Sig Tango 4 1-4×24 FFP: Why I Won't Be Reviewing One

Sig Tango 4 1-4×24 FFP: Why I Won't Be Reviewing One

Sig Tango 4 1-4×24 FFP
I never mounted it on a 5.56 rifle because I knew I wasn’t going to review it. Figured I’d shoot a bit on a .22LR see if my opinion changed at all. It didn’t.

Soo… It’s my least favorite type of review. The Sig Tango 4… what a weird optic.
Ultimately, it’s a “okay” optic. And I think a lot of people won’t mind the points I bring up.
However, I do think many more WILL mind, and there’s near zero reviews of these on the internet that aren’t paid product endorsements. Nearly none of them either even mention that the illum is nearly unusable, and the reticule is way to small. So I felt the need to speak out, instead of quietly returning this to amazon.
Ultimately this is just *my* take on something. And my friend who owns the Tango 6. Is much less concerned. However, this is a channel about my take on things; hence this video.

Discord Link: https://discord.gg/AVgEVZaBTG

21 Comments

  1. Hoplopfheil on July 22, 2022 at 7:46 pm

    So do these get better or worse the farther down the alphabet they go? It seems like a good system, I just need to figure out the rubric…

  2. unknown on July 22, 2022 at 7:50 pm

    I haven’t pulled the trigger on an optic cuz I find flaws with every youtubers reviews of optics. Like they speak highly of Burris & primary arms and I find them to be trash. Lpvo reticles shouldn’t be Hella thick. There’s nothing out there under $500 with a good reticle for use beyond plinking.
    Thanks for your honesty

  3. Peter Egger on July 22, 2022 at 7:52 pm

    I unfortunately made the same mistake and purchased a Tango4 quite a few years ago. Could not find any reviews at the time I bought mine. It is a POS for the reasons you stated. For those that will still buy one…. some people will go ahead and piss on an electric fence no matter what you try to tell them!

  4. 2A Michael J on July 22, 2022 at 7:52 pm

    A 1-4 FFP seems pointless to me. Unless it’s at a minimum of 8 magnification, FFP is not needed imo.

  5. Char00 1977 on July 22, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    I have one.
    I run an offset reflex with it.
    For the 350 I paid for it new, it’s fine.
    I just don’t ask it to be a red dot.

  6. Daniel on July 22, 2022 at 7:55 pm

    I have the 4-16×44 and if I could just keep it from breaking it would probably be my favorite optic for the money. So far it’s broke twice 1st was on the windage now it’s on the elevation… The part of the optic under the turret that is supposed to be attached to the optic body that allows you to keep track of your your revolutions or your reference point when zeroing out your turrets has broke lose for the 2nd time… It’s a damn shame because the glass is great, the turrets gives you great feedback, the reticle is awesome (it’s a 4-16 so you can see the reticle) and it has zero stops all for a reasonable price… I’m waiting on a shipping label now and hopefully I can get my money back because I’ve lost all faith in this optic!!!

  7. Brad Armstrong on July 22, 2022 at 7:56 pm

    Just want to say you don’t like it, fine, your opinion, my opinion is when people publish statements that are unequivocal like it’s trash etc when talking about there opinion, I think that is trash. I love the Tango 4, and I have zero issue with the illumination, but maybe I got 2 good ones…..I can put a bullet in your ear at 100 yards at 50 with no magnification. Post your opinions but state them as such, drunk or not, no excuse. I love mine as apparently does the US armed forces.

  8. Markius Fox on July 22, 2022 at 8:00 pm

    They could probably add a thick "circle-of-death" that is 30 MOA for when the optic is at 1x and keep all the other reticle features. That might make it better, but that’s up to Sig to decide.

  9. wedge6756 on July 22, 2022 at 8:00 pm

    jokes on you i always ran steel

  10. Todd K on July 22, 2022 at 8:02 pm

    Shit….less than $300 for a Primary Arms with a reticle that’s ten times better. Everyone is trying to reinvent the wheel not realizing it’s actually worse.

  11. jim jab on July 22, 2022 at 8:04 pm

    This is hopfeelers boyfriend, they both hate everything but like the Elcan that everyone hates. Opinion ignored.

  12. Oscarman on July 22, 2022 at 8:07 pm

    On s 22lr…… really

  13. Mason Jackman on July 22, 2022 at 8:10 pm

    Not sure why you got such a damn one but mine is as bright as my razor

  14. ChonkedaDevil on July 22, 2022 at 8:13 pm

    The salt and alcohol fuelled truth got a thumbs up.

    Good review. Thanks!

  15. EruditeFuzz on July 22, 2022 at 8:13 pm

    The Romeo MSR Red Dot has the MOTAC advertised on it’s box, too. It doesn’t, and the manual says it doesn’t. The online descriptions are 50/50 on saying it does or not.

  16. capnhands on July 22, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    I leave it always on 6x. If I have to engage a target that’s close, I use the red dot sight mounted on the scope tube.

  17. Brandon Parrett on July 22, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    Mine goes way below 1x. It’s slightly over the 2x whenever I notice targets appearing at 1 x so I have a .5x-3x

  18. ExplorinInTheWoods on July 22, 2022 at 8:18 pm

    I had a buddy sell his Eotech to buy one and he regretted it, he loves his 1-8 vcog on his work gun. I’m not sure why they went FFP on a 1-4. SFP is fine for 1-4 and most 1-6 depending on reticle design. LPVO have bad battery life in general, I’m not sold on sig optics. The glass quality is good but sig is still new to optics.

  19. KryptOKeeper on July 22, 2022 at 8:18 pm

    Steiner p4xi is my favorite 1-4 wish the price didn’t increase. Almost not worth it at the current price when there are 1-6 worth it at its current price.

  20. TacticalBeard on July 22, 2022 at 8:36 pm

    I’m not going to do a review. Dose a review

  21. Brass Facts on July 22, 2022 at 8:37 pm

    was honestly this close to not making this video. As this seems to go very much against the grain of what most "famous" Youtubers say about this optic family. Maybe my dislike for this optic is more of a preference thing, and it’s not objectively bad. Regardless, I said f-it. And uploaded it. At the end of the day it’s a sample size of one, and there are so few 4T reviews out there, I figured I put my experience out there.

Leave a Comment