THE HI-POWER IS BACK! NEW Springfield SA-35 Hi-Power Pistol Review

THE HI-POWER IS BACK! NEW Springfield SA-35 Hi-Power Pistol Review

In this episode of TFBTV, James Reeves reviews the new Springfield SA-35 Hi-Power clone. Springfield pulled out all of the stops making this clone and even tweaked the original design to improve upon its weaknesses. Mainly, the original magazine safety has been removed, allowing Springfield’s version to have a much better trigger. The hammer has been re-contoured the eliminate slide bite that the older models sometimes caused. It uses improved 15 rounds magazines instead of the 13 round magazines of the original Hi-Power. The safety has been improved as well, and the SA-35 has a beveled magazine well. This gun also costs only $699 MSRP. But how did this Hi-Power clone turn out? Check today’s video to find out.

“Where can I get a Springfield SA-35 at non scalper-prices?”: Check here: https://bit.ly/3bYXS7g

««« GEAR USED IN THIS VIDEO »»»
‣ Apparel: All TFBTV apparel is sponsored by 5.11 Tactical and you can get it at www.511tactical.com
‣ Eye Pro: James loves Oakley M-Frames for indoor ranges: https://amzn.to/3y3436s
‣ Ear Pro: Walker Razors are some of the best, dollar-for-dollar: https://amzn.to/39slIdu

««« GUN AND GEAR GIVEAWAYS »»»
PLEASE check out our Patreon page if you enjoy our program, and consider helping us at TFBTV out! We give away hundreds of dollars of gear a month to our supporters!

https://www.patreon.com/tfbtv​

Gun and gear giveaways are not affiliated with, associated with, or in any way endorsed by YouTube and TFBTV is solely responsible for the giveaways mentioned in this video and this description. No purchase required for gear worth over $250. Full rules and terms are found at http://tfbtv.gun.team/

««« FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA »»»
https://www.instagram.com/TFBTV
https://www.facebook.com/TheFirearmBlog
https://www.facebook.com/TheFirearmBlogTV
https://reddit.com/r/tfbtv

««« TFB CHAT ROOM »»»
Want to join the TFBTV chat room? Use our Discord Invite: discord.gg/tfbtv

#TFBTV

50 Comments

  1. Kahn on January 12, 2023 at 1:22 am

    i really want one of these, but im so poor that when money was tight, i bought a new rmr instead of baby food and my baby died. consider sending me one of these since im so sad and my baby is dead. thank you TFB TV <3 :,(



  2. R. Mercado on January 12, 2023 at 1:22 am

    Another great commentary! Semper Fi



  3. Yosef Martinez on January 12, 2023 at 1:23 am

    they didn’t did a gun with at half round on the magazine for californication 😁😂🙈



  4. Rattlestorm Republic on January 12, 2023 at 1:24 am

    Where was this when the US army need a 9mm?



  5. jcaskey06 on January 12, 2023 at 1:24 am

    I don’t see an ambi safety. Lost some respect for SA…



  6. vincentj on January 12, 2023 at 1:24 am

    After watching your review I went ahead and bought one.
    I went directly to the range. It failed to eject on the first round. I figured it was me, so I keep going. Well, I couldn’t get through on full mag with out it failing to eject. The accuracy wasn’t great either. I sent it back to Springfield and got it back in about 3 weeks. The note said they changed the barrel and the ejector. Now this gun is amazing. Not one failure and this time I ran it with 115,124,147 and defensive ammo . The accuracy is now right on. I was also able to put most rounds into one ragged hole with the occasional flyer, which I’m also blaming on the wind as you did. You were right as usual and I can’t believe I’m saying this but I enjoy shooting this SA 35 better than my 1191.



  7. sgtlt on January 12, 2023 at 1:25 am

    Why did Springfield stop shipping the SA-35 ?



  8. Vladimír Pospíšil on January 12, 2023 at 1:30 am

    ❤️



  9. Karl Haber on January 12, 2023 at 1:31 am

    The gp35 at one point was standard issue to about 70 nations of the worlds military services. As we all know it was John Browning’s last design he was working on at the time of his death along with the Belgian man who developed the FN FAL rifle. Regrettably I got rid of an high power I had years ago. Make car has been making 15 round magazines for The GP 35 for at least 40 years that I know of. Single action pistol is not a problem to someone who’s been trained to know how to use it. I actually prefer a single action pistol when it comes to both the BHP and 1911 A1. Having carried both I know first hand that you can sweep the safety off on a draw without losing any time. The accuracy of the HP is legendary. I would rather have it than most of your polymar pistols out there right now. Happy for two things. The first being a classic was brought back into production, the second is is that they had enough class to to build it well. Thank you for featuring this weapon.



