope you aren’t shooting that rifle as Cooper intended.



  33. Rusty Shackleford on July 20, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    The scout rifle is a neat concept, but nobody truly cares to try the forward mounted scope because options suck. Got a handful of Leupolds, a Burris, and a Vortex. They certainly don’t hold a candle to the glass you see on channels like this. Just like Steyr’ they knew to keep sales up, ride the name and offer a traditional setup. Given the UK seems to have a lot of stalk hunting, it’s a well suited concept for what they do.



  34. Daniel Maybee on July 20, 2022 at 8:07 pm

    That scope should be mounted more forward…or be a longer eye relief scope…that’s kind of the point



  35. Ricky Shultz on July 20, 2022 at 8:08 pm

    You lost the scout concept when you took the rear site off to mount a conventional scope .



  36. Jack Dillon on July 20, 2022 at 8:08 pm

    now on my new rifle list to be filled at the Game fair in Feb !



  37. saskcop on July 20, 2022 at 8:09 pm

    I have one of these rifles and I must say that Ruger kind of failed on this one. If you mount the scope in the traditional fashion, over the chamber, then you have to remove the rear sight. This defeats the purpose of the rifle having sights for back-up in the first place. 18.5" barrel is too short for ballistic efficiency in .308. 20" would be a much better idea, and it would still retain the handiness of the rifle.



  38. Shipwrek 4 on July 20, 2022 at 8:09 pm

    Can’t there b one review with a forward mounted scope the way it’s supposed to b used



  39. Korgon2013 on July 20, 2022 at 8:10 pm

    Murderer!!!! Just kidding. This is an awesome gun, really want one. My



  40. raisis2k34 on July 20, 2022 at 8:14 pm

    I just wish it had an adjustable cheek rest :/



  41. Russell Turnbull on July 20, 2022 at 8:14 pm

    Great video!!



  42. Jay Winters on July 20, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    Stop walking around so much



  43. ANDERS on July 20, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    We must keep our 2nd amendment !!!!!!!!!!!!TRUMP/PENCE 2020 KAG



  44. Bluestem on July 20, 2022 at 8:20 pm

    Because for the same price of a single magazine one can buy over a dozen clips. Plus clips make it extremely easy to top off a magazine AND 5 rnd clips are more convenient than bulky magazines.



  45. glodiel does it on July 20, 2022 at 8:21 pm

    Cool video but why do you keep moving lmao its kinda weird



  46. TrippleBeem on July 20, 2022 at 8:22 pm

    Are you trying to TRIGGER me by mounting that traditional scope so far to the rear????



  47. raptor5908 on July 20, 2022 at 8:27 pm

    The original Scout in "blued" with flashhider is now available in Austria!



  48. ranger4219 on July 20, 2022 at 8:30 pm

    Very nice review thank you. Actually entertaining thoughts of adding a long gun to my collection.



  49. truong nguyen huu on July 20, 2022 at 8:30 pm

    gooooooddddddddddddddddddd