Smith & Wesson Model 642 J-Frame Revolver review

Smith & Wesson Model 642 J-Frame Revolver review

Product Information – Smith & Wesson Model 642 Airweight .38 Spl +P No Internal Lock J Frame Revolver
ITEM #: F1SW103810

Website – Aim Surplus

Tuff Products 8 round orange speed strip – https://amzn.to/2YQ74lK

PLEASE SUPPORT BERETTA9mmUSA:
– https://www.patreon.com/BERETTA9mmUSA
– https://www.paypal.me/BERETTA9mmUSA

Follow BERETTA9mmUSA on these social media platforms –
– https://gunstreamer.com/@BERETTA9mmUSA
– https://ugetube.com/@BERETTA9mmUSA
– https://odysee.com/@BERETTA9mmUSA
– https://rumble.com/user/BERETTA9mmUSA
– https://parler.com/profile/Beretta9mmusa
– https://www.instagram.com/beretta9mmusa/
– https://www.facebook.com/BERETTA9mmUSA

Contact Information:
beretta9mmusa@gmail.com

*** Listed below are Sponsors of the BERETTA9mmUSA Channel ***

TT Gunleather Holsters – www.ttgunleather.com/

KORE Essentials:
EDC Gun Belts, USE code “B9USA” for 10% off your entire order @ www.koreessentials.com/

Zeta6 revolver speedloaders:

Zeta6 Speed Loaders

Altamont Company:
www.altamontco.com/

Decibel Defense:
– https://amzn.to/2HXQpZ4
www.decibeldefense.com/

LOK Grips:
The Best CZ, Beretta and 1911 G10 Grips – lokgrips.com

DPM Systems:
Use discount code “B9USA” for 10% off your entire DPM Systems order!
dpmsystems.com/

Tracker Safe
USE discount code “B9USA” for 10% off your entire order! @ trackersafe.com

Sportsman’s Guide

Steel Target Link – https://alnk.to/2uyv4QN

Peltor shooting Earplugs – https://amzn.to/2JWbu7l

Tuff Products 8 round orange (standard revolver speed strip) – https://amzn.to/2YQ74lK

My Main (Favorite) Camera (Filming, Pictures and Audio) – https://amzn.to/2LYB9xZ

My Backup Camera (Filming, Pictures and Audio) – https://amzn.to/2Htkdey

“DISCLAIMER: Our videos are strictly for documentary, educational, and entertainment purposes only. Imitation or the use of any acts depicted in these videos is solely AT YOUR OWN RISK. All work on firearms should be carried out by a licensed individual and all state and federal rules apply to such. We (including YouTube) will not be held liable for any injury to yourself or damage to your firearms resulting from attempting anything shown in any of our videos. We are not a gun store and DO NOT sell or deal in firearms. Such a practice is heavily regulated and subject to applicable laws. Our Videos don’t include any instructions on manufacturing firearms, assembling parts, or installing prohibited accessories. Our Videos Don’t link to any websites that sell firearms or firearms accessories. This video also doesn’t contain any discount codes, or any other item on YouTube’s list of prohibited items listed in their Community Guidelines. By viewing or flagging this video you are acknowledging the above.

Fair Use: In the rare instance we include someone else’s footage it is covered in Fair Use for Documentary and Educational purposes with intention of driving commentary and allowing freedom of speech**

Affiliate disclaimer: some of the above links might be affiliate links, which may generate us a sales commission. For example, my YouTube Gear listed above is in association with the Amazon affiliate program and I’m an amazon associate.”

50 Comments

  1. Gaspic on June 29, 2022 at 7:18 pm

    Dam, just bought mine here in LA at the Glendale gun gallery and they sold it to me for $870 😡!!!!!!!!!!!!



  2. Fermin Valdivia on June 29, 2022 at 7:19 pm

    Just did a break in on mine with tulaammo 38 special no problems at all extracting was not that bad stiff but not bad.



  3. Chris on June 29, 2022 at 7:23 pm

    Great video!! BERETTA9mmUSA! I just purchased this same exact pistol today I love this awesome S&W Revolver! the 642 Airweight .38 Special +P is perfect for what i am carrying it for as a back up weapon and (off duty) for my position as an EP agent (Bodyguard executive protective agent) in the private sector and as a uniformed CPO "not a "Security" Guard" a Certified Protection Officer also in the Private Sector i am a 30 year veteran in the industry since i turned 18 in 1991! i also carry a Glock 17 Gen 5 (full size in 9mm) on duty. I am former U.S. Air Force Security Forces at VAFB back home in CA within the 30 years of experience! I’m honored to be a subscriber of yours keep up the great and informative videos be safe!