  10. Robert Ledford on January 12, 2023 at 1:32 am

    I got to have one



  11. GCR5150 on January 12, 2023 at 1:33 am

    3:08 “..something in French, I wrote it down”… Loved the rip! 😂



  12. Danny Looney on January 12, 2023 at 1:34 am

    I stopped watching when he said it’s a ripoff of the 1911. Colt’s patent? Colt didn’t design the 1911.



  13. J. R. 6 on January 12, 2023 at 1:35 am

    "Probably the wind."

    "We’re indoors."



  14. Matt Wolfam on January 12, 2023 at 1:36 am

    Great video.



  15. Lester M. on January 12, 2023 at 1:36 am

    Look’s amazing!



  16. Tai Ma Van on January 12, 2023 at 1:37 am

    Đạo sát thủ đẫm máu thanh vân kiếm khánh 2 (PC/iOS/Android)



  17. A GOOGLE USER on January 12, 2023 at 1:43 am

    Handled one today at my LGS. The slide would not lock back on an empty magazine.



  18. Eric chapman on January 12, 2023 at 1:44 am

    It is better. The best hi power ever and I own my grand pas bring back fn Belgium made hi power.



  19. Bob Papadopoulos on January 12, 2023 at 1:44 am

    As someone who’s daily carried a Hi Power for 30 years now… they left?



  20. Derek Courson on January 12, 2023 at 1:44 am

    I don’t see it as intellectual property theft. JMB designed more guns for FN than Colt. Both the 1903 and 1908 had FN versions., which were striker fired. Originally the Hi-Power was going to use the same striker method, but then Browning died and the patents expired. That’s just how it goes, patents run out. The gun is substantially different from the 1911, even though it has some similarities, but it also has similarities to the FN 1903 and 1908 which JMB designed for FN. Ironically, today the striker fired version might would be more popular.



  21. Jeff Thompson on January 12, 2023 at 1:44 am

    Turkish made and "finished" in the US. Not at all truthful about who or where it was actually manufactured. To stamp made in the US is a joke.



  22. O.C. Stiggs on January 12, 2023 at 1:45 am

    I would gladly pay more for a polished blued finish, wear durability be damned.



  23. James Vatter on January 12, 2023 at 1:47 am

    Now, if they’d just get them out to dealers. Tired of the only time you hear of one it is $200-300 over MSRP. Almost the mythical unicorn of guns.



  24. CTT 75 on January 12, 2023 at 1:47 am

    I called my local dealer the NEXT DAY after seeing this video. The video had just been uploaded. They had two. I got it for $685. I love it. This video was so right!



  25. jose moreno on January 12, 2023 at 1:48 am

    The HP pistol is one of the best pistols in history. And is incredible the statement of the australian army. After several years in service win in many aspects against most "modern" pistol models. Well done JM Browning



  26. James Keele on January 12, 2023 at 1:48 am

    "Everything the 1911 should have been"…….lol..what are you smokin.. Blasphamy… But i do want one.. the only thing im wondering about is trigger reset. You said it’s not great.. can you feel/hear it ?



  27. Brian Pinckert on January 12, 2023 at 1:49 am

    Lol, quit vaping on your gun



  28. Mcautics on January 12, 2023 at 1:51 am

    bloody stunning



  29. John Kizziah on January 12, 2023 at 1:52 am

    Your a world class smart ass 👏



  30. John Kizziah on January 12, 2023 at 1:52 am

    Good review my friend



  31. Yosef Martinez on January 12, 2023 at 1:53 am

    😁😁😁😂😂😂so fanny



  32. Bo Peacock on January 12, 2023 at 1:54 am

    The fit and finish are better on my Charles Daly are better. No shit



  33. fook you on January 12, 2023 at 1:55 am

    that little guy right there? dont worry about him thats when the air handler kicked on



  34. Steven Michael on January 12, 2023 at 1:55 am

    HOW WAS IT A RIP-OFF OF THE 1911 ? JOHN MOSES BROWNING DESIGNED THAT PISTOL TOO . I HAD A GERMAN LUFTWAFFE P-35 MY UNCLE TOOK OFF A NAZI PILOT . THAT PISTOL FIT MY HAND SO WELL I INSTANTLY FELL IN LOVE WITH IT .



  35. Drip N Rip on January 12, 2023 at 1:57 am

    Check out the Girsan MC P35 ORD.. seriously impressive! This Springfield needs some stippling on the front and back strap and I’d change out that slide lock…



  36. Adam Schindler on January 12, 2023 at 1:58 am

    This is pretty, but the main argument against bringing the HP back is that it never left. The market for an original AR15/10 or AR180 isn’t small because they are bad guns, but because the great basic idea has been under development for decades with the warts of the early incarnation showing in ever sharper relief in contrast to the iterative improvement. The BAR is a neat throwback, but VERY few originals are sold by boutique makers for astronomical prices while the basic gun is being mass produced and used worldwide as the M240/FNMAG. The HP is an amazing design, but the magazine safety is ridiculous, the takedown procedure is fiddly, the hammer will eventually bite you, the slide cannot accept a red dot and the magazine/grip arrangement has been drastically refined to nealry double the number of rounds in a similar grip.

