Troy GAU-5A/A Review (USAF Vietnam-style CAR15 Carbine)

Troy GAU-5A/A Review (USAF Vietnam-style CAR15 Carbine)

Today, we take to the range for the first time something I’ve been
looking forward to for a couple months now. This is Troy’s new
GAU-5A/A retro carbine. This is a very good replica of a Vietnam era
US Air Force weapon, right down to the markings, furniture, and XM177
style moderator. On top of looking very much like an original Colt
from around 1970, this carbine was a lot of fun to fire. It felt well
built and solid, had very light recoil, and was just very light
itself. This is definitely a keeper and will set right next to the
Colt SP1 in the safe. Good job Troy!

Visit http://ozarkbeararms.blogspot.com to read range reports and more articles on other firearms and accessories.

50 Comments

  1. David on September 22, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    Gary Gordon used the car-15 in Somalia and Randall Shughart used a modded m-14.

  2. ZzBiohazzardzZ on September 22, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    Thats awesome, i’v always wanted one of those.

  3. Jacob Williams on September 22, 2022 at 8:16 pm

    Does this rifle have a drop in spot?

  4. Brian C on September 22, 2022 at 8:17 pm

    beautiful rifle!.. It would have a more "Vietnam" authentic look with the 20 round mag in it..

  5. tengu190 on September 22, 2022 at 8:17 pm

    Put a triangle forend and a lafrance gas system on it.

  6. Dad_a_Monk on September 22, 2022 at 8:19 pm

    LOVED my GAU back when I was an SP in USAF. I ran the OPFOR teams, so I got to qual & carry the GAU rather than the M-16.
    I deployed with my little friend for Bosnia and Kosovo and luckily got my hands on one of the puppy pusher’s GAUs when Iraq started. Was happy when the M-4s came in, but refused to give up my GAU for an M-4

    Kind of funny one…We were in the middle of an ORI exercise, and the ACC Inspectors made us stop in the middle of a fire fight….because one of our MSgt. and myself were on the roof of out command post, firing. We weren’t supposed to have any M-249s and the GAU sounds very similar at full auto. The ACC IG inspectors didn’t even know that we had rifles that could fire full auto, over the 3 round burst, which I hate. Still have my qual card for my old GAU and my M9 on my desk, in my office, and I retired over 10 years ago.

  7. the1bulldurham on September 22, 2022 at 8:20 pm

    Carried one in Iraq. So lite and easy to use. It went back to supply when I got back. Fairly certain it was sent for destruction. Too bad.

  8. cali818 xxx on September 22, 2022 at 8:21 pm

    there are still a lot of rifle similar to that with carry handle in use today by philippine military…im guessing they are armalite…..if im not mistaken the first ARs in the phil are armalites thus it became the generic name now….and generic name for 1911’s is 45…..lol

  9. Ron McGill on September 22, 2022 at 8:23 pm

    In the AF, cops carried the GAU-mostly flight chiefs and officers and a few entry controllers. The weird thing is that GAU stands for "Gun Aircraft Unit."

  10. Jonathan Nazari on September 22, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    How does he work on the guns and fire them if he is blind? This has baffled me for years. Love the videos, especially the one on the Finnish AKs. Keep them coming!

  11. francis keith gibson on September 22, 2022 at 8:25 pm

    thank you… exactly what I wanted to see!!!

  12. TexasSportsman on September 22, 2022 at 8:25 pm

    I have the Troy XM177E2.

  13. Michael Duty on September 22, 2022 at 8:28 pm

    Mfg.90. Delta ring instead of slip ring.

  14. Kim Jong Un on September 22, 2022 at 8:30 pm

    would a metal stock not be fierce uncomfortable ?

  15. Nick on September 22, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    Im get me one.

  16. Christolclear101 on September 22, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    This was pretty much what my dad carried during his tour in โ€˜Nam in โ€˜68. I know he only referred to it as a CAR-15, and he spoke very highly of the one he carried. During his tour, he told me he may have had 3 jams out of all the rounds he put through his ( he said he ran a ton of ammunition through his during his tour in Vietnam). He was a OH-6A co-pilot, and he would talk about how handy it was to have this versus a standard M-16.

