Smith & Wesson 686 Review

Smith & Wesson 686 Review

Reviewing my Smith and Wesson model 686 with the 4.125″ barrel six shot .357 Magnum revolver. Always appreciative of any channel help 🙂 https://www.patreon.com/user?u=5828221

50 Comments

  1. RGL01 on September 18, 2022 at 8:35 pm

    I think I’m convinced. Will go well with my Winchester 1892.

  2. Gary Lewis on September 18, 2022 at 8:37 pm

    I have a 586 and a 686 and I love them both. Perfect size guns, good video!

  3. Erol Kavlak Verizon on September 18, 2022 at 8:43 pm

    My favorite 4 " .357 mag. Is my Ruger Security-six I’ve had it since 1980. I had a S&W 66 but I traded it years ago.

  4. Angel Capote on September 18, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    Hey bud thanks for your videos I enjoy them and have learned a lot from them. I’m about to buy my first revolver and I’m looking at the Ruger GP100 also the S&W 686 and 586.my question for you and your followers which not should I go for in your opinion. Thanks

  5. JAR on September 18, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    I want 686 so bad , but wife said NO! 😳🤣✌🍺🇺🇸

  6. Moderate Mexican American Patriot on September 18, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    That’s a sweet revolver brother

  7. Bob Ninzatti on September 18, 2022 at 8:52 pm

    Open question, what would be one of the better 6 shot revolvers, in only 38 special, Thx

  8. Sombra on September 18, 2022 at 8:54 pm

    I don’t own a 686, but carried one years ago – mine marked BP-1 inside the frame. It was reissued to me. Don’t know how many rounds it had accumulated, but it always worked fine for me. Carry and qualification round was the Federal 110 grain 357 mag. SJHP – not extreme but still fairly snappy. I haven’t been a great enthusiast of the S&W internal lock designs, but have noticed when handling Smith revolvers that it seems as though newer renditions of the K-L frames have shorter lock work and thus shorter trigger travel – which isn’t a bad thing. The only issue I ever noted from general issue 686s was the ejector rod occasionally unscrewing slightly and preventing the cylinder from opening. Those incidents, while fairly uncommon, always occurred during range sessions, usually when shooting magnums. They also always occurred to those who were not overly gun-savvy and didn’t pay much attention to their handguns outside of the range.

  9. Scubaguy007 on September 18, 2022 at 8:54 pm

    The 3" 686+ is the best .357 revolver in my opinion.

  10. Andrew on September 18, 2022 at 8:55 pm

    Great review Sam! The 686 is my very favorite revolver. I have the 6" version and shoot primarily .38 special from it. It has been supremely reliable, you just can’t beat its looks, and ergonomically it fits my hand better than any semiauto I have ever fired. Off a bench (using a pistol rest and Magtech 38 special ammo) I can put 3 rounds in the same hole at 10 yards, so any accuracy problems I might have are my fault, not the gun.

  11. Rain Song73 on September 18, 2022 at 8:56 pm

    Hey Sam have you looked at the new Colt Python ? Would love to hear your thoughts.

  12. Doug Prominski on September 18, 2022 at 8:56 pm

    I concur with your opinion on the 686. I also own a 4 inch version and it is one of my all time favorite guns. In comparison to the Colt Python, the Python is a very pretty gun and I have owned three in my lifetime, but the S&W 586/686 is a much more robust firearm………and there aint nothin wrong with the looks of the 586 or the 686 ! Signed, Doug.

  13. angrysheepdog on September 18, 2022 at 8:58 pm

    Awesome review Sam. The 686 is an iconic handgun for sure. It just melds with the hand with an action that feels like butter.

