Savage Axis 6.5 Creedmoor Review and Range Test!

Savage Axis 6.5 Creedmoor Review and Range Test!

GET HERE Savage Axis: https://bit.ly/3nGglec
Savage Axis Review 6.5 Creedmoor and Range Test!
In this video we take an in-depth look at the Savage Axis bolt action rifle. We test it on the range and also go over design. We talk about the stock, bolt, recoil lug, trigger, barrel, receiver and more. This rifle is a budget rifle so we are seeing what the how good a bottom of the barrel rifle can be. This one happens to be chambered in 6.5 creedmoor. We test it for groups at 100 yards with Hornady American Gunner factory ammo.
The Savage AXIS offers hunters and shooters a high performance rifle without breaking the bank. Every AXIS rifle is loaded with features that deliver tack-driving accuracy with every shot. Offered in a variety of configurations — including left hand, XP optics package, compact and camo, and AccuTrigger — there is an AXIS for everyone.

➡️OUR GEAR STORE USA: https://www.amazon.com/shop/bullets4bucks

Disclaimer: Do not attempt any stunts seen on this channel. Actors are trained firearms professionals. Always follow manufacturer’s instructions. Minors should not handle firearms without parental supervision.

This video or description may contain affiliate links. Bullets4Bucks is a participant in affiliate advertising programs designed to provide income.

Disclosure: Some products are provided by companies as samples or by friends for testing and evaluation.

💳DONATE TO THE CHANNEL
PayPal: bullets4bucks@gmail.com

FOLLOW US
👥Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bullets4bucks
🐦Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/bullets4bucks
📸Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bullets4bucks

Bullets4Bucks is a product of Pure Wyoming Productions LLC, an Wyoming Limited Liability Company

#onxhunt #truproducts #proforsho #hunting #deerhunting #elkhunting #howa1500 #athlonoptics #bearhunting #antelopehunting #huntingvideos #hunt #vortexoptics #bullets4bucks #publiclandowner

50 Comments

  1. Leafbinder on July 21, 2022 at 7:39 pm

    Hey Mate what rail did you use to mount your scope you covered everything except that? Im going to be mounting a vortex crossfire on mine and need to know Thanks.

  2. Daniel Loerzel on July 21, 2022 at 7:39 pm

    Put oversized extractor balls in all of my savage bolts to prevent extraction issues. Also keep extra extractors and balls on hand.

  3. Ken Fischmann on July 21, 2022 at 7:40 pm

    Everyone generally seems to criticize Savage rifles because of that "catch" on opening. FYI Savage rifles cock on opening, IMHO better than on closing when you’re trying to get back on target. The bolt handle does suck but is easily remedied by replacing it with a tactical unit from Glades Armory ($56) and a 6lb trigger can be reduced to 2.5lb with a $25 kit from M*Carbo, both installed in less than half an hour on my dining room table. You can buy a new rifle for $250 on sale, I bought mine in 270 used for $125 with a Pentax 2.5x10x44 scope on it. I have $200 in it and it shoots better than my Ruger, my M700 Remington and my Tikka T3 so what’s not to like. I don’t care if the stock flexes, I filled the fore end with epoxy and then I made sure the barrel was free floated. Other than that, no worries. Even with the crappy recoil lug it still shoots sub moa out of a sled which is better than I can shoot with my handloads, it’s not bad with commercial ammo too. The 6 deer I’ve taken with it aren’t complaining. Right now I’m looking for a Axis II XP with the heavy barrel in 6.5 Creedmoor just to see what that will do. I can’t recommend them more, for the cost you just can’t beat them and if your handy and good with a screwdriver they get even better.

  4. C.R. RG95 on July 21, 2022 at 7:40 pm

    How about a review of the savage 110 ultralite with the proof research barrel

  5. RIPPER334 on July 21, 2022 at 7:40 pm

    Since when is 6.5 Creedmore a long action?

  6. Montana Idol on July 21, 2022 at 7:43 pm

    How far do you think you could get decent groupings with a better scope on it?

  7. Jimmy Eets on July 21, 2022 at 7:44 pm

    But in place of the acutrigger the savage axis comes with a scope. Yes not a real high end scope but a weaver 3x9x40. Not all bad. I would take the scope over the trigger on this gun. I got it on Black Friday for 229.99. Couldn’t pass it up.

  8. ethan cookson on July 21, 2022 at 7:46 pm

    Would this be a good deer rifle

  9. J D M Brace Yourself on July 21, 2022 at 7:46 pm

    It’s not free float

  10. koofdome on July 21, 2022 at 7:47 pm

    308, 30-06, or 6.5 and why?