  17. Glenn Billings on September 22, 2022 at 8:31 pm

    It’s a bad idea to have firearm or anything labeled Government Property
    because there are some idiots in the military who just might confiscate it.

  18. Tom-from- Michigan on September 22, 2022 at 8:32 pm

    Thank you for sharing with us. I want one. I guess that will motivate me to work some overtime.

  19. badas45 on September 22, 2022 at 8:33 pm

    Very cool

  20. Jc Mcgaha on September 22, 2022 at 8:34 pm

    Now the 11.5 inch barrel rifles with the 5 inch pinned muzzle attachment, are they reliable? Like for defense?

  21. Todd Riel on September 22, 2022 at 8:35 pm

    Great vid, I appreciate you sharing this with us.

  22. Rik Hix on September 22, 2022 at 8:35 pm

    I read his bio..this lead me hopeful that all people could enjoy firearms. He is so descriptive in his reviews which I enjoy. Keep on 2nd amendment brother.

  23. Johnny Lewis on September 22, 2022 at 8:36 pm

    One correction on the Troy GAU, its a 1/7 twist
    Like the Troy XM177E2
    I just checked mine… Its marked on top of the barrel, underneath the gas tube…. I would have preferred 1/12, but I will live with it and it can use all the heavy 75 and 77 gr bullets

  24. Johnny Lewis on September 22, 2022 at 8:38 pm

    I got my Troy GAU-5/A/A mid june and haven’t
    Had a chance to shoot it yet ๐Ÿ™
    I did replace the dust cover door with the correct
    One. Just like the SP1 carbine you have on the history video, my very first AR15 in 1977 was the
    Just released and not even in the catalog yet SP1 carbine….. And I had allways looked at the
    Pictures of elite troops in VN with their XM177’s
    And thought they were the most intresting/ sexiest M16 variant of the Time. And you are right, nobody till now has made one for commercial sale that was as good of a clone.
    When they were announced, I HAD to have one!
    To keep my A1 clone company. I just found out Green Mountain Barrels is making the 1/14 twist
    20" pencil barrel , chrome lined even for $167, snapped one up to try.
    They Troy XM177E2 they decided to make with 1/7 modern twist, and I had heard it both ways on the GAU, I hope its the 1/12, instead of todays 1/7. I like M193 55gr far better, even from the start than the green tip M885/SS109
    Enjoyed your Vid!

  25. XXX on September 22, 2022 at 8:39 pm

    For shooting does this replica gun have all the up to date features of other new standard AR-15’s of today?

  26. ohredhk on September 22, 2022 at 8:39 pm

    Now I understand they need a brass deflector on the M16.

  27. Jack Webb on September 22, 2022 at 8:42 pm

    I love your channel, youโ€™re a wealth of information!! Iโ€™m starting anXM177 clone and have a question. Did I understand correctly that the tapered delta ring is correct? I thought the โ€œstraightโ€ earlier ring was what I should be using. In the final analysis it doesnโ€™t matter because this is for me, and not to be 100% correct, but I would like to make every attempt to make it an accurate representation. Could you explain when they went to the newer delta ring? And if any XM177 or CAR15s had the older type?

  28. Ozark Bear Arms on September 22, 2022 at 8:42 pm

    The XM177E2 is now in, and yes it does not have the Troy logo on the side.

  29. mrstarfishh33 on September 22, 2022 at 8:42 pm

    Always enjoy all your Vietnam era gun videos. Definitely some of my favorite to see. Keep it up!

  30. RON K. on September 22, 2022 at 8:43 pm

    Eric Brown should have his by now. What did you think about it with the goodie bag?

  31. Darryl Nelson on September 22, 2022 at 8:45 pm

    I was in the AF and only the cops got these. Maybe some others too. I was just about to ask you about the bolt carrier and you cleared that up.

  32. Anson Panz on September 22, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    Carried a real one as a Forward Air Controller flying the O-1 in 1968.. It was pretty beat up when issued but went all year with no problems. Put a lot of tracer through it shooting out the window.

  33. Bob Shore on September 22, 2022 at 8:48 pm

    I bought the GAU 5/A/A and I love it. Tons of fun.

