Taurus PT 1911 1000 Round Review: The Cheapest 1911 $500

Taurus PT 1911 1000 Round Review: The Cheapest 1911 $500

How good is the cheapest 1911? We put it through a full 1000 round test in adverse conditions, with all types of ammo, to give you the most thorough review possible.

Merch: https://the-honest-outlaw.creator-spring.com

Here is a link to donate to youth homeless shelter in Ames Iowa that could use your support:

DONATE ONLINE

Join our newsletter at https://www.honestoutlawreviews.com

Join the Patreon Squad! We appreciate your support to bring HONEST reviews:
https://www.patreon.com/user?u=5593286

50 Comments

  1. Devilman on December 26, 2022 at 12:53 am

    Awesome review man. My first gun ever was a pt1911 in .45 acp, and I still own it. Solid affordable gun. And it’s black! Would love to see you review the Taurus PT-92 too.



  2. John Jackson on December 26, 2022 at 12:55 am

    Tisas – under 400$



  3. pedrimgg on December 26, 2022 at 12:55 am

    I think the biggest problem with Taurus is not even the quality in itself. It’s the complete lack of a standard or manufacturing pattern. You can get really good guns from them (obviously considering the price point) or an absolut piece of sh**… I own a PT 1911 “tactical” model in .45 and I love it. Mine came with the rail and tritium sights, hence the “tactical” model. Trigger pull stock was about 5.5lbs and i had a trigger job done to 3lbs. I have about 5ish thousand rounds trough the gun since i bought it 2yrs ago and ZERO malfunctions. Also mine came with 4 Mecgar mags, but they look very different from the one that came with yours. Honestly my only complaint about it is the coating on the gun is absolute crap, if I clean it and let it sit for anything over 2/3 weeks it’s gonna start to get rust spots…



  4. Steve Gagnon on December 26, 2022 at 12:56 am

    The cheapest one in Canada is the Norinco 1911a: $300 Canadian



  5. Luciano Araújo on December 26, 2022 at 12:56 am

    In Brazil (where Taurus is from) the gun restrictions are basically financial. So that gun cost ABOVE 1000 US$ out here. And a pistol from a decent manufacturer will be at least 2000 US$ due to import tax. Better get a Taurus carbine at this price. So I don’t see that gun being relevant anywhere else in the world.



  6. Miguel Peraza on December 26, 2022 at 12:56 am

    We live in Henderson NV. we got only 40 acres in Nye County which happens to be 1/4 mile East from FRONT SIGHT TRAINING CENTER . R U in Utah ?



  7. wil cisneros on December 26, 2022 at 12:56 am

    I bought a PT1911, 45 ACP, 2 years ago, I guess I got one of the quality ones. I have used the original mag, plus two Combat Wilson mags. I have shot 500 FMJ, various brands with no jams or problems. I would shoot it more if ammo was cheaper. I have owned two Taurus Revolvers since 1988, a PT92AF since about 1989 and a Taurus Thunderbolt 45 colt since about 2014. I’ve read lots of quality issues with this Taurus, but I’ve been one of the lucky owners with no quality issues.



  8. Miguel Peraza on December 26, 2022 at 12:57 am

    Hey Honest Outlaw , hi 👋 WE think you are an A1 RATED Top Commando type dude , you have exellent videos and a very good RSO 👍.



  9. James Schopp on December 26, 2022 at 12:58 am

    I wish you would comment on the ambidextrous quality of ALL the guns you review. After all southpaws are a significant amount of the people on this planet. We are used to being left out but would rather not be totally ignored. Thanks for your reviews.



  10. Liam Pritchett on December 26, 2022 at 1:00 am

    Nine mill kills the body of it 45 ASAP kills the soul



  11. Israel Contreras on December 26, 2022 at 1:01 am

    Taurus reliability and accuracy strikes again…

    Awesome video!



  12. Infinite Break on December 26, 2022 at 1:02 am

    So far the best bang for your buck 1911 for me is the Tisas 1911 A1 I bought it for $420.00. It came with a hard case and 2 magazines(Checkmate).



  13. manny3928 on December 26, 2022 at 1:03 am

    I have one. Bought new, about a 1000 rounds now and not one failure. Except it Came with 2 8round mecgar mags, but for whatever reason, if I load 8 first round nose dives. So I always load 7 without issue. Sights were off on mine too, but after adjusting with a bore laser is dead on. Finish is shit tho. Keep mine heavily oiled after some surface rust from sweaty hands.



  14. Scadster's World on December 26, 2022 at 1:03 am

    Would the TISAS 1911 be a better choice?



