Savage IMPULSE Big Game (300 Win Mag) Full Length Review

Savage IMPULSE Big Game (300 Win Mag) Full Length Review

Full-length review of the new(ish) Savage IMPULSE, the first mass-produced American straight-pull bolt action rifle. I tested out the “Big Game” model in 300 Winchester Magnum. I had a few gripes, but there was definitely a lot to love about this straight-pull rifle, as long as this feature set fits your use case.

20 Comments

  1. wowtboy on January 25, 2023 at 1:39 am

    Best review on YouTube I have seen on the Impulse great job. I have been looking at this for some time in a 308 Hog Hunter with the shorter barrel at my age (79) I won’t be climbing in mountains 😂 thanks for a real great review. You have a new subscriber 😊

  2. Kangwan Khottawong on January 25, 2023 at 1:39 am

    Can I use this rifle for 1,000 m. shooting competition?

  3. TheReysinhell on January 25, 2023 at 1:41 am

    I like this one. Thanks for the review.

  4. Will Elliott on January 25, 2023 at 1:42 am

    i am tempted, but I wish they had given it an upgraded stock. This stock is nearly identical to that of my 110 High Country. I would love to see an adjustable comb with continued camo pattern, or at least of an earth tone rather than black. The holes in the stock that hold the spacer and buttplate to the stock are simply molded into the plastic. Threaded metal inserts would be nice. BTW, though the spacers nest, you are not supposed to insert more than one. The screws are long enough only for the thickest spacer.

  5. Travis Nooski on January 25, 2023 at 1:45 am

    I got my hands on one the other day wow that Barrel is heavy

  6. warmonger82 on January 25, 2023 at 1:45 am

    Outstanding review! Question though, is it possible to put the AICS mag setup of the predator onto the big game version?

  7. North49 on January 25, 2023 at 1:46 am

    Good choice! Great review. Couldn’t get this model in CANADA … back ordered. So ended up purchasing a Sako S20 300 Win Mag… sweet. Certainly on my list to get one eventually.👍🇨🇦👍🇨🇦 Thanks, liked and Sub’d

  8. LJ on January 25, 2023 at 1:51 am

    Do you think a suppressor would help tame the recoil just a tad?

  9. Bear Foot Bowhunter on January 25, 2023 at 1:51 am

    Lol hog hunter and it dosnt have an aics magwell. Makes sense 🤔 oh and we cant get cans here in Australia

  10. Xiong Lor on January 25, 2023 at 1:53 am

    Is there a bolt lock?

  11. Terry Hemmes on January 25, 2023 at 2:04 am

    These kinda make me nervous. Has anyone ever ate the bolt after pulling the trigger

  12. Landcruiser Chewy on January 25, 2023 at 2:07 am

    Just got mine a couple weeks ago. Big Game in 30-06 is how I roll. I had been eying the 110, but once I saw this thing, I immediately knew what I wanted. I had the opportunity to fire a Blazer in Europe and have wanted a straight pull ever since. I’m glad I waited! Can’t wait to let it flex. Happy hunting!

  13. Warren Green on January 25, 2023 at 2:18 am

    The hog hunter by savge first came out about 7years ago in the savge 11-111 built on the savge 110 bolt action platform with a 20in threaded heavy barrel with big bolt knob with a green stock and they was only chambered in 308 then they came out with few different models in the hog hunter name

  14. Kwa_bena on January 25, 2023 at 2:19 am

    The hog hunter version is just a cosmetic version. The only thing different is that it’s not chambered in 300WSM or 22-250. My local gun store had about ten of them in 30-06 and 300WM. So far I’m loving the thing in 30-06 but it’s save to say that I’m buying thing gun more than once

  15. FRAMED69 on January 25, 2023 at 2:20 am

    Snyder mags and Darkeagle custom make 10 round mags that will fit this model.

  16. Cristian Mihai on January 25, 2023 at 2:20 am

    Is there a compatible suppressor for this one particular model BIG GAME?

  17. D_Rock on January 25, 2023 at 2:21 am

    Might take a while to get one but I’m thinking I’ll order one of these in 300 win mag through their blue label program. Just wish they had one in 6.5 prc, already got a good bolt gun in 6.5 creedmoor.

  18. lazydragonslayer on January 25, 2023 at 2:28 am

    Looks like it needs to have a proof research barrel. 280ai or 30-06 would be my flavor.

  19. Scott Milam on January 25, 2023 at 2:34 am

    Man I gotta say….i enjoyed this review so much. Very thoughtful and informative.
    Your enthusiasm comes thru. So well done. Thank ya. Now I gotta buy an impulse😂

  20. JK on January 25, 2023 at 2:36 am

    Excellent review. Not as easy to come by and intend to pick one up when availability becomes frequent.

Leave a Comment