  34. Gunz_ N_Bikes on September 22, 2022 at 8:48 pm

    Bayonet lug was actually on the originals yours does not because of the fixed berral extension it makes it almost impossible to attach a beyonet on it

  35. Mavni Rio on September 22, 2022 at 8:48 pm

    Nice rifle ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ทโ˜ โ˜ ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ•ถ๐Ÿ”ซ

  36. Ellijah Smith on September 22, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    Do you know if this matches the dimensions of a real car 15? I know the barrel is an inch longer on this model.

  37. Muhammad Steinberg on September 22, 2022 at 8:52 pm

    I’ve owned the Olympic arms version for about 38 years.
    Last time I took it to the range was about 7-8 years ago. It didn’t like Bear ammunition and it started cook off after about 120 straight rds. No mods of any kind.

  38. Thomas Shue's World on September 22, 2022 at 8:53 pm

    Bro, that’s a GAU lower receiver. It is nothing like the real pilots GAU

  39. The Third Pin on September 22, 2022 at 8:53 pm

    I love all of the old style AR variants. The Air Force ones with no forward assist look the best IMHO. Nice and sleek. K.I.S.S.
    I hate shell deflectors too. They should just have a threaded hole for the lefties (10% of popuation) to attach a deflector device instead of making the other 90% have this ugly ass pyramid jutting out for no reason.

  40. Winds Of Winter on September 22, 2022 at 8:54 pm

    That thing is beautiful!

  41. Jeff Goetz on September 22, 2022 at 8:57 pm

    I would really like to find a Lower Receiver exactly like that one, are they still being made to this day ?? I’d sure like to get one.
    Tony’s Custom Uppers put’s out an almost exact copy of the Original XM177E1 & E2 Upper units.

  42. 112 224 448 on September 22, 2022 at 8:59 pm

    I need one

  43. David Robinson on September 22, 2022 at 9:00 pm

    Too much finger….

  44. Ozark Bear Arms on September 22, 2022 at 9:01 pm

    Update:
    I am keeping the XM177E2 as stock from Troy. The GAU-5A/A in this video though has now been redone into a GUU-5P. Just installed a 16" pencil Colt barrel, Colt fiberlite stock, and Colt 6 hole handguards.
    Probably will do another video eventually featuring the 2 guns together.
    The GUU-5 weighs a bit less thanks to the polymer stock.

  45. pricklydingus on September 22, 2022 at 9:02 pm

    Love these things. I got my Troy XM177E2 on order and should be in my mitts in a week. ๐Ÿ™‚

  46. The Third Pin on September 22, 2022 at 9:04 pm

    Why would they make the barrel 12.5 inches when the moderator is 4.25. That’s 16.75 inches. They could have just went with 11.8 inch and be 16.05 over all length and the extra 0.3 would be barely noticeable from an original.

    Edit: 1/2 inch of the moderator overlaps with the barrel threads… Ok so 16.25 oal. Ok it actually makes sense now. Still if it were me I wouldn’t give the ATF anymore than 0.1 inch. 0.05 preferably. It’s the Dumbest fucking laws ever!
    Rant over.

  47. Spike on September 22, 2022 at 9:05 pm

    Thanks for this review. I carried one of the original 5A carbines in Nam. My heart sort of jumped at the end of the video when I heard you fire it. Instantly brought back memories. The sound of our little carbine was unique and recognizable in the field. I think I want one of these Troy replicas.

  48. Echo Delta on September 22, 2022 at 9:08 pm

    Hey currently trying to build one… what buffer weight is used in the rifle??

  49. Kurt Troter on September 22, 2022 at 9:10 pm

    I noticed the muzzle flash was rather visible during the rapid fire in the video, how does the moderator perform as far as flash mitigation compared to say an A2 flash hider? Any chance you could do a video firing the rifle at night? Thanks, love the channel!

  50. Oscar Delta on September 22, 2022 at 9:11 pm

    I’d REALLY like to have one of these just for the nostalgia factor…The CAR15 was the "A/R" of the time when I was in…unfortunately its out of my reach price wise at $1,200

Leave a Comment