  15. Gerardo Corcuera on December 26, 2022 at 1:04 am

    Hm



  16. Mike Benjamin on December 26, 2022 at 1:05 am

    CNC machines have come a long way in 2022 Name brands are just that you can pay $3,000 dollars or $500 dollars for a pistol.I have shot less expensive 45s and expensive 45s and I love them all no love for Kimbers are the ones I will never own again?people read forums this will tell you all you need to know after you see all the hype find the brand of gun and look on forums there you will find real shooters findings on each pistol.great channel thanks for sharing.now that I have watched this video wow I had no idea Taurus has gone down hill wow thanks for letting your followers know I was thinking of getting this pistol.not any more thanks.



  17. Phillip Pickens on December 26, 2022 at 1:06 am

    Like anything with the "Cheaper 1911s" it’s hit or miss. I’ve got both Taurus and the RIA Tac both in .45. I’ve had the RIA longer and right now the RIA is worse with the little things IMHO. Malfunctions on the RIA .The safety is sloppy its getting worse over time and I’ve had it engage the safety in the middle of firing on the first 30 rds when i bought it. It has done it several times since. Mag fitment is stiff. Trigger is worse. No I haven’t done anything to either all of them are how they left the factory. So far haven’t had issue with Taurus 🤞. Accuracy is about the same on both. $800 on RIA and $660 on Taurus. No hate just stating my opinion so far.



  18. Dylan Ryan on December 26, 2022 at 1:07 am

    Relatively



  19. Max Menezes on December 26, 2022 at 1:08 am

    Here in Brazil we are forced to buy this type of garbage because the only option we have is to import another model from the USA, which is much more expensive. We bought it knowing that we would have to spend the same amount as the weapon to make it functional and reliable. Even so, it is cheaper than the imported 1911 because the import fees are prohibitive. Just out of curiosity, a CZ Shadow 2 costs in Brazil something like US$7.000 and an STI costs the same as a new car.



  20. Oscar calsoncit on December 26, 2022 at 1:11 am

    ….



  21. Miguel Peraza on December 26, 2022 at 1:12 am

    I always carry my .45 kimber 911 ready to go , with only thumb safety on .
    I’d recommend it to all women with 185 grainers holer points ! I once shot 300 rounds 9mm and the web on my hand by my thumb/ finger was extremely sore , waited 1 week , shot .45 acp ? No pain , no problem, .45 would jerk upwards, while 9mm recoiled pushing straight back 😕😵‍💫



  22. exionem on December 26, 2022 at 1:19 am

    This or Tisas?



  23. crawford high on December 26, 2022 at 1:20 am

    You hate the taurus 1911 so bad why do you keep making videos on it



  24. jb111082 on December 26, 2022 at 1:21 am

    I honestly thought I was going to faint when he said that the trigger pull on that gun was 10 pounds. 10 freaking pounds….on a 1911. Yeah, I know it’s a Taurus model, but still……10 FREAKING POUNDS!!



  25. HogFanstuckinBama on December 26, 2022 at 1:21 am

    I have a Tisas A1 1911 coming. I’m curious how it’ll be.



  26. Michael Clark on December 26, 2022 at 1:22 am

    so your $500 gun was not as good as your $4000 gun?weird.



  27. Isaias Cardenas on December 26, 2022 at 1:22 am

    Awesome video 1911s are awesome guns thanks for the video great gun



  28. Chris Crane on December 26, 2022 at 1:24 am

    I’ve owned an older PT1911 2 (2010) tone in .45 and it’s been a good experience thus far. Not my favorite pistol but mechanically it’s been good and my pistols finish is way better than this one.



  29. player 578 on December 26, 2022 at 1:26 am

    thats so weird mine works perfectly with the mec-gar mag and the wilson jammed everyround so i got another mec-gar



  30. Michael Johnson on December 26, 2022 at 1:28 am

    Try using the words "least expensive" or "starting price point". The word "cheap" makes it sound like junk. Just my input. I do enjoy your videos.



  31. TheSushiandme on December 26, 2022 at 1:28 am

    From the video, Buy Rock Island 1911 so… I’m going to buy this 1911 to use it as a door stop. 🙂



  32. W P on December 26, 2022 at 1:34 am

    I’m really debating between this or one of the Tisas guns



  33. Allen G. on December 26, 2022 at 1:34 am

    Hey Chris do u still recommend the girsan still? I have not seen ur video on round shot. I just ordered the girsan c 1911 9mm. My second 1911 I don’t have a lot of money to buy a gun. My first is the ria gi fs 9mm. I seen people have probs with the girsan extractor.