  14. russ elder on September 18, 2022 at 8:58 pm

    Very interesting …my favorite handgun is my S&W 620 which is a lot like the 686 but does not have the full length under lug and is a 2 piece barrel….it is an L frame also….like you this is my #1 handgun i love it and would never get rid of it…we have been using Accurate #9, 4227 and 2400 all run very well with 158 Ssft points…..real nice shooting at 75 yds…stay safe in these crazy times

  15. Tyler Morrison on September 18, 2022 at 8:58 pm

    Sam, I think you’re right about the L-frame. It seems to he just right (for the right hand size). That said, I have an N-frame snub nose. Im able to get a good grip on it, but I’m still searching for the perfect grips. Initially, I had Pachmyr Diamond rubber grips. They felt pretty good, but damn it…i wanted wood. I bought some combat contour wood grips from Eagle. They’re pretty nice, but the wood above the bottom groove sticks out a bit more, and the back of my hand isn’t up high enough.I’m thinking I should have purchased slightly larger round-to-square butt conversion grips. At 100-120 dollars a set, I’d better settle on something. 😁

  16. Andrew Fossatti on September 18, 2022 at 9:00 pm

    That recoil looks so tame!!

  17. Len S on September 18, 2022 at 9:01 pm

    I treated myself to the 686 Plus Deluxe 7 shot with a 3” barrel and it probably would be the last one I would sell also. Has the wood grips and it is a work of art!

  18. Marc Allen on September 18, 2022 at 9:04 pm

    👍 I purchased a new 686-6 plus 3” barrel about a year ago and think it may be the best all around 357 available for under $ 1K.With a inch less barrel and the smaller rounded grip it is much easier to conceal carry than the 4” version

  19. ritesideofthefence 58 on September 18, 2022 at 9:05 pm

    Great review , thank you for sharing. As for accuracy , all of my smiths 617,686,586,19 , 27 and 36 all deliver some really sweet accuracy.

  20. David Lee on September 18, 2022 at 9:06 pm

    Very good.
    Thanks!

  21. Ralph Jordan Zapitan on September 18, 2022 at 9:06 pm

    Have the 6 inch but I’m getting a 4 inch hopefully within the next two paychecks 👌

  22. Laughing Dog on September 18, 2022 at 9:07 pm

    Shooting revolvers is the best type of shooting.

  23. Alan Pruett on September 18, 2022 at 9:08 pm

    Love mine as well. A very durable revolver.

  24. Carter Thiessen on September 18, 2022 at 9:09 pm

    The L frames are great. Although I am partial to my 586, shiny blued steel is my style.

  25. Al J. Granda on September 18, 2022 at 9:11 pm

    Hand position is perfect. I think 75 yards is overkill for the SW, but well done! Thanks!

  26. TheOtherMike on September 18, 2022 at 9:12 pm

    I carry my 686 along with a Smith snubby. All the reloads are Buffalo Bore 38 Spl 158 +P. That way my reloads will fit either gun.

  27. TheRobman139 on September 18, 2022 at 9:12 pm

    I’ve got a 6” barrel 686 that I picked up in 1987. Right after I got it, there was a factory recall to make some sort of mod to it, and I naturally sent it in for that. That’s the only time it was ever in the shop.

    Even today, loaded with Federal 158 grain Hydrashocks, it is my go to home defense weapon. I typically shoot Federal 158 grain JSPs at the range and the accuracy is superb. It is absolutely reliable and very accurate.

  28. Shattered Laugh Productions on September 18, 2022 at 9:12 pm

    Are you sure that’s a four inch barrel? Maybe it’s the camera, but it looks quite a bit longer.

  29. ftdefiance1 on September 18, 2022 at 9:13 pm

    My great regret is failing to buy a three inch 686. It was built for the Custom and Border Patrol K9’s.
    I own a 2.5 inch and care for my late father’s 581

  30. Philip Theriault on September 18, 2022 at 9:13 pm

    Great video. Even though the barrel is canted on mine I love my 686. Accurate and built like a tank with a smooth trigger. Just like a sore Wang it’s hard to beat

  31. Doug Wheeler on September 18, 2022 at 9:15 pm

    I have the same revolver and I struggle with single action myself. I have accidently fired at the tgt. before I was really ready, due to the lightness of the trigger in single action. In a self-defense situation I would never cock this pistol due to this fact. I guess I need more practice in single action, but if I am stressed it would be better to fire in double action for me anyway.