  4. George Clancy on June 29, 2022 at 7:25 pm

    I bought one with a laser site. I”m relatively new to firearms. Is that needed or a waste of weight?



  5. STEVE P on June 29, 2022 at 7:27 pm

    I have a 642 and I carry one. I just got a Crimson Trace Laser Grip for it.



  6. Butch Fish on June 29, 2022 at 7:28 pm

    I carry the Performance Center 642 daily. The 642 is an amazing carry gun



  7. Hebdeba V on June 29, 2022 at 7:28 pm

    I have trouble figuring out where to line the front sight with the back of the gun, and I have a ladysmith. don’t let that name fool you, it packs a punch



  8. Mark L on June 29, 2022 at 7:28 pm

    This video cements my desire to buy this revolver for my next carry weapon.
    I have reviewed it carefully, and figure it’s a good match for someone my age (63) who doesn’t go out much, but still wants something more than a cane to defend myself.
    I learned that Massad Ayoob is rather fond of the Centennial models because you can move your strong hand up the back in order to control recoil without the worry of screwing your hand up with the hammer.
    One thing, guys. Remember to count your rounds as you’re firing, and remember that the 642 is a FIVE shot revolver; that way you don’t make that embarrassing extra trigger pull.



  9. فلان الحربي on June 29, 2022 at 7:30 pm

    Imagine that !
    These days in Saudi Arabia they sell this model with 5500 USD !! Which equal to 20700 SR
    What a exploitation



  10. Marty Neff on June 29, 2022 at 7:34 pm

    One of my best friends has this and is wanting me to get this and a consealed carry permit.
    My main shooter at the range is a Smith and Wesson model 64.
    I really want a 642 because I like it, not sure if I want to carry and on something that small Plus P is not something I would shoot. That is for me and not a recommendation for someone else



  11. KFA .15 on June 29, 2022 at 7:34 pm

    It looks quiet ugly wihtout the hammer



  12. Gary Katz on June 29, 2022 at 7:35 pm

    Does "internal lock" mean a transfer bar safety?



  13. Deb on June 29, 2022 at 7:35 pm

    Im carrying again and this was my choice…it so fits my hand and is so concealable! Never underestimate an old woman and her 38 plus p…this 60 year old granny will take you out! I refuse to be frightened anymore!



  14. อรัญญา ฉายาลักษณ์ on June 29, 2022 at 7:38 pm

    มีอยู่กระบอก อยากปล่อย65….



  15. Dogsoldier 1950 on June 29, 2022 at 7:39 pm

    If you carry this is an ideal weapon, no hammer to hang up, easy to conceal, which means you won’t be tempted to just leave it behind. I might go with a cowboy load however. Any thoughts on that?



  16. Someone Somewhere on June 29, 2022 at 7:39 pm

    Looking at this for the wifey



  17. Tony De Leo on June 29, 2022 at 7:40 pm

    Not impressed with your reloader, I like the old school round reloader



  18. Jose Moreno on June 29, 2022 at 7:46 pm

    Just picked one up for my wife today,she’ll love it nice and not heavy at all



  19. Risteard Wes on June 29, 2022 at 7:47 pm

    Excellent video on the Smith & Wesson 642 in stainless steel this one does not have the lock on it so the new ones they have a lot but this whole Tony you can’t even see it looks like it’s part of the gun the best thing to do is to get new rubber grips for it they have a whole bunch of them on Amazon very cheap or you may find something on you eBay or so but I give this video five stars
    ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐🇺🇸💯👍



  20. Godzilla Simpson on June 29, 2022 at 7:48 pm

    Fun fact: The Riddler used this gun in the tv show series Gotham to supposively kill Oswald aka penguin.



  21. dziki wonsz on June 29, 2022 at 7:48 pm

    Czemu wyrzuca ten pomarańczowy element jak później musi go podnieść żeby posprzątać? Wyrzuca nawet nabój w środku. Czemu go wyrzuca?



  22. Richard Bowles on June 29, 2022 at 7:48 pm

    Either I’m doing something wrong or my 642 is no good. I can’t hit crap with my 642. Maybe I need to train more with it.



  23. Daniel Alexander on June 29, 2022 at 7:49 pm

    I haven’t selected yet, but this seems much better than the Ruger variant and the Ruger is quite expensive. Young guy on a budget understanding the necessity for quality



  24. tony pascucci on June 29, 2022 at 7:51 pm

    U



  25. Tom Riddle on June 29, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    I have a few j frames but I’m always carrying my 642 (pocket). Only complaint is the carbon steel trigger gets rusty in the sweaty summer months. Why S&W did this ? My model 60 has a stainless trigger……



  26. Daniel Dotter on June 29, 2022 at 7:56 pm

    This is most likely going to be my wife’s next gun as a “purse carry”



  27. purleybaker on June 29, 2022 at 7:58 pm

    This is a really helpful review. Thank you.