  34. TheGV50 on December 26, 2022 at 1:35 am

    You are right on the money with your assessment of this particular Taurus handgun. I was a LE Firearms Instructor & Department Armorer. When someone ask’s for a recommendation for a Rifle, Shotgun, Handgun the best advice I can give Is choose something that LE Agencies use ie S&W, Beretta, Sig, H&K, FN, Mossberg. I don’t know of any LE agencies that use Taurus handguns, and for good reasons they make a bad product! It’s great to see you’re not a shill. Not promoting a crappy brand like Taurus like some other Gun YouTubers shows me you have some Integrity!



  35. Justin Cannon on December 26, 2022 at 1:35 am

    Our family has had one for around ten yrs. 45acp. Have t shot it much as it was for home defense maybe 600rds . No issues , it’s accurate etc. Maybe I got a god one



  36. Ben Mitchell on December 26, 2022 at 1:36 am

    FTR: I just got a Taurus 1911 9mm, and the trigger is as light as my Beretta APX "match" trigger, but the recoil is like a 22. If your T-1911 trigger is funky, break it in or get someone to block it. The best comparison of recoil and accuracy — out of the box — is my Colt 1903 in 32acp.



  37. Damurv on December 26, 2022 at 1:37 am

    It could be a upgrade platform the trigger the slide the recoil spring could all be upgraded



  38. Travis Johnson on December 26, 2022 at 1:37 am

    I just bought a used Taurus 1911 in .45 for $450

    I’ll let you know after I get to the range



  39. Claudio Claudino on December 26, 2022 at 1:37 am

    In Brasil Taurus PT 92 is considered as a beretta. Can you make a video comparing pt92 x beretta m4?



  40. Ty Infamous on December 26, 2022 at 1:41 am

    This gun needs to be oiled/cleaned regularly or it gets stiff



  41. Andrea Whalen on December 26, 2022 at 1:42 am

    Taurus definitely didn’t put much effort in these, mine is crappy too, however the trigger can be fixed easily mines at 5lbs now.



  42. Pratte Racing on December 26, 2022 at 1:42 am

    My wifes rock river 1911 has been decent. I purchased a Ruger SR1911 years ago before they cost more, i think $680 or so and for the price that is a great 1911.



  43. JaviHerrera on December 26, 2022 at 1:42 am

    I just got one I shot 200 rounds out of it beforehand I cleaned and lubed it and shot monarchs 230gr ball point and i couldn’t shoot even 10 rounds with out a malfunction



  44. Charles Brannin on December 26, 2022 at 1:48 am

    I have well over 1000 plus in mine have had no issues in my PT 1911 9mm my trigger pull is no ware near 10 # . Guess I was just lucky .



  45. neoasura on December 26, 2022 at 1:49 am

    Interesting, I’ve had a Taurus PT 1911 .45 for about 10 years now as my daily carry. I’ve never had a single jam up so far. Maybe I’m just lucky. Maybe the quality has changed over the years.



  46. Joel Sanford on December 26, 2022 at 1:50 am

    Tisas just like you mentioned Girsan
    Great guns for the price
    Now I know, people would beat up on me and say “ ya those companies are probably paying Americans or Europeans to come over to their country and setup the cnc machines”
    Ya it could be a apples and oranges comparison, then again with todays tech and each country manufacturing capabilities getting closer to one another, some could argue it’s getting close to apples and apples.
    Then again, my opinion is my own, I really like most things with a trigger 😂



  47. Texas Bass Freak on December 26, 2022 at 1:51 am

    Just a thought. Maybe, the Taurus 1911 model to review is the Commander. Judging by the NRA and other videoed reviews on YouTube, the Taurus Commander is a VERY reliable firearm. I would be interested in seeing a video of you and your spouse testing/reviewing this firearm.



  48. Gary Allen98 on December 26, 2022 at 1:52 am

    shooting 4k rounds you probabally needed to clean it. The gun is cheap and looks worn because it had to compensate it’s price somewhere. If you want a more durable gun then buy forged steel, but most people I doubt are shooting 4k not even 1k rounds out of a 1911.



  49. sgtjarhead99 on December 26, 2022 at 1:53 am

    I wonder if the 10+ lb trigger was meant to satisfy the "safety" requirements some blue states have in order for the pistol to be compliant for sale.



  50. Wade Alexander on December 26, 2022 at 1:53 am

    Man, I cant agree with you enough. I have this gun in 45 and from the first time until now I hate the thing. It literally malfunctions on every other mag for me. I am really thinking about getting rid of it.