    As an emergency SHTF hunting rifle.

  11. James Bjork on July 21, 2022 at 7:47 pm

    Word to the wise- Do not use 120 grain Federal American Eagle in the Axis 6.5 Creedmoor. I went from (barely) sub-MOA at 100 yd in my initial range session with several typical loads to 8-inch groups when I used the Federal that I got cheap locally at only $1.25 a round. It didn’t occur to me that 120 grain would fare so badly with the Axis’ 1-in-8 twist, so I assumed the cheap Weaver throw-in scope went bad and I replaced the scope on Black Friday with a Vortex Vanquish…. just to get 8-in groups again with the rest of the Federal box. Once I put a different round back in (Hornady Precision Hunter,) I got back to sub-MOA again. I would think 1-in-8 would still stabilize 120 grain, but maybe not in that cartridge…. Great gun for the money! (and now I have an extra throw-in scope for something someday…)

  12. Reloading Weatherby on July 21, 2022 at 7:48 pm

    I have this rifle in 270 Win….. It sucks haha. The best groups I can get is 2 inches. My trigger has to be a 7 pound pull. Oh well, you get what you pay for.

  13. Kyle Sullivan on July 21, 2022 at 7:48 pm

    What range was that at? As in yards

  14. North Point Axe on July 21, 2022 at 7:48 pm

    Looks like your comb pad is blocking full extension of the bolt.

  15. Iron Sights on July 21, 2022 at 7:49 pm

    This was my first hunting rifle and i liked the heavy trigger because it didnt shock me by being so sensitive like my 20 guage shotgun where u barely touch it and boom

  16. Points West Outdoors on July 21, 2022 at 7:49 pm

    Nice Thorough review , I have savage axis .308 and now a savage 110 switchback 6.5 cm. I love my new 110 . The axis is a great rifle for how inexpensive it is.

  17. Zander41 Nicola on July 21, 2022 at 7:49 pm

    My rifle has trouble picking up the round to

  18. Greg Schaller on July 21, 2022 at 7:51 pm

    I HAVE THE SAME SAVAGE AXIS 6.5 CREEDMOOR

  19. D C on July 21, 2022 at 7:54 pm

    Can you tell me the model number for the bushnell scope that comes on the axis xp combo (4x12x40)? thanks.

  20. BuckeyePatriot on July 21, 2022 at 7:57 pm

    Thank you…thoroughly informative, I like the rifle also

  21. Steemer Xaxon on July 21, 2022 at 8:00 pm

    I don’t think you brought your BOLT all the way back to engage the ejector

  22. Darryl Pacholko on July 21, 2022 at 8:02 pm

    I probably would not buy this rifle. For a little extra the Xp2 is better because the trigger is so much better. I have a Ruger American standard and it’s good enough as a starter rifle that you could give to a youngster or as a borrow out gun.

  23. A_freaking_Lime-gaming on July 21, 2022 at 8:03 pm

    I almost bought a remington 6 months ago but found the axis on sale for $275 couldn’t pass it up heard a lot of good reviews and of course the scope had to go lol. But playing around with Ammo I was told 147gr was great and it is but for whatever reason the 120gr hornady match holds a tighter group at 50 and 100. Great video and helpful info now I know more about my rifle keep it up

  24. WILBERT RAMOS on July 21, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    I’m undecided on this one or the ruger predator 6.5

  25. J D M Brace Yourself on July 21, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    I love coyote hunting with my 76 year old dad with Savage Axis 223

  26. Mike Hanna on July 21, 2022 at 8:08 pm

    Could the failure to extract be because it hit the material on the stock of the rifle?

  27. Florida Cracker on July 21, 2022 at 8:10 pm

    Thanks Stephen. Thorough and I like the interior pictures of the stock without the action.

  28. ger yang on July 21, 2022 at 8:11 pm

    Where did u get the bipod stand, if u don’t mind sharing with us.

  29. Rockjock007 on July 21, 2022 at 8:12 pm

    With all the faults you mentioned it still shot sub MOA… so the faults aren’t really faults in reality? It is a inexpensive rifle that shoots as good as a Howa. Impressive!