  32. randyadams03 on September 18, 2022 at 9:15 pm

    Never had held or shot this revolver. My only SW was a M66-4. Miss her. Dumb sale Years ago. My current revolver is a Taurus M-66 4 what I could afford 35 years later. This just hurts my heart. Thanks GS. Beautiful 😍!!!

  33. Matthew Anderson on September 18, 2022 at 9:15 pm

    Nice review. Ever since I got into handguns it’s been my opinion that a 4” stainless 357 magnum double action revolver is the best handgun to have if you can only have one handgun. It can do everything from train a new shooter to be a CCW to take down large animals.

    My 686+ in 4” is probably my favorite handgun too. But my opinion would equally apply to a Ruger GP100 or a Colt snake gun.

  34. Raven Flight on September 18, 2022 at 9:16 pm

    I really miss my old 681 Combat Magnum.

  35. Obsolete Values on September 18, 2022 at 9:17 pm

    I have a 686+ with a 6" barrel. I bought it for bulls-eye target shooting, and suffice it to say that it is FAR more accurate than I am. My issue is shooting 38 specials in it (very accurate), and then trying to clean the 7 cylinders where the bullet left the casing. Hoppes solvent and using a copper brush doesn’t seem to do anything.

  36. Robert Stewart on September 18, 2022 at 9:17 pm

    I have found it next to impossible to put mine down if there is any ammo left. best
    revolver in the world

  37. Matt Brown on September 18, 2022 at 9:17 pm

    My EDC is my 686-6. I will not be parted from it until my death. At that point, my daughter will inherit it.

  38. JW-SigP225 on September 18, 2022 at 9:18 pm

    Although I don’t currently own a 686 I have shot quite a few of them over the years and am always impressed with them in terms of accuracy. I’m also impressed with how durable they are. Thanks for another great video.

  39. shikat2371 on September 18, 2022 at 9:18 pm

    I do own the 3" barrel model 60. You can say it’s the shrunken version of the 686 as it holds only 5 rounds. I have thought for a long while whether or not I should purchase either the model 686 or the model 60. I settled with the latter because it’s still pretty concealable even with that 3" barrel and, at 24oz, it is light enough to carry around most of the time. But even with the 2.5" barrel, the model 686 is still at least 10oz heavier. My $0.02.

  40. Louis Wilkins on September 18, 2022 at 9:20 pm

    🥰

  41. Charles Christianson on September 18, 2022 at 9:23 pm

    I EDC my 7-shot 686+ 6" and it’s my absolute favorite gun ever.

  42. Lionquest Fitness on September 18, 2022 at 9:24 pm

    Great shooting. I loved the multiple targets at the intro.

  43. Paladin Hill on September 18, 2022 at 9:24 pm

    Sorry Sam, there is one, and only one gun better than a 4 inch S&W. 686, and that gun is a 4 inch S&W 686+. You can take that to the bank.

  44. Calamity Jane on September 18, 2022 at 9:25 pm

    Are you reviewing a Smith & Wesson revolver while wearing a hat with a Ruger logo? That’s proof S&W isn’t paying you for that glowing review! 😉

  45. Michael Souza on September 18, 2022 at 9:27 pm

    I also own this gun. Ranks up there with my Model 19-3 which is saying something……

  46. 762M80 on September 18, 2022 at 9:28 pm

    Ah-ghee-luh.

  47. Brian Caine on September 18, 2022 at 9:28 pm

    Great review. You were dead on when speeding up the shots. Nice job.

  48. Gidim on September 18, 2022 at 9:29 pm

    I have a 7 shot 3" 686 and it’s a beautifull firearm

  49. J0sh92 on September 18, 2022 at 9:30 pm

    Always gotta respect a shooter who can shoot DA well, especially at distance. Bravo sir

  50. 357 MAG on September 18, 2022 at 9:31 pm

    I am buying a 686+ with a 4.25 inch barrel tomorrow. Been wanting one for a while now. It is a dash 6 model.

Leave a Comment