    I love my HP, I just happen to call it a Sig P226X5. I think that a lot of potential buyers will say "that’s really cool" and almost immediately realize that they’re in the same boat.



  37. Guido Lombardi on January 12, 2023 at 1:59 am

    Tried today at a Springfield event.
    Fit and finish is ok and of course the ergonomic Is the good old HP35.
    Safety is an upgrade from the original and sight are pretty good.
    But honestly, the trigger is deal breaker for me.
    No audible or tactile reset, none! You have to release the trigger all the way forward.
    For many this could not be an issue but I don’t like it at all.
    P.s. I tried 2 sa35 and they had the same problem.



  38. Dean Pratt on January 12, 2023 at 2:00 am

    It’s been 85 years, and they still haven’t figured out how to put a rail on there so we can easily mount a weapon light?!?
    Major fail, in my opinion.



  39. Working Class Dawg on January 12, 2023 at 2:05 am

    *"We want it in 9mm, and we’d like it to be 350 m/s or more."*

    *"Okay, got it."*

    *"So, like, it should be able to kill a man at 50 meters."*

    *"Yeah, makes sense."*

    *"Really lay him out, y’know? 50 meters. Boom. Dead."*

    *"Understood."*

    *"It’s got to straight-up kill a man at 50 meters. We’re not looking to wound them."*

    *"Yes French Army, we heard you the first time."*



  40. Max846 on January 12, 2023 at 2:06 am

    My main worry is the extraction issues ive been seeing about this gun. I dont know if SA has fixed this issue yet or not but It would be good to get some more new information on it.



  41. Nikko Garcia on January 12, 2023 at 2:07 am

    The french we need it to kill a man at 50yards 🙃 like they gonna used it 🤣🤣🤣



  42. 1joshjosh1 on January 12, 2023 at 2:07 am

    I’m crying.
    The Browning Hi Power(or SA-35) it’s perfect for me for some reasons it’s not perfect for others.
    But all I can do is cry because I’m Canadian and no more pistols for us.
    😭😭😭😭.



  43. Mitch Compton on January 12, 2023 at 2:08 am

    The finish reminds me of a nicer looking parkerized gun I love it, maybe not as pretty as a nice old blued Hi-Power



  44. Luis Moreno Music on January 12, 2023 at 2:11 am

    Hey James… I’m in the camp of taking your word and thanking you later.
    So… THANK YOU ⭐️❤️~Luis



  45. jc 2205 on January 12, 2023 at 2:12 am

    Gaulic Albatross. Nice.



  46. Ken Borgie on January 12, 2023 at 2:13 am

    I DOUBT VERY MUCH THAT THIS PISTOL WILL BE AVAILABLE FOR 3 TO 6 MONTHS WITH ALL THE HYPE AND PROMOTIONS OF IT. THANKS MUCH JAMES FOR YOUR EXCELLENT VIDEOS – YOU DON’T WASTE OUR TIME TALKING BULL SHIT JUST THE FACTS MAMN.



  47. Angry Santa on January 12, 2023 at 2:14 am

    I need another 9mm pistol like I need another hole in my head but got dammit I may have to get this!?! 🤷‍♂️🤦🏻‍♂️😫👍🏻😏😆



  48. Scott Rhymer on January 12, 2023 at 2:15 am

    Shame most of these have failure to extract issues right out of the box. There’s so mich to like, but mine was essentially a paperweight; 3-5 FTE per magazine. Finally went back for warranty work. A lot of them are coming back with extractor and barrel replacements, so I’m thinking it’s a combo of crappy extractor and head space issues. Eother way, that’s awful QC.



  49. Alupang Guam on January 12, 2023 at 2:15 am

    In the original Hi-Power, the mag disconnect was literally a spring loaded hunk of metal that scraped against the mag as you pulled the SA trigger. Felt like garbage, because it was.

    Also, and someone correct me if I’m wrong but it appears that the SA-35 slide & frame are forged & machined steel (like the most desirable old Hi Powers) whereas the new FN Hi Power is investment cast? If so, the SA-35 is far superior to me.



  50. brett ranatza on January 12, 2023 at 2:17 am

    James you are the best youtube presenter/host hands down. I’m not really a gun guy I have guns and I live in NOLA too but I find your presentation so funny and educational that I’m drawn in to watch every one. The shorty shorts gotta go tho bro. Keep making NOLA proud sir, thank you.