  30. Nick on July 21, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    how did you mount the bipod??

  31. Dalt on July 21, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    You didn’t have any failure to ejects, your sleeve on the stock prevented it from functioning correctly u also did it slow and choppy

  32. Nightwave37 on July 21, 2022 at 8:18 pm

    I personally own a Savage 110 trophy hunter XP it has a detachable magazine just like the axis that’s where the similarities end. Mine has the accutrigger, 3 position tang safety, Rem 700 style recoil lug. and it does have a smooth bolt. I just wish I would of held out for the 110 Classic . I agree with you on free floating recoil lugs on a rifle I do not like them and last but least I enjoy your reviews keep up the good work.

  33. ghostgadgetguy on July 21, 2022 at 8:22 pm

    I have an Axis II. I’ve found on cheap ammo, I have to be smooth and deliberate on my bolt pull back. Otherwise I’ve had ejection issues. Again, this was with cheap ammo only.

  34. OCL Sportsman on July 21, 2022 at 8:23 pm

    Thanks for the information. I never knew that all Savage Axis rifle recievers were long actions. Thanks again for the thorough review.

  35. Stetson&Spurs on July 21, 2022 at 8:23 pm

    Savage has really stepped their game up on providing lefties with a lot of options in their line. Its nice to see a company that hasn’t forgotten about the roughly 29 million lefties in the United States alone.

  36. All The Kids Are Right on July 21, 2022 at 8:23 pm

    Good review.

  37. Colter on July 21, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    100th comment! Lol. Hello from UT PD

  38. Nathan Zimmerman on July 21, 2022 at 8:26 pm

    I would like to see you do a review on the Remington 783. It comes with a really nice adjustable trigger. We like the Remington more than the savage axis my son has.

  39. Nova on July 21, 2022 at 8:27 pm

    I just ordered this gun wit the accu trigger. $679 in Canada

  40. Dan 101 on July 21, 2022 at 8:29 pm

    Very good review with specific details. I have been thinking about one of the budget rifles in 6:5 creedmore I’ve always been a fan of how the 6.5 Swede performes. I ruled out the Remington early on, then the Patriot kind of peaked my interest, but it has finally come down to the American and the Axis for me both are high value for the money and excellent rifles but I am leaning toward the Savage. I think the floating bolt head and the precision head space with the locking nut barrel are a unique design that deals rifles in fine tuning accuracy. So I may be picking my Axis up soon. But any of these rifles are great not just for price but because they can be carried and shot well for hunting. It’s amazing what these company’s can do.

  41. hart on July 21, 2022 at 8:29 pm

    Someone is selling one for $250. Is that a good deal?

  42. three oh five on July 21, 2022 at 8:30 pm

    I still carry this rifle in 7mm08 alot more then my rem700bdl,xbolt,marlin jm stamped 3030,and other 700.maybe because it was my first is why..mcarbo makes a spring kit for the trigger that worked good in mine

  43. Magictalent on July 21, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    3 lb trigger. Nice. My trigger is 6.7 lb when I got the gun. Drop to 6 after some use. The newer stock is strong and I do not need to do anything to it.

  44. Anthony Banks on July 21, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    That’s how my savage 6.5 shoots really good

  45. tt on July 21, 2022 at 8:33 pm

    your bolt seems really butter smooth, however my is way too heavy. I did some research some people complain about that as well but never come with a solution. Is yours originally like that smooth?

  46. James Roberts on July 21, 2022 at 8:33 pm

    I was interested in this rifle but not familiar with 6.5 Creedmoor ammo. Is it expensive?

  47. Nathan Zimmerman on July 21, 2022 at 8:33 pm

    I have 2 Remington 783’s, a 243 and a 270 and I love those guns. The triggers are great the bolt is smooth and it patterns out really well.

  48. Iron Sights on July 21, 2022 at 8:33 pm

    Ive never had a failure to extract

  49. Romeo Alpha Foxtrot on July 21, 2022 at 8:34 pm

    Great video! That rifle is a shooter for sure.
    Actually the trigger is very easy to work on. For $20 Mcarbo makes a spring and shim kit for it that is very easy to install. They have a video on their site showing how to do this.
    I have a friend who has an older Axis in .223 that is lights out accurate. All he has done is put a slightly better scope (4.5-14x40mm Mueller APV) and some better rings. (Burris Signature Zee)

  50. C. Welch on July 21, 2022 at 8:38 pm

    The Savage 110 in .308 was my first bolt gun I bought in college. I traded a lemon SKS and paid $200 for it. It has served me well and shoots as accurately as it did when I bought it. In fact I shoot it better now. Not a bit of trouble. It did develop a tiny hint of oxidation on the lower part of the bolt lug, but I scraped it off with a brush. Zero regrets.

Leave a Comment