  28. Nick Murray on June 29, 2022 at 7:59 pm

    Does anyone else’s 642 have a really stiff trigger??



  29. Jesse Contreraz sr. on June 29, 2022 at 8:00 pm

    Just baught my wife one…



  30. DMG Three on June 29, 2022 at 8:00 pm

    Hands down best review on this revolver period! Just bought one Monday , pick it up Tuesday next week!great job guys



  31. Jeff Perry on June 29, 2022 at 8:01 pm

    Could you give me a link to those speed loaders please, great video



  32. haVocHWC3 on June 29, 2022 at 8:02 pm

    Just bought this yesterday for $309 brand new. Couldn’t pass that deal up. I shot one many years ago when I first began shooting. I wasn’t a huge fan, but as I got more competent with firearms and continued to shoot them over the years I fell in love.



  33. Evan dynanda R on June 29, 2022 at 8:02 pm

    That is A beautiful little Gun there.



  34. TheProfessor on June 29, 2022 at 8:03 pm

    Have a 637 that stays in the safe because its too perfect of a gun to carry and a 642 that I beat the shit out of and stays in a pocket 24/7. You can actually fall asleep with one in a pocket holster in your pocket and not really notice…..Until you turn over 0_o



  35. Jay Do on June 29, 2022 at 8:03 pm

    I had one of these and sold it like a dummy. I bought a M&P Bodyguard 38 and it’s not the same. I miss the 642 a lot.



  36. Michael Risso on June 29, 2022 at 8:04 pm

    I love Mr. Snappy!



  37. MACCHINA STELLA on June 29, 2022 at 8:05 pm

    Nice review. I never thought I would carry a snubnose revolver but I gotta say after running hundreds of rounds thru this little bugger it really grew on me, and more importantly gained my trust. Light weight, concealed hammer, decent trigger (you have to get used to it) and price make this a perfect ccw for all gun enthusiasts to seriously consider.



  38. Albert Tran on June 29, 2022 at 8:07 pm

    Thanks for sharing!



  39. Kentucky Rex on June 29, 2022 at 8:08 pm

    I got mine today with a CZ P07. Mine cost $389, but it could be a regional price.



  40. Ruckus Gaming on June 29, 2022 at 8:08 pm

    Does it kick a lot



  41. ChillBro Braggins on June 29, 2022 at 8:10 pm

    Yup I have mine I open carry and keep a speed loader in my pocket as well. I was surprised how accurate it is compared to other snub noses I shot. It took a little practice to get a feel for it, but not much. Good little lightweight handgun and having a speed loader I bought for $10 on Amazon gives me 10 shots quickly. I recommend 9/10.



  42. Hammer Slammer on June 29, 2022 at 8:10 pm

    Out of all my many guns this little S&W 642 .38+p air weight is Always on me everyday everywhere. My other CCW main carry is the Glock 26 gen5 , but I always carry the 642 as primary or back up . In a ground fight this gun is the best choice to pull to defend your life . “Clint Smith “ got me wanting to try ankle carry of this gun , I currently pocket carry it in a DeSantis pocket holster. That Sig Elite performance V-Crown JHP is my favorite CCW ammo for all my carry guns .38+p, 9mm, 10mm & my .357Mag
    Great video!



  43. STEVE P on June 29, 2022 at 8:10 pm

    I own one. I have a Crimson Trace Laser grip on mine. I have Hornady Critical Defense +p in it.



  44. Fred Miller on June 29, 2022 at 8:10 pm

    January 2021…. same firearm = $699.00 new



  45. Kermit Alexander on June 29, 2022 at 8:11 pm

    Price done gone up considerably 🤔



  46. Albert Tran on June 29, 2022 at 8:11 pm

    Is $420 new a good price for the 642?



  47. GG RELOADED on June 29, 2022 at 8:11 pm

    2021 $550 everywhere in FL



  48. MrJerry160 on June 29, 2022 at 8:13 pm

    nice shirt. A company that is actually pro gun unlike black rifle coffee that has the illusion of being pro 2A



  49. Joel Towle on June 29, 2022 at 8:13 pm

    I know that this is a gun review but what watch is that Beretta Sr.? Btw I have a nice S&W 637! Great video thanks.



  50. trey orr on June 29, 2022 at 8:15 pm

    I have one.I picked it up for $200.00 .A lady bought it,shot 5 rounds. The next day she came back and bought a G48 9MM. .GLOCK.I.She wanted to sell it.I offered her $200.00 and was fi e with.She also gave me the remaining 45 bullets in the box. Sometimes we are Justin the